Can't Be Tamed

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 249 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 249

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Best album of Miley, do not understand why the ratings so low by critics and by the people, the album is great in the compositions, vocals, in all, a great pop album.
    Highlights: Permanent December and Two More Lonely People
    Lows: Scars and My Heart Beats For Love
  2. Mar 31, 2015
    10
    EL DISCO ES PERFECTOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO¡¡¡SACA SU LADO MAS ROCKERO QUE ES LA MÚSICA QUE LE GUSTA Y SI NO HUBIESE SIDO FILTRADO EL DISCO HUBIERA VENDIDO 3,5M DE COPIAS PERO SOLO VENDIO 1,5M POR LA PIRATERIA
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    If you really listen to all the songs of the album.it shows the world so much love!All your review is just base on your hatred towards Miley! Hate you people!
  4. ShivangiG
    Jun 27, 2010
    10
    Miley has made a lot of efforts on this video. All songs are very nice according to her age and i loved the collection. Long Live Miley
  5. chrisb
    Jun 26, 2010
    9
    Miley is a much misunderstood entity of the music machine,often critisized and lambasted for doing what everyone does-mature and grow up.fans seem to want to keep her as wholesome hannah montana for all eternity,wheras miley herself,just wants to break that mould and become a singer/actor in her own right.This album,and most effectively the title track, is basically sticking a middle Miley is a much misunderstood entity of the music machine,often critisized and lambasted for doing what everyone does-mature and grow up.fans seem to want to keep her as wholesome hannah montana for all eternity,wheras miley herself,just wants to break that mould and become a singer/actor in her own right.This album,and most effectively the title track, is basically sticking a middle finger up at all the critics.Certainly a highly polished and auto-tuned effort but some very strong songs shine through.Give it a few listens and it becomes very addictive. Expand
  6. JamesB
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    Miley's third CD is a big step from her previous debuts and shows somewhat of a break from her Disney girl image. The lyrics and dance beats in most of the tracks are decent and catchy. Overall I really enjoyed listening to this album it is a fun, somewhat deep pop album.
  7. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    lets get to it the title song "Cant be Tamed" is just to grown up and immature for her age. The new dance pop sound is amazing, but at times could be compared to ABBA, and Lady Gaga, like in the song "Who Owns My Heart". The best song is "My heart Beats For Love". Why? Well it's mature, emotional,and has important message.
  8. Dec 14, 2010
    8
    Miley really make progress with Can't Be Tamed. She shows to us that she's not a girl anymore, now she is a woman and a bad one. She is an good girl gone bad, and Can't Be Tamed is the proof.
  9. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i really like this album because she is not the same stupid Hanna Montana girl , now is Miley Cyrus and i think that this album is so good, no the best but it's good , some songs are so amazing and different like can't be tamed and who owns my hart are really amazing songs, the cd art is bad but i don't care Expand
  10. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    ok, so I'm a "little" biased, because I'm a big fan of Miley Cyrus, but I must say, even if I wasn't a fan of hers, but a fan of pop/dance music in general, this album is one of the best I've ever heard. Of course, with good there must also be bad, my only complaint is the use of auto-tune on a few songs, which is very lame, but other than that, I love this album and want more just like this!
  11. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Miley breaks free from the "good-girl" image and gets more sexy. The singles are really good, especially My Heart Beats for Love, Can't Be Tamed, Every Rose Has Its Thorn and Who Owns My Heart. Stay could have been better but it's a really good ballad.
  12. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    Can't Be Tamed is a perfect name for a diverse and eclectic, yet contained album. Miss Cyrus tries out several different styles on this electro-pop album, from Fleetwood Mac-esque ballads such as Forgiveness & Love and throwback Britney Spears on club bangers such as Who Owns My Heart. She holds her own on each song, proving she can sing with the rest of her older contemporaries. TheCan't Be Tamed is a perfect name for a diverse and eclectic, yet contained album. Miss Cyrus tries out several different styles on this electro-pop album, from Fleetwood Mac-esque ballads such as Forgiveness & Love and throwback Britney Spears on club bangers such as Who Owns My Heart. She holds her own on each song, proving she can sing with the rest of her older contemporaries. The bottom line is, Can't Be Tamed is NOT a one-dimensional pop album with songs predominantly about partying and being promiscuous as many of her peers have. The young Miley addresses such issues as breaking free from an abusive relationship in the dance song Liberty Walk, gay-equality and activism in My Heart Beats For Love, and wanting to re-kindle a fading flame in the surprisingly mature Stay. While the blend of almost soulless electro-production from Rock Mafia seems out of place with the worth-reading lyrics of the album (many of which were penned by Cyrus herself) Can't Be Tamed is a free-spirited, abstract piece of art rather than a 99 cent painting on a rectangular canvas.
    Rating -- 9/10. The Princess of Pop in training puts effort into breaking free, and she shatters the barriers effortlessly.
    Top Tracks: Liberty Walk, Robot, Who Owns My Heart, My Heart Beats For Love.
    Expand
  13. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    Musically speaking, wonderful album, well-organized, excellent job. If I don't know the meanings of the lyrics and the artist herself, I'd say it could definitely hit the platinum mark. But it's Miley Cyrus who made the album. It's Miley Cyrus! We know she can sing very well and she is widely popular among teenagers, but It's not okay to force-give a teenage girl's album a dark, sexy kindMusically speaking, wonderful album, well-organized, excellent job. If I don't know the meanings of the lyrics and the artist herself, I'd say it could definitely hit the platinum mark. But it's Miley Cyrus who made the album. It's Miley Cyrus! We know she can sing very well and she is widely popular among teenagers, but It's not okay to force-give a teenage girl's album a dark, sexy kind of feeling, especially when the main audience are actually teenage girls. The world has known Cyrus since she was 14 and started dancing in a blond wig and singing "The Best of Both Worlds" on TV. She was an international role-model for the children, they admire her as much as the president of the United States. She made a change that's inappropriate for an 18-year-old girl, and that's frowned upon, not by your fans, but by America. The album has indeed many favorable highlights, yet poorly known because of the album's controversy. Sorry Miles, but if you gonn' be like that, you ain't gonn' go a long way... Expand
  14. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    One of the few American pop singers who can actually sing. Miley Cyrus is great and I like how she got out of her girl next door period to sing about who she is.
  15. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Maybe a flawed production, but her songs are from the heart and the dance-pop songs are fun to listen for everyone like,"Permanent December", "Can't Be Tamed, "Two More Lonely People", "Liberty Walk" and "Who Owns My Heart"
  16. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I've loved this album since I first bought it in 2010. It's my favorite Miley Cyrus album (having heard Bangerz already), it was a critical and commercial failure due to her racy and provocative image in her music videos, but I honestly didn't care for that and I actually appreciated it, as it was her way of telling people: "I'm independent and I can't be tamed". I do think that she lackedI've loved this album since I first bought it in 2010. It's my favorite Miley Cyrus album (having heard Bangerz already), it was a critical and commercial failure due to her racy and provocative image in her music videos, but I honestly didn't care for that and I actually appreciated it, as it was her way of telling people: "I'm independent and I can't be tamed". I do think that she lacked a backup plan at the time and the negative backlash made her transition ineffective. The album has electronic and techno influences, with dance anthems and electronic ballads. 3 years after its release, I still enjoy it, it brings me good memories. Expand
  17. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I think this album is great! It is the very first (and up to now, only) album that captivates me with its every single song! And come on people, she is growing up! She's not cute, innocent Hannah Montana anymore! She's the one and only Miley Cyrus!!
  18. Oct 16, 2015
    8
    Até então, o Breakout continuava sendo o melhor álbum da Miley. Mas Can't Be Tamed não fica muito atrás. Gosto muito da maioria das letras, com destaque para Liberty Walk, Who Owns My Heart, Can't Be Tamed, Two More Lonely People, Permanent December, Stay, Scars, Take Me Along, Robot, e My Heart Beats For Love.
  19. Aug 31, 2015
    10
    A lot of people do not understand this album, the reason of it. The production is not so good, but about the lyrics there is no one bad, if you know what those lyrics are saying.
  20. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    I am giving this album a positive review, particularly because she is one of the few singers who can handle the autotune live. Her songs 'Can't be Tamed' and 'Who owns my Heart' are the highlights of the album. Even though she has received flak for her provocative image, her songs are still catchy, and sprinkled with a pinch of autotune to give it a great finish.
  21. Jul 16, 2016
    7
    Miley Cyrus puts all her efforts into displaying an edgier look. I loved "Can't Be Tamed," "Every Rose Has Its Thorn," "Permanent December," "Stay," "Scars," "Take Me Along," and "My Heart Beats for Love." In songs like "Every Rose Has Its Thorn" and "Stay," her vocals prove to be strong; on tracks like "Can't Be Tamed," she shows off her transformation into a more provocative sound.
  22. Jan 14, 2015
    8
    This album made me come out of the closet so I'm pretty proud of this album. Liberty Walk, Who Owns My Heart and Can't Be Tamed made me find out who I really am, those ones are really powerful. I'm not into Scars and Robot because of the synth rock that I'm not into. I've always liked any songs of this album. The sounds are so powerful! Love it
  23. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    This album was incredible. The only thing wrong with it is the over use of auto-tune. The highlights of it were "Take Me Along", "Forgiveness and Love", and the LGBTQ suport themed "My Heart Beats For Love". "Stay"and listen to the album that guides you through this rebellious point in Miley's life.She shows that shes not a "Robot" and that she "Can't Be Tamed". She's a girl thats set freeThis album was incredible. The only thing wrong with it is the over use of auto-tune. The highlights of it were "Take Me Along", "Forgiveness and Love", and the LGBTQ suport themed "My Heart Beats For Love". "Stay"and listen to the album that guides you through this rebellious point in Miley's life.She shows that shes not a "Robot" and that she "Can't Be Tamed". She's a girl thats set free taking a "Liberty Walk" and reminds us that "Every Rose Has Its Thorn" Expand
  24. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    Um álbum intimo, feito com carinho e amargurado pela crítica e mídia, foi uma era que deis do começo já tinha dado sinais que não iria se dar bem, dito e feito, mas isso não faz com que o álbum seja ruim.
  25. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    RAINHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA HINÁRIO INJUSTIÇADÍSSIMO
  26. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    Me gusto mucho este disco, es uno de mis favoritos y demostró toda la sensualidad que tenia atrapado en su papel de niña buena. Muy Sexy en serio muy buenas canciones y videos!!
  27. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    Can't Be Tamed é muito bom, e com certeza é o melhor álbum da miley, mas a divulgação dele foi horrível, fora o desperdiço de singles, as minhas faves são o álbum todo tirando "Forgiveness and Love" e "Two More Lonely People"
  28. Feb 5, 2016
    10
    The opening song "Liberty Walk" and "Robot" are both amazing and promoting freedom to be who you want and fight for your writes, very well-written. "My Heart Beats For Love" and "Forgiveness And Love" are very good relaxing songs about love, accepting and peace, also for the LGBT community. "Who Owns My Heart" is a gread dance song. I love this whole album.
  29. Sep 10, 2016
    8
    This could be a very good pop album, despite there is a lot of autotune when in some parts you can't even identify Miley's southern voice. However, the lyrics are pretty amazing.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Despite her best rebellious efforts, Miley's just not (yet) that thorny a girl.
  2. At times Can't Be Tamed feels perfunctory, getting the job of showing Cyrus is growing up without making her too mature for her still-young fan base and little else.
  3. It's a Top 40 record of a high order, packed with electro-pop hooks and big Kelly Clarkson-style shout-along choruses. Cyrus' 17-year-old ire--however genuine it is--just adds spice.