Cancer4Cure Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third solo album for producer El-P features guest appearances by Danny Brown, Interpol’s Paul Banks, Islands' Nick Diamonds, and Killer Mike.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. May 23, 2012
    100
    As with previous efforts, Cancer for Cure pushes the sonic envelope of hip-hop beyond its contemporaries from the very start
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    90
    Cancer4Cure is very much a window shattering Brooklyn rap record in every sense... [Meline is] busting loose some of the sharpest darts of his life.
  3. May 21, 2012
    88
    Few artists create a tougher, colder world as convincingly.
  4. May 22, 2012
    80
    Cancer4Cure is about hip-hop like Glengarry Glen Ross was about sales, but these great works transcend their industries, offering solace and inspiration to anyone who would prefer a satisfied mind over a Cadillac Eldorado, or in current terms, an Escalade.
  5. May 24, 2012
    80
    A collection that sees El-P update his sound and his flow to combustible effect.
  6. May 23, 2012
    80
    Cancer For Cure is El-P's most accessible album yet, and with the right push it could be his breakthrough release.
  7. May 21, 2012
    63
    El-P's least ambitious record.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 23, 2012
    10
    It's pretty hard for me to justify giving a hip hop album a 10, but this is the best release of 2012 thus far, and from a hip hop perspective, is mind blowing. Not only is El-P at the top of his game lyrically and conceptually, but all of the guest stars bring positive contributions. Even Danny Brown's slacker rap style has it's place in Oh Hail No. Paul Bank's appearance in works every time is a bit too understated. Overall, a great rap album which requires multiple listens to appreciate. Expand
  2. May 22, 2012
    9
    Even though I am indifferent when new hip hop albums come out, I decided to give this one a listen.... and it is really impressive. I've heard plenty of great things about El-P from my dad over the years, but I never actually listened to what he can do. I thought that this album was a great accomplishment (hip hop wise anyway), and I look forward to listening to some of his older stuff! Check it out. Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    This is a brilliant album for fans of rap/hip-hop/ and even just beats and great production. It took a few days for me to warm to the album, and it unravels to me in individual tracks until, now, I love the entire album. El-p's rapping is aggressive and very enjoyable, and is perfectly juxtaposed with his often dirty and raw beats. Lyrical content is often political and angry, and is the perfect remedy for these hypocritical and challenging modern times. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    After listening "R.A.P. Music", in this 2012 came another great product from the manufacturer of Brooklyn. El-P is one of the best in his field, Cancer4Cure is innovative, beautiful and brilliant. Congratulations! Collapse
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    What impressed me about him is.. he

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 31, 2012
    Looking for some good new music? We round up the best-reviewed albums of the past month, a list that includes new releases from Killer Mike, El-P, Saint Etienne, The Walkmen, and more. You can also listen to most of May's best albums in their entirety.