Candylion

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StephenU
    Jul 25, 2007
    8
    A great album that holds up very well. If this were the product of a new artist with no SFA ties I would be very excited about his future. SFA's recent milquetoast offerings pale in comparison to this and the single from the upcoming SFA lp, "Show Your Hand" is NOT a harbinger of a return to form by the Furries. Perhaps Gruff needs to go solo permanently.
  2. AdamX
    Mar 6, 2007
    8
    Yep, there isn't an album more definitively 8.0!
  3. SeanP.
    Mar 7, 2007
    7
    Pretty good, nothing more. Like Thom Yorke's solo album, i listen to this one wishing the rest of the band was around. Not even close to SFA's best stuff, but better than most music out there now. I'm confused though, at metacritic's formula. So, as i type this, the overall score is 80 with 14 reviews. Nine of those 14 are right at 80, none higher. The other five Pretty good, nothing more. Like Thom Yorke's solo album, i listen to this one wishing the rest of the band was around. Not even close to SFA's best stuff, but better than most music out there now. I'm confused though, at metacritic's formula. So, as i type this, the overall score is 80 with 14 reviews. Nine of those 14 are right at 80, none higher. The other five reviews are 74 and below, one even as low as 40. Yet the overall score is still 80?! Expand
  4. paule
    Mar 14, 2007
    8
    the more you hear this album the more you will like it
  5. DavidL
    Mar 18, 2007
    8
    "The Court of King Arthur" is the best song SFA never recorded.
  6. andesL
    Mar 20, 2007
    8
    Very charming and consistent. Better than the last Furries album. Nothing here will blow your head (not even the 12 minute monster at the end) but there is some fine songwriting.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    Stronger than SFA's last outing Love Kraft, this will appeal to those who appreciate the gentler aspects of Rhys's day job. [Feb 2007, p.106]
  2. 80
    Candylion is a more layered, fully-realised album than 2005's Yr Atal Genhedlaeth. [Feb 2007, p.79]
  3. Mojo
    80
    On paper, it looks so wide-ranging as to be in danger of coming out gloopy and overdone; as it turns out, Rhys glues everything together with a crisp sense of confidence. [Feb 2007, p.98]