Cannibal - Ke$ha
  • Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Cannibal Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eight-track companion released as an EP is part of the deluxe reissue of Ke$ha's debut album, Animal, and includes remixes and outtakes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 88
    I can feel my IQ slipping a few notches with the passage of each track on this disc, and gloriously so: it takes brains and balls to make pop this smart sound so dumb.
  2. 83
    As Armageddon parties go, though, this one should leave plenty of sweat and confetti on the dance floor.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    75
    While she occasionally goes too far even by the exceedingly lax standards of a Ke$ha record-really, "C U Next Tuesday?"--Ke$ha is in full command of her artlessness on Cannibal, marrying airhead kiss-offs with chirpily upbeat, ringtone-ready dance-pop.
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    This EP proves Ke$ha would kick Gaga's ass in a freestyle battle.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    This adjunct to "Animal" is unapologetically escapist and highly programmed fun.
  6. 60
    Ke$ha didn't really set the bar for intellectual heft too high on her debut, Animal, so it seems like hair-splitting to mention that even with guilty pleasures like "Cannibal" and, uh, "C U Next Tuesday," Cannibal seems to be skimping on the cleverness.
  7. Dec 8, 2010
    40
    if her music, which sounds like it was created using a supercomputer analyzing months of market-research-driven algorithms determined by the texting and internet search habits of suburban females aged 12 to 18, sets out to be catchy, slick, radio junk food--mission accompli$hed.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 63
  2. Negative: 16 out of 63
  1. bob
    Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entireWhat an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entire year. Her sound is so unique, and her dirty whore image just makes me want to say "Man, this is an album I want to buy". If her incredible innovations in the music industry do not blow you away, I don't know what will. If you give this album anything less than an 11, you are a dirty rotten homophobe who hates music. Collapse
  2. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Now we all know that Ke$ha is your Marmite singer...you either love her or hate her. I LOVE HER! she is a musician/lyricist genius, she hasNow we all know that Ke$ha is your Marmite singer...you either love her or hate her. I LOVE HER! she is a musician/lyricist genius, she has set the bars up another level with Cannibal...every track is just infectious as the next one and contains some hilarious lyrics like "Now that I'm famous, your up my anus!"..pure brilliance. The track "Cannibal" is my favourite. Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    Listening to dollar-sign-girl is pure dance pop addiction. In her latest EP and major release, the drunk gal proved to be a rising danceListening to dollar-sign-girl is pure dance pop addiction. In her latest EP and major release, the drunk gal proved to be a rising dance artist with creatively nasty lyrics and poppy production excess that make sense. Though her heart is in the clubs, her music is all the more enjoyable and (rare in the pop music landscape, believe it or not) in focus. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    When budding Kesha Sebert first arrived on the scene back in late 2009, she was perceived as an autotuned drunk who brushes her teeth with aWhen budding Kesha Sebert first arrived on the scene back in late 2009, she was perceived as an autotuned drunk who brushes her teeth with a whiskey bottle. Continuing on to early 2010, when she released her debut album, Animal, Kesha continued to discuss the likes of drinking, partying, and even associating everyday things with drinking (ex: Hungover). Now continuing on the footsteps of Animal, Cannibal, keeps the electropop going with more variety and flavor. With "Grow A Pear" (which sounds like something out of an old Nintendo game), is filled with vulgarity and infatuation with a boy who has a more feminine side than most boys. Likeable, yet laughable lyrics (...and no, I don't want to see your mangina). "Grow A Pear" is for the ones who like a couple of laughs. Continuing with the trend of self-empowerment songs, "We R Who We R" continues in the footsteps of Katy Perry and Lady Gaga with lyrics discussing being who you want to be. Though catchy towards the younger crowd, the older crowd would not be pleased with this song, considering the repetitious syllables (DJ turn it up up up up...) which even for teens can get annoying for a while (was that really necessary Kesha?) Though the songs are catchy, Cannibal is not worthy of becoming a Grammy winning album. This album is more humorous than serious and at times the autotune and synths get a little annoying after a while. But for the most part, Kesha continues to be a front runner in nightclubs and is popular among the dance crowd as well as teenage America. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2010
    6
    True to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women whoTrue to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women who want to get their drink on and pimp the guys who are eyeing them from the end of the bar. The album guarantees to produce a couple mainstream singles good for dancing at a party and contains politically incorrect lyrics to save her reputation as the 'say what I want bad-girl of the party". If your looking for a song to bump while pregaming with your girls, look no further... Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    4
    Unlike her previous album, even autotune can't save Ke$ha this time. "Blow," "The Harold Song" and "We R Who We R" were good songs, but theUnlike her previous album, even autotune can't save Ke$ha this time. "Blow," "The Harold Song" and "We R Who We R" were good songs, but the rest of the album was not the best. Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    Sorry if I offend anybody, but if you enjoy Kesha and volentarily listen to her, then you don't know what music is. Because this woman singsSorry if I offend anybody, but if you enjoy Kesha and volentarily listen to her, then you don't know what music is. Because this woman sings like she's dying and auto-tune can't even save her. Remember back when pop wasn't all bad, when we had Madonna and Britney Spears' old songs? I'm not saying Madonna and Britney Spears are great singers, but not all of their songs are bad songs. Kesha? everything she puts out on the radio is horrid. So avoid her if you enjoy music at all. P.S., I didnt put a dollar sign in her name because she's worth less than a dollar. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews