Burst Apart - The Antlers
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2011
    10
    There is only one reason why I registered at Metacritic - to rate this very album. I have been browsing Metacritic for about four years now, and never have I had the urge to write a review more than for this album. It is simply stunning. There is another dramatic storyline, but while I rate this a ten, it is not quite as good as their first, but definitely my album of 2011.
  2. May 10, 2011
    10
    A great album that is different from their first but good in that sense. From start to finish every song is good and it's easy to get into. The vocals sometimes remind me of Jeff Buckley and I like the instrumental songs. It is what it is and this Burst Apart is a good album. I can't wait to see them live in San Fransisco. It's going to be one hell of a show.
  3. May 11, 2011
    7
    This album is good but not great. After listening to it several times it seems as though it is a great departure from the depressing but brilliant "Hospice." This album lacks some originality that Hospice possessed. I am still very happy with this album. I especially enjoy the track "Parentheses" because I can hear that familiar Antlers sound most clear in this song. The songs are muchThis album is good but not great. After listening to it several times it seems as though it is a great departure from the depressing but brilliant "Hospice." This album lacks some originality that Hospice possessed. I am still very happy with this album. I especially enjoy the track "Parentheses" because I can hear that familiar Antlers sound most clear in this song. The songs are much more upbeat and catchy but at the same time, they are more forgettable. I will never forget the way "Kettering" from Hospice made me feel the first time I listened to it. This album is lacking in that area. Songs don't have to be depressing to be good, but there has to be something defining about them in order to leave a lasting impression. This album is one of the better releases of 2011 but I'd be lying if I envisioned myself listening to it a year from now as much as I still listen to Hospice. Expand
  4. May 13, 2011
    7
    Not as good as their early stuff and potential but I'll take it. I think the danger now might be if they became one of those technically proficient bands that forget the heart and soul or the organic elements. Let's hope not.
  5. May 21, 2011
    10
    Once you hear the debut album you know this band is going places, It was only a matter of time until they're about to reach their pick, or perhaps one of them. This dream-pop/rock band knows just how to keep you craving for more, if it's album-wize or song-wize. I don't think I've found one average track to diss, only if you like this genre. This album is a must have for a morning commuteOnce you hear the debut album you know this band is going places, It was only a matter of time until they're about to reach their pick, or perhaps one of them. This dream-pop/rock band knows just how to keep you craving for more, if it's album-wize or song-wize. I don't think I've found one average track to diss, only if you like this genre. This album is a must have for a morning commute and deep thought divers. Expand
  6. May 16, 2011
    8
    They tried to stray away from emotional investment, but whoops, they did it again. "I Don't Want Love" and "Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out" are great examples of conflict and inner turmoil. In "Corsicana", the wailing and dissonant piano chords recall some of Hospice's previous glory. However, each track is less dynamic than those of Hospice in and of themselves, meaning that theyThey tried to stray away from emotional investment, but whoops, they did it again. "I Don't Want Love" and "Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out" are great examples of conflict and inner turmoil. In "Corsicana", the wailing and dissonant piano chords recall some of Hospice's previous glory. However, each track is less dynamic than those of Hospice in and of themselves, meaning that they more or less stick to one tone and don't evolve so much. Overall, a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    I originally gave this a 7. My mistake. After a few more listens it can only deserve a 10. I loved it so much that i even got into their previous album. I dont know which is better. There are different, but each are amazing. Thumbs up guys.....
  8. May 30, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful and it just gets better after every listen. I loved Hospice but this one I feel is even better. I keep finding little things I hadn't noticed on the last listen - can't recommend it enough.
  9. May 27, 2011
    8
    Very relieved to hear they didn't fall into the trap of recreating Hospice. I don't think there is any praise I can give this album higher than just uniformly "catchy." No bad songs. A couple of standouts ("Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out," "Putting the Dog to Sleep"). Other than that, just some very solid, exceedingly well-written pop tracks.
  10. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    One of the best I have ever listened to definitely. Hospice was great, but this one is really a masterpiece. Highlights: "No Widows", "I Don't Want Love", "Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out" and "Putting The Dog To Sleep".
  11. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Somewhat of a limited review since I've only listened to it once, but The Antlers seem to just get better and better with each album. Go out and support the artist on this album and you won't regret it.
  12. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    Hospice was pretty dense and deep but I find myself enjoying Burst Apart a little bit more, even recognizing it is not as fresh and powerful as its predecessor. I pick "No Widows" as my favourite. And "Every night my teeth are falling out" is lyrically the best track in Burst Apart.
  13. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    The emotional realism has remained, but the band has taken on a decidedly more polished, electronic sound. http://www.vzmagazine.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&id=125:the-antlers-burst-apart&Itemid=137
  14. Feb 27, 2015
    8
    The follow up to the acclaimed Hospice doesnt disappoint, and in my opinion is a better album. I liked Hospice a lot but this is a lot more melodic, a lot brighter and altogether theres lot more to like about it. Its not going to have loads of hit singles but its not that type of record, its just really good and Id recommend it highly. Production is great on this also. It will beThe follow up to the acclaimed Hospice doesnt disappoint, and in my opinion is a better album. I liked Hospice a lot but this is a lot more melodic, a lot brighter and altogether theres lot more to like about it. Its not going to have loads of hit singles but its not that type of record, its just really good and Id recommend it highly. Production is great on this also. It will be interesting to see where this band goes next. Collapse
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    78
    In short, Burst Apart, as truly beautiful as its compositions are, is haunted by Hospice.
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    78
    Burst Apart, while far from perfect, is sort of a special album.
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    60
    The Antlers, fronted by the sepulcral warble of Peter Silberman, manage to distinguish themselves slightly from these shuffling, mournful legions by bringing to bear a gently epic sensibility that verges on the orchestral. [Jul 2011, p.77]