Can't Be Tamed - Miley Cyrus
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 132
  2. Negative: 42 out of 132

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    5
    This is just a bad pop record. Bad production and bad vocals. The album does have some highlights with songs like "Liberty Walk", "Forgiveness & Love" and the infamous "Can't Be Tamed" but other than those tracks the album is just so-so.
  2. Nov 23, 2010
    4
    This album is simply okay. While this album offers nothing new or exciting, Cyrus' transformation is an interesting phenomenon to watch and while she isn't equipped to execute this transformation productively, she is certainly moving in the right direction, but with autotune this heavy and weak, Kesha-esque dance numbers she certainly needs to step up her game if she wants to be in it forThis album is simply okay. While this album offers nothing new or exciting, Cyrus' transformation is an interesting phenomenon to watch and while she isn't equipped to execute this transformation productively, she is certainly moving in the right direction, but with autotune this heavy and weak, Kesha-esque dance numbers she certainly needs to step up her game if she wants to be in it for the long haul. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2010
    4
    this album was whatever. It wasn't that bad. I think Miley is trying to hard to be a bad girl. I can't really listen to the album. The songs on this album isn't good like the last two. This album was close to bad. I like the pop rock version of miley cyrus better. Miley is my favorite disney star and i think while i hope she bounce back from this album.
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    5
    Can't Be Tamed would've been her best record if she had not put the first three tracks in the album. These tracks does not fit her vocal capabilities and are simply annoying dance-pop tracks. In Permanent December, she sound like a baby robot. One thing that redeemed the album is her 80s sound pop ballads. The lyrics is beautiful. It is definitely the same Cyrus who sings her pop songs inCan't Be Tamed would've been her best record if she had not put the first three tracks in the album. These tracks does not fit her vocal capabilities and are simply annoying dance-pop tracks. In Permanent December, she sound like a baby robot. One thing that redeemed the album is her 80s sound pop ballads. The lyrics is beautiful. It is definitely the same Cyrus who sings her pop songs in a country way. The album's standout tracks are Two More Lonely People, Every Rose Has Its Thorn, Forgiveness and Love, and Scars. Next time, don't make the titles too long. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    If you really listen to all the songs of the album.it shows the world so much love!All your review is just base on your hatred towards Miley! Hate you people!
  6. Dec 15, 2012
    6
    Can't Be Tamed is not such a terrible album as people say. Of course that is far of being a great album, however we can find in it some really good songs like the powerful "Can't Be Tamed", the sexy and noddy "Who Owns My Heart" and the passionate "Stay". Is true that some songs are uninteresting like "Robot", "Liberty Walk" and others, but Miley is definitely more mature and a betterCan't Be Tamed is not such a terrible album as people say. Of course that is far of being a great album, however we can find in it some really good songs like the powerful "Can't Be Tamed", the sexy and noddy "Who Owns My Heart" and the passionate "Stay". Is true that some songs are uninteresting like "Robot", "Liberty Walk" and others, but Miley is definitely more mature and a better singer that in the past. Much people judge her in base of her work as Hannah Montana, but we have to see the things as they really are: her work as Miley Cyrus is much better. I even can say that this album is better that a lot of boring and obvious albums of the pop artist that are called the best in the industry. Miley has a long way to go to become a great singer, but I think that she is in the good way. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    5
    Although she has since separated herself from her Disney given sweet southern girl persona, Miley Cyrus made an attempt in 2010 to be her alter ego Hannah Montana whilst attaining a wannabe Britney Spears-esque 'good girl gone bad' image, which ended up falling flat on her third studio album as herself Can't Be Tame. Although Auto Tuned anthems such as album opener "Liberty Walk" and leadAlthough she has since separated herself from her Disney given sweet southern girl persona, Miley Cyrus made an attempt in 2010 to be her alter ego Hannah Montana whilst attaining a wannabe Britney Spears-esque 'good girl gone bad' image, which ended up falling flat on her third studio album as herself Can't Be Tame. Although Auto Tuned anthems such as album opener "Liberty Walk" and lead single "Can't Be Tamed" may reach to teens in her age group, Can't Be Tamed mainly revolves around cheesy pop ballads inspired by 90s bubblegum pop and Cyrus' southern country-rock roots are all but lost in the heavy production. Let's not even mention the worst Ke$ha impression ever performed in the overwhelmingly bubbly dance-pop ballad "Permanent December". "Two More Lonely People" may be Cyrus' only achievement in this anti-rebellious mess, which ends up venturing her into country influenced synthpop territory that's still cheesy, but moderately pleasing at the same time. All in all, Can't Be Tamed is forgettable at best and should only please Cyrus' 'smilers' Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can't Be Tamed shows how Miley's music has changed since her Hannah Montana's days, despite the evolution, the songs of the album are not even catchy, the chorus of the self-titled song is annoying and very repetitive. Miley Cyrus is trying to do dance-pop hits like Katy Perry or Lady Gaga, but she needs a better producer (than Rock Mafia) or get back to the The Climb era. Expand
  9. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    lets get to it the title song "Cant be Tamed" is just to grown up and immature for her age. The new dance pop sound is amazing, but at times could be compared to ABBA, and Lady Gaga, like in the song "Who Owns My Heart". The best song is "My heart Beats For Love". Why? Well it's mature, emotional,and has important message.
  10. Dec 14, 2010
    8
    Miley really make progress with Can't Be Tamed. She shows to us that she's not a girl anymore, now she is a woman and a bad one. She is an good girl gone bad, and Can't Be Tamed is the proof.
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    7
    The overall production isn't a complete waste, as it does produce gems like Can't Be Tamed (by far the standout track), Who Owns My Heart, Two More Lonely People and Stay, but it falls completely on it's face with the mess of a cover of Every Rose Has Its Thorn and the irritating Permanent December. Not up the the usual Miley standards of catchy-ness, Can't Be Tamed is ultimately a goodThe overall production isn't a complete waste, as it does produce gems like Can't Be Tamed (by far the standout track), Who Owns My Heart, Two More Lonely People and Stay, but it falls completely on it's face with the mess of a cover of Every Rose Has Its Thorn and the irritating Permanent December. Not up the the usual Miley standards of catchy-ness, Can't Be Tamed is ultimately a good dance record, but not the kind of thing careers are defined by. Expand
  12. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i really like this album because she is not the same stupid Hanna Montana girl , now is Miley Cyrus and i think that this album is so good, no the best but it's good , some songs are so amazing and different like can't be tamed and who owns my hart are really amazing songs, the cd art is bad but i don't care Expand
  13. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    ok, so I'm a "little" biased, because I'm a big fan of Miley Cyrus, but I must say, even if I wasn't a fan of hers, but a fan of pop/dance music in general, this album is one of the best I've ever heard. Of course, with good there must also be bad, my only complaint is the use of auto-tune on a few songs, which is very lame, but other than that, I love this album and want more just like this!
  14. Mar 6, 2011
    5
    I won't call Cyrus "untalented", that'd be a lie. But I will say that Can't Be Tamed fails at showing Cyrus's maturity. While "Who Owns My Heart" shows a more seductive side of Cyrus, and no doubt shows off her attractive vocals, "Liberty Walk" and "Every Rose Has Its Thorns" seem to show a bit of weakness when it comes to uniqueness. While the album's lead single, "Can't Be Tamed", is notI won't call Cyrus "untalented", that'd be a lie. But I will say that Can't Be Tamed fails at showing Cyrus's maturity. While "Who Owns My Heart" shows a more seductive side of Cyrus, and no doubt shows off her attractive vocals, "Liberty Walk" and "Every Rose Has Its Thorns" seem to show a bit of weakness when it comes to uniqueness. While the album's lead single, "Can't Be Tamed", is not a bad dance track at all and is lyrically valuable, it refuses to stand out. Cyrus has fantastic intentions, and she'll no doubt blow our minds someday, but right now, let's focus on drifting her from Disney. Expand
  15. Mar 17, 2011
    4
    Miley is really far from perfection, but this album is not that bad, it may have dull songs as Who Owns My Heart, Forgiveness and Love and My heart beats for love, but it has average songs, like liberty walk, scars and every rose has it's thorn,can't be tamed , and good songs, like robot and stay
    is not good at all, but not bad at all
  16. Jun 6, 2011
    4
    Lacks any kind of originality and just isn't that creative of a record. Though tracks like "Who Owns My Heart" show us that Cyrus can in fact be irresistible, the rest of the album is just too generic and dumbed down by poor lyrics and an overuse of Auto-Tune.
  17. Aug 31, 2011
    5
    "Can't Be Tamed" treads rocky territory even as a concept. While Miley may be an adult now, that doesn't stop the teen-pop familiarity from leaking through the numerous cracks in this album. The title track is in fact one of the blandest songs on the album, with a bizarre stomp-crash beat. Paired with repetitive, whiny croons of "I can't be tamed/blamed/changed", the track makes less than"Can't Be Tamed" treads rocky territory even as a concept. While Miley may be an adult now, that doesn't stop the teen-pop familiarity from leaking through the numerous cracks in this album. The title track is in fact one of the blandest songs on the album, with a bizarre stomp-crash beat. Paired with repetitive, whiny croons of "I can't be tamed/blamed/changed", the track makes less than a good impression of the album. Cyrus seems so bent on proving herself to be "mature" that she is willing to take a suicide dive off her safety net that is Disney. The few songs that have decent pop melodies lose their credibility when they are mixed with excessive Auto-tune, cheap lyrics, and tired beats (most notably "Permanent December"). The album has a difficult time choosing between bitter teen angst ("Robot") and alternative riffs with unsettlingly dark tones ("Stay"). Even the closing ballad, while a gem of a simple pop tune, becomes a slave to producing techniques that reduce it to a B-side track that was stripped of its promise. Growing up is about a lot more than being louder and brasher. And it seems that Cyrus still needs to learn that if she wants to hold on to her fans, Tamed and the unlike. Expand
  18. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    Can't Be Tamed is a perfect name for a diverse and eclectic, yet contained album. Miss Cyrus tries out several different styles on this electro-pop album, from Fleetwood Mac-esque ballads such as Forgiveness & Love and throwback Britney Spears on club bangers such as Who Owns My Heart. She holds her own on each song, proving she can sing with the rest of her older contemporaries. TheCan't Be Tamed is a perfect name for a diverse and eclectic, yet contained album. Miss Cyrus tries out several different styles on this electro-pop album, from Fleetwood Mac-esque ballads such as Forgiveness & Love and throwback Britney Spears on club bangers such as Who Owns My Heart. She holds her own on each song, proving she can sing with the rest of her older contemporaries. The bottom line is, Can't Be Tamed is NOT a one-dimensional pop album with songs predominantly about partying and being promiscuous as many of her peers have. The young Miley addresses such issues as breaking free from an abusive relationship in the dance song Liberty Walk, gay-equality and activism in My Heart Beats For Love, and wanting to re-kindle a fading flame in the surprisingly mature Stay. While the blend of almost soulless electro-production from Rock Mafia seems out of place with the worth-reading lyrics of the album (many of which were penned by Cyrus herself) Can't Be Tamed is a free-spirited, abstract piece of art rather than a 99 cent painting on a rectangular canvas.
    Rating -- 9/10. The Princess of Pop in training puts effort into breaking free, and she shatters the barriers effortlessly.
    Top Tracks: Liberty Walk, Robot, Who Owns My Heart, My Heart Beats For Love.
    Expand
  19. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    Musically speaking, wonderful album, well-organized, excellent job. If I don't know the meanings of the lyrics and the artist herself, I'd say it could definitely hit the platinum mark. But it's Miley Cyrus who made the album. It's Miley Cyrus! We know she can sing very well and she is widely popular among teenagers, but It's not okay to force-give a teenage girl's album a dark, sexy kindMusically speaking, wonderful album, well-organized, excellent job. If I don't know the meanings of the lyrics and the artist herself, I'd say it could definitely hit the platinum mark. But it's Miley Cyrus who made the album. It's Miley Cyrus! We know she can sing very well and she is widely popular among teenagers, but It's not okay to force-give a teenage girl's album a dark, sexy kind of feeling, especially when the main audience are actually teenage girls. The world has known Cyrus since she was 14 and started dancing in a blond wig and singing "The Best of Both Worlds" on TV. She was an international role-model for the children, they admire her as much as the president of the United States. She made a change that's inappropriate for an 18-year-old girl, and that's frowned upon, not by your fans, but by America. The album has indeed many favorable highlights, yet poorly known because of the album's controversy. Sorry Miles, but if you gonn' be like that, you ain't gonn' go a long way... Expand
  20. Aug 11, 2011
    3
    Miley Cyrus breaks loose, sure, but what about her fans who still think she's Hannah Montana? Doesn't that bother you that kids as young as four are listening to music about stripping, pole-dancing, and the like, just because their idol decided to make a quick change to a promiscuous, foul, bad role model?
  21. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    One of the few American pop singers who can actually sing. Miley Cyrus is great and I like how she got out of her girl next door period to sing about who she is.
  22. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Miley breaks free from the "good-girl" image and gets more sexy. The singles are really good, especially My Heart Beats for Love, Can't Be Tamed, Every Rose Has Its Thorn and Who Owns My Heart. Stay could have been better but it's a really good ballad.
  23. Nov 2, 2011
    4
    Surely this is the worst album of his career. Overall looks like a cheap imitation of the current pop vocals with little convincing. There are few songs that are saved in the midst of this disaster, including the title track 'Can't Be Tamed', 'Permanent December' and 'Liberty Walk'.
  24. Feb 3, 2012
    1
    stop trying to be Britney spears, Ke$ha, Madonna & Lady Gaga. Ur music is not good at all. So give it up and go smoke some more and ruin your life some more
  25. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Maybe a flawed production, but her songs are from the heart and the dance-pop songs are fun to listen for everyone like,"Permanent December", "Can't Be Tamed, "Two More Lonely People", "Liberty Walk" and "Who Owns My Heart"
  26. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I've loved this album since I first bought it in 2010. It's my favorite Miley Cyrus album (having heard Bangerz already), it was a critical and commercial failure due to her racy and provocative image in her music videos, but I honestly didn't care for that and I actually appreciated it, as it was her way of telling people: "I'm independent and I can't be tamed". I do think that she lackedI've loved this album since I first bought it in 2010. It's my favorite Miley Cyrus album (having heard Bangerz already), it was a critical and commercial failure due to her racy and provocative image in her music videos, but I honestly didn't care for that and I actually appreciated it, as it was her way of telling people: "I'm independent and I can't be tamed". I do think that she lacked a backup plan at the time and the negative backlash made her transition ineffective. The album has electronic and techno influences, with dance anthems and electronic ballads. 3 years after its release, I still enjoy it, it brings me good memories. Expand
  27. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I think this album is great! It is the very first (and up to now, only) album that captivates me with its every single song! And come on people, she is growing up! She's not cute, innocent Hannah Montana anymore! She's the one and only Miley Cyrus!!
  28. Nov 7, 2013
    2
    Miley has a good voice and a good style, but do not know to use any of the two factors here, it gives us nothing more than the conventional, with a vocal totally full of auto-tune.
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    Oh God NO, she Can't Be Tamed, cause she's Built Like That. Rock Mafia I love you guys to death and glad to work with you guys but, she Built Like That. Oh God No. Let's go by song. Liberty Walk: I enjoy this song, great lyrics great beat Id give it a 4 1/2/5. Who Owns My Heart: Sloppy lyrics but infectious beat 3/5. Can't Be Tamed: Great sound, but my God the lyrics are all over the placeOh God NO, she Can't Be Tamed, cause she's Built Like That. Rock Mafia I love you guys to death and glad to work with you guys but, she Built Like That. Oh God No. Let's go by song. Liberty Walk: I enjoy this song, great lyrics great beat Id give it a 4 1/2/5. Who Owns My Heart: Sloppy lyrics but infectious beat 3/5. Can't Be Tamed: Great sound, but my God the lyrics are all over the place and she sounds like Kanye "Im the best thing to happen to this world", no, no, no 3/5 for the beat. Every Rose Has Its Thorne: Love the sound and lyrics but her voice isn't right for the song 3/5. Two More Lonely People: One of my least favorites half good beat and half good lyrics but not a half score song 2/5. Forgiveness and Love: I actually have nothing bad to say 4 1/2/5. Permanent December: Not a fan to auto-tunie all over the place lyrics and odd beat 2/5. Stay: Couldn't make it through but 2/5. Scars: I actually enjoyed it the beat at the beginning sounds good 4/5. Take Me Along: 2/5. Robot: Usually when she does things like the Oooohhhh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, Ohhhhhh thing I hate it, but the beat that played with it turned that around. 4/5. My Heart Beats For Love: I dont k now mixed feelings 3/5. All in all this album is too much and too little and too self obsourbed. 5/10. Miley please never do a Can't Be Tamed, cause Im Built Like That song again. FYI your voice isn't even that good. Demi Lovato, Zendaya, Aly Michalka, AJ Michalka, Ashley Tisdale, Vanessa Hudgens, Selena Gomez, McClain Sisters, Coco Jones, all have better voices. You were just the biggest star thanks to Hannah Montana, but I will honestly say I am looking forward to your next album cause you do make some good songs. And please don't entitle it "Danger Zone". ehhhh. Expand
  30. Oct 7, 2013
    0
    Do any of us need to pretend that there is any hidden talent in this pop disaster? No. This is garbage and belongs in the dump. It boggles my mind how paid critics think this is musical genius while the actual public buying this trash refutes it as just that; trash.
  31. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    I am giving this album a positive review, particularly because she is one of the few singers who can handle the autotune live. Her songs 'Can't be Tamed' and 'Who owns my Heart' are the highlights of the album. Even though she has received flak for her provocative image, her songs are still catchy, and sprinkled with a pinch of autotune to give it a great finish.
  32. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    Injustiçado do pop, melhor álbum da Miley, amo todas as músicas principalmente Scars e Robot. Ele pisa em toda a carreira da Selena e no Bangerz, apenas a verdade, meus queridos. Foi tão desperdiçado por ter apenas 2 singles e por ter amarelo tour na nota por críticos e user score, mas mesmo assim pisa em tudo
  33. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Best album of Miley, do not understand why the ratings so low by critics and by the people, the album is great in the compositions, vocals, in all, a great pop album.
    Highlights: Permanent December and Two More Lonely People
    Lows: Scars and My Heart Beats For Love
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Despite her best rebellious efforts, Miley's just not (yet) that thorny a girl.
  2. At times Can't Be Tamed feels perfunctory, getting the job of showing Cyrus is growing up without making her too mature for her still-young fan base and little else.
  3. It's a Top 40 record of a high order, packed with electro-pop hooks and big Kelly Clarkson-style shout-along choruses. Cyrus' 17-year-old ire--however genuine it is--just adds spice.