Cannibal

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Cannibal Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eight-track companion released as an EP is part of the deluxe reissue of Ke$ha's debut album, Animal, and includes remixes and outtakes.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 88
    I can feel my IQ slipping a few notches with the passage of each track on this disc, and gloriously so: it takes brains and balls to make pop this smart sound so dumb.
  2. 83
    As Armageddon parties go, though, this one should leave plenty of sweat and confetti on the dance floor.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    75
    While she occasionally goes too far even by the exceedingly lax standards of a Ke$ha record-really, "C U Next Tuesday?"--Ke$ha is in full command of her artlessness on Cannibal, marrying airhead kiss-offs with chirpily upbeat, ringtone-ready dance-pop.
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    This EP proves Ke$ha would kick Gaga's ass in a freestyle battle.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    This adjunct to "Animal" is unapologetically escapist and highly programmed fun.
  6. 60
    Ke$ha didn't really set the bar for intellectual heft too high on her debut, Animal, so it seems like hair-splitting to mention that even with guilty pleasures like "Cannibal" and, uh, "C U Next Tuesday," Cannibal seems to be skimping on the cleverness.
  7. Dec 8, 2010
    40
    if her music, which sounds like it was created using a supercomputer analyzing months of market-research-driven algorithms determined by the texting and internet search habits of suburban females aged 12 to 18, sets out to be catchy, slick, radio junk food--mission accompli$hed.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 64
  2. Negative: 15 out of 64
  1. bob
    Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entireWhat an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entire year. Her sound is so unique, and her dirty whore image just makes me want to say "Man, this is an album I want to buy". If her incredible innovations in the music industry do not blow you away, I don't know what will. If you give this album anything less than an 11, you are a dirty rotten homophobe who hates music. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    Superior ao Animal mesmo que mantenha a mesma linha já se percebe a evolução de Ke$ha. Destaque para Cannibal, We R Who We R e The HaroldSuperior ao Animal mesmo que mantenha a mesma linha já se percebe a evolução de Ke$ha. Destaque para Cannibal, We R Who We R e The Harold Song. Ela poderia ter feito de Cannibal seu segundo álbum ao invés de apenas um ep, aumentando o número de faixas e trabalhando com mais singles, poderia ser um álbum de sucesso. Expand
  3. May 10, 2015
    9
    An improvement over Animal (2009), Cannibal starts out with the track with the same name of the album, a sexy and fun track, I bet it would beAn improvement over Animal (2009), Cannibal starts out with the track with the same name of the album, a sexy and fun track, I bet it would be a Hot Dance Clubs hit. "We R Who We R" is another cool-sexy song that is a positive message to the Gay community. To me, "We R Who We R" is currently Kesha's best song of her career. "Sleazy" is another fun bop that leans RNB, "Blow" is to me, the weakest track off the album, "The Harold Song" is a beautiful synth-pop ballad that sounds a lot like Demi Lovato's "Skyscraper". "Crazy Beautiful Life" is another fun party song, in this song Kesha tells us to live and celebrate our horrible lives. "Grow A Pear" is a boring generic track off that sounds like she was trying Katy Perry's "California Gurls". "c u next tuseday" is a cool song that a lot of more auto tune, with Alternative music influences. Cannibal closes with the Billboard Remix of "Animal", gorgeously produced. Overall, Cannibal goes down as a great album of 2010. Expand
  4. May 31, 2011
    7
    Though you'll feel your IQ drop with every song you hear (from its poor grammar to its poorly named tracks like "C U Next Tuesday"), CannibalThough you'll feel your IQ drop with every song you hear (from its poor grammar to its poorly named tracks like "C U Next Tuesday"), Cannibal is a handsomely produced and fun-filled album, packed with unapologetically blunt lyrics and glossy dance beats. Though its still heavily flooded with Auto Tune, there is actually some significant proof here that Ke$ha, is in fact, artist material. Its standout track is "The Harold Song", a power ballad that is shockingly deep and proves that Ke$ha can settle down from her feisty persona here and there. However, its weakest tracks are "Crazy Beautiful Life", a decent, but disappointingly dull dance track, and "Grow A Pear", which could feel at home on Katy Perry's debut album. Collapse
  5. Dec 1, 2010
    6
    True to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women whoTrue to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women who want to get their drink on and pimp the guys who are eyeing them from the end of the bar. The album guarantees to produce a couple mainstream singles good for dancing at a party and contains politically incorrect lyrics to save her reputation as the 'say what I want bad-girl of the party". If your looking for a song to bump while pregaming with your girls, look no further... Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2011
    4
    After her awful debut she decided to record an EP that was equally as bad. Exactly the same story - the two singles are good but the other 8After her awful debut she decided to record an EP that was equally as bad. Exactly the same story - the two singles are good but the other 8 tracks are filler and all sound the same. C U next Tuseday borders on been good but that's about it. If you like ke$ha then just buy the singles and be done with - don't waste time and money buying this crap. Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    Sorry if I offend anybody, but if you enjoy Kesha and volentarily listen to her, then you don't know what music is. Because this woman singsSorry if I offend anybody, but if you enjoy Kesha and volentarily listen to her, then you don't know what music is. Because this woman sings like she's dying and auto-tune can't even save her. Remember back when pop wasn't all bad, when we had Madonna and Britney Spears' old songs? I'm not saying Madonna and Britney Spears are great singers, but not all of their songs are bad songs. Kesha? everything she puts out on the radio is horrid. So avoid her if you enjoy music at all. P.S., I didnt put a dollar sign in her name because she's worth less than a dollar. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews