Busted Stuff

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 16, 2002
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. raVen
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    dMb at their best is always a 10, and this is that--again.
  2. zack
    Oct 8, 2002
    10
    this was a exelent album going back to the routes of the old dmb
  3. JessicaW.
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    Thankfully this album makes up for the debacle that was Everyday.
  4. CurtW
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    I love the music of dave matthews and his band. this cd in my opinion is one of his best non-live cds he has.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Jul 17, 2002
    10
    It is truly incredible that a band can take great bootleg songs and make them better! My only complaint is that I didn't like the new version of Big Eyed Fish, but Grey Street is so very very powerful. This album is a classic and a great rebound from Everyday
  6. Jay
    Jul 17, 2002
    8
    It's a great album, except for one track..."BEF" what used to be a great song on the LillyWhite Sessions, turned into something that sounds well...busted.
  7. TimW.
    Jul 15, 2002
    10
    this is a good one, perhaps their best. a must buy for fans and, well, anyone who enjoys good music. dave matthews have once again returned to the rock scene to teach the kids how to make inspired and well-crafted melodies.
  8. JackM.
    Jul 15, 2002
    10
    i kinda like it, and thats saying a lot because death metal is my usual thing...i also like the charlie daniels band, em fellas put on a hell of a show. ya'll best go out and buy this thing.
  9. JoeR.
    Jul 16, 2002
    10
    i think this album is a masterpiece its everything dave matthews band fans have come to love music that leaves you felling high
  10. PatrickW.
    Jul 16, 2002
    10
    Another great DMB album.
  11. TimW
    Jul 17, 2002
    9
    Busted Stuff is the most unified album released by the Dave Matthews Band. While the album's concept may not be immediately accessible, there remains a definate theme throughout its entirety (lasting 53 minutes). The album combines the best of the band's two sounds (i.e. those existing on the Everday album, and those preceeding it). While there is a definite return to the Busted Stuff is the most unified album released by the Dave Matthews Band. While the album's concept may not be immediately accessible, there remains a definate theme throughout its entirety (lasting 53 minutes). The album combines the best of the band's two sounds (i.e. those existing on the Everday album, and those preceeding it). While there is a definite return to the instrumental jam sessions heard in previous lps, the jams are tighter and are consistently used to further the theme of desparation, depression and divinity. While Busted Stuff may be the least commercial of the DMB's albums (that prize going to 2000's "Everday" release), it is by no means the least accessible ... once one allows himself time to understand the content of Dave Matthews lyrics, it will be evident that Matthews speaks of universal emotions and universal heartache. Expand
  12. ChrisE.
    Jul 22, 2002
    7
    "The Lillywhite Sessions" was a 10... this pass does not improve on any of those originals and only dilutes their power in overproduction.
  13. CraigH.
    Jul 29, 2002
    10
    A definite rebound from Everyday. Busted Stuff is one of my favorite Dave albums yet. With Busted Stuff, DMB has returned to their instrumental roots and pure music. My only complaint is that Leroi's sax isn't as prominent in songs like Big-Eyed Fish and Digging A Ditch. That's ok though, awesome DMB album that will win new fans.
  14. JonO.
    Aug 22, 2002
    9
    Its what Dave Matthews Band has always been about--they get better everyday.
  15. RobertK
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    Excellent. It just appeals to all your senses and emotions. Also, there are intriguing hidden messages in almost, I stress almost, every track.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Remarkably, these songs not only retain their emotional core even after they've been cleaned up, but they perhaps even gain more resonance in this setting.
  2. Busted Stuff does strip away some of the Lillywhite mystique, dropping the exaggerated façade of "lost classic" status, but it further illustrates that Matthews' discards are often more compelling than his hits.
  3. A masterwork filled with heavy violins, silky woodwinds, a driving soprano sax, a haunting bass guitar, and expert melding of jazz and rock, with Latin beats and bluesy overtones.