Built on Glass

  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2014
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    Chet Faker's debut album is amazing, he made huge huge progress after "Thinking in textures' EP. He reminds me of James Blake, but his voice is much deeper. It's perfect record to listen with your girlfriend. I keep listen to it whole time. There is no weak song, you don't have to press "forward" at any point. Music is brilliant, mix of electronic sounds with soft piano and otherChet Faker's debut album is amazing, he made huge huge progress after "Thinking in textures' EP. He reminds me of James Blake, but his voice is much deeper. It's perfect record to listen with your girlfriend. I keep listen to it whole time. There is no weak song, you don't have to press "forward" at any point. Music is brilliant, mix of electronic sounds with soft piano and other instruments. Everybody should give this CD a shot. 9/10 from me. Expand
  2. May 5, 2014
    9
    Amazing debut from from a good aussie lad. The whole album's put together really well.
    Standout tracks:
    Blush
    Release Your Problems
    1998
    Talk is Cheap
  3. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    In an era where tasteless and plastic-made pop stars shine for doing exactly the same things all over again, I celebrate on artists like Chet Faker, who are not afraid of taking risks, exploring new territories, crossing boundaries and playing with melodies and structures; making things differently - and actually, doing a great job!
  4. Mar 7, 2015
    8
    Chilled, catchy and intriguing. Chet Faker's voice is almost an instrument in itself in many of these songs, and the crisp production fuses the genres electronica, indie, house and ambient music into one. An interesting debut.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Apr 17, 2014
    72
    The album’s enthralling fusion of electronica and soul proves that Faker’s glass foundation is a prism showing his colorful range.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    73
    Chet Faker's first full-length album proves that the artist is eager to explore new frontiers.
  3. Apr 15, 2014
    75
    It’s sometimes hard to tell who Faker wants to be, which is funny considering his name--but it’s massively enjoyable in bits and pieces.