User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    What impressed me about him is.. he
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    After listening "R.A.P. Music", in this 2012 came another great product from the manufacturer of Brooklyn. El-P is one of the best in his field, Cancer4Cure is innovative, beautiful and brilliant. Congratulations!
  3. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    This is a brilliant album for fans of rap/hip-hop/ and even just beats and great production. It took a few days for me to warm to the album, and it unravels to me in individual tracks until, now, I love the entire album. El-p's rapping is aggressive and very enjoyable, and is perfectly juxtaposed with his often dirty and raw beats. Lyrical content is often political and angry, and isThis is a brilliant album for fans of rap/hip-hop/ and even just beats and great production. It took a few days for me to warm to the album, and it unravels to me in individual tracks until, now, I love the entire album. El-p's rapping is aggressive and very enjoyable, and is perfectly juxtaposed with his often dirty and raw beats. Lyrical content is often political and angry, and is the perfect remedy for these hypocritical and challenging modern times. Expand
  4. May 23, 2012
    10
    It's pretty hard for me to justify giving a hip hop album a 10, but this is the best release of 2012 thus far, and from a hip hop perspective, is mind blowing. Not only is El-P at the top of his game lyrically and conceptually, but all of the guest stars bring positive contributions. Even Danny Brown's slacker rap style has it's place in Oh Hail No. Paul Bank's appearance in works everyIt's pretty hard for me to justify giving a hip hop album a 10, but this is the best release of 2012 thus far, and from a hip hop perspective, is mind blowing. Not only is El-P at the top of his game lyrically and conceptually, but all of the guest stars bring positive contributions. Even Danny Brown's slacker rap style has it's place in Oh Hail No. Paul Bank's appearance in works every time is a bit too understated. Overall, a great rap album which requires multiple listens to appreciate. Expand
  5. May 22, 2012
    9
    Even though I am indifferent when new hip hop albums come out, I decided to give this one a listen.... and it is really impressive. I've heard plenty of great things about El-P from my dad over the years, but I never actually listened to what he can do. I thought that this album was a great accomplishment (hip hop wise anyway), and I look forward to listening to some of his older stuff!Even though I am indifferent when new hip hop albums come out, I decided to give this one a listen.... and it is really impressive. I've heard plenty of great things about El-P from my dad over the years, but I never actually listened to what he can do. I thought that this album was a great accomplishment (hip hop wise anyway), and I look forward to listening to some of his older stuff! Check it out. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    He's equally skilled as a stream-of-consciousness philosopher or gripping storyteller. [Jul 2012, p.98]
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    90
    Cancer4Cure is very much a window shattering Brooklyn rap record in every sense... [Meline is] busting loose some of the sharpest darts of his life.
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    70
    The energy is impressive and it's hard to find technical fault but the stagnation is undeniable. [May 2012, p.73]