Burst Apart - The Antlers
Burst Apart Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Brooklyn band return with a follow-up to their indie-rock landmark album, Hospice.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 100
    It's best to purely take in the dissimilarity of this exceptional new album in contrast to Hospice--it's downright astonishing on its very own.
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    90
    As an exercise in maintaining artistic form, it's an indisputable success.
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    82
    The Antlers maintain the poignancy that becomes them and the result is an album bursting with richness.
  4. May 6, 2011
    80
    Burst Apart is smart and calculated without feeling as though you're being duped by artificial feelings.
  5. May 10, 2011
    80
    Thanks to his varied songwriting, there's nary a weak link in Burst Apart. It might not benefit from the easy hooks of a concept album, but if you stick around till the end, it is every bit as rewarding as Hospice.
  6. May 9, 2011
    76
    As it stands Burst Apart is a record of big songs from a band that's good at generating big songs, and we should be relieved that The Antlers can be impressive without an overarching concept behind them.
  7. May 9, 2011
    60
    Burst Apart is a passable follow-up to an incredible record, but that's all it is. Passable.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. May 14, 2011
    10
    There is only one reason why I registered at Metacritic - to rate this very album. I have been browsing Metacritic for about four years now, and never have I had the urge to write a review more than for this album. It is simply stunning. There is another dramatic storyline, but while I rate this a ten, it is not quite as good as their first, but definitely my album of 2011. Expand
  2. May 10, 2011
    10
    A great album that is different from their first but good in that sense. From start to finish every song is good and it's easy to get into. The vocals sometimes remind me of Jeff Buckley and I like the instrumental songs. It is what it is and this Burst Apart is a good album. I can't wait to see them live in San Fransisco. It's going to be one hell of a show. Expand
  3. May 30, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful and it just gets better after every listen. I loved Hospice but this one I feel is even better. I keep finding little things I hadn't noticed on the last listen - can't recommend it enough. Expand
  4. May 21, 2011
    10
    Once you hear the debut album you know this band is going places, It was only a matter of time until they're about to reach their pick, or perhaps one of them. This dream-pop/rock band knows just how to keep you craving for more, if it's album-wize or song-wize. I don't think I've found one average track to diss, only if you like this genre. This album is a must have for a morning commute and deep thought divers. Collapse
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    Hospice was pretty dense and deep but I find myself enjoying Burst Apart a little bit more, even recognizing it is not as fresh and powerful as its predecessor. I pick "No Widows" as my favourite. And "Every night my teeth are falling out" is lyrically the best track in Burst Apart. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    8
    The follow up to the acclaimed Hospice doesnâ
  7. May 11, 2011
    7
    This album is good but not great. After listening to it several times it seems as though it is a great departure from the depressing but brilliant "Hospice." This album lacks some originality that Hospice possessed. I am still very happy with this album. I especially enjoy the track "Parentheses" because I can hear that familiar Antlers sound most clear in this song. The songs are much more upbeat and catchy but at the same time, they are more forgettable. I will never forget the way "Kettering" from Hospice made me feel the first time I listened to it. This album is lacking in that area. Songs don't have to be depressing to be good, but there has to be something defining about them in order to leave a lasting impression. This album is one of the better releases of 2011 but I'd be lying if I envisioned myself listening to it a year from now as much as I still listen to Hospice. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 31, 2011
    Find out more about the past month's best albums, which include new works from Fleet Foxes, Raphael Saadiq, and the Beastie Boys. Plus, listen to tracks from each one.