Candi Staton

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GabrielA
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Candi Staton is one of the best soul singers, she is right up there with Aretha Franklin. Finally these long out of print songs have been reissued! While listening to this album, you can sincerely understand her emotion and the conviction is so convincing with her incredible vocal style. I am so pleased that this album has been reissued and hopefully it will introduce her music to new Candi Staton is one of the best soul singers, she is right up there with Aretha Franklin. Finally these long out of print songs have been reissued! While listening to this album, you can sincerely understand her emotion and the conviction is so convincing with her incredible vocal style. I am so pleased that this album has been reissued and hopefully it will introduce her music to new fans, who can appreciate what soul music used to sound like! Expand
  2. TommoK
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    Oh my gosh this is fantastic. Tragedy that this songs may have almost slipped into oblivion. This epitimises the funky, grutty sound of Southern soul.
  3. MarkyMark
    May 2, 2004
    10
    An excellent soul album - oldschool. If you like Aretha, Otis or Marvin then you should try this out. Great voice and a nice collection of songs. Highly recommended
  4. JohnB
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Just saw Candi live in London 2004...the voice is every bit as good as on this great album. Don't miss her if you get the chance-there is still time to crown the true queen of soul!
  5. TheoL
    Feb 26, 2004
    9
    Probably the best soul cd in years! Two weeks ago I bought the much acclaimed new cd of Joss Stone, but now I've bought Candi Staton, Stone's cd lies in the dustbin. Candi Staton is the real thing!
  6. DaveC
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    The Mojo review is spot on. This is ESSENTIAL listening. Every track is a gem. Fantastic arrangements, great lyrics and stories, sung by the greatest voice in Soul (IMHO). 26 (74 mins) is a lot of tracks but you never feel that any descend into the formulaic. When I was buying Candi's sides 30 years ago I never thought I would walk into a UK record shop in 2004 and hear them playing The Mojo review is spot on. This is ESSENTIAL listening. Every track is a gem. Fantastic arrangements, great lyrics and stories, sung by the greatest voice in Soul (IMHO). 26 (74 mins) is a lot of tracks but you never feel that any descend into the formulaic. When I was buying Candi's sides 30 years ago I never thought I would walk into a UK record shop in 2004 and hear them playing on the sound system. A pleasent surprise and appreciation at last for the real queen of soul. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mojo
    100
    There's much to digest here but absolutely no filler--each song is a priceless gem. [Jan 2004, p.110]
  2. Even the least-crucial songs feature a tough backing band and a powerful, raspy performance from Candi.
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    That they've been forgotten for 30 years seems almost a crime, because they've got just about everything real soul music needs. [Feb 2004, p.118]