Burn The Maps - The Frames
Burn The Maps Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the first studio disc in four years for the Irish quartet, who are massively popular in their native country.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jaysus lads, get out the oven mitts – this one smokes.
  2. Far and away the group's most determined work of its 15-year career.
  3. 80
    Meticulous recording, layered songwriting, and a little bit of "special effects" turns a bunch of good songs into a great album. [#9, p.70]
  4. 80
    An overwhelming record that bends and blusters with grand passions, bittersweet beauty and no small hint of desperation. [Apr 2005, p.98]
  5. Some of these exercises in frustration are simply frustrating, but for the most part, The Frames' perverse restraint matches Hansard's lyrics, which are all about lowered expectations.
  6. When it's good, it's great.... However, when it's bad, it borders on boring. [#9]
  7. 40
    Once a means to subvert pop/rock formula, the band's abruptly shifting dynamics have themselves become formulaic. [#67, p.97]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Ger
    Feb 26, 2005
    Pure brilliance, a fantastic album!
  2. MarekI
    Mar 29, 2005
    Just more then great album!
  3. Hein
    May 3, 2006
    Very Good!
  4. JohnP
    Jan 4, 2006
    The best album I've come across in a long while.
  5. LouisF
    Jun 14, 2005
    The first 3 tracks reveal a unique melodic identity and a sense of progression and intensity, thanks to the great production and Glen Hansard's presence. But track 4 comes as a pain in the ears with its agressing chords and deliberate minimalism. The other 2 bad tracks are Fake (a cheap arena rocker trying to hide itself under unconventional breaks and shifts) and Underglass (which just doesn't sound right and is awkwardly placed). It's too bad, because these three songs break the flow, Trying and Sideways Down being two excellent pieces placed between very average tracks. Happily, the last 4 tracks are all very interesting experiments or successful appliances of convention. In short, this record with tracks 4, 6 and 7 removed would've made for a beautiful, sincere and fluid listening. Skip the bad ones and it's so much better. Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2012
    As an album not bad, but as a follow up to For The Birds very disappointing. It does have some great moments but too many weak ones, something that could never have been said of the bands previous 3 albums Expand
  7. ut
    May 5, 2005
    Absolutely horrible album.

See all 25 User Reviews