User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 273

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    5
    This is just a bad pop record. Bad production and bad vocals. The album does have some highlights with songs like "Liberty Walk", "Forgiveness & Love" and the infamous "Can't Be Tamed" but other than those tracks the album is just so-so.
  2. Nov 23, 2010
    4
    This album is simply okay. While this album offers nothing new or exciting, Cyrus' transformation is an interesting phenomenon to watch and while she isn't equipped to execute this transformation productively, she is certainly moving in the right direction, but with autotune this heavy and weak, Kesha-esque dance numbers she certainly needs to step up her game if she wants to be in it forThis album is simply okay. While this album offers nothing new or exciting, Cyrus' transformation is an interesting phenomenon to watch and while she isn't equipped to execute this transformation productively, she is certainly moving in the right direction, but with autotune this heavy and weak, Kesha-esque dance numbers she certainly needs to step up her game if she wants to be in it for the long haul. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2010
    5
    Can't Be Tamed would've been her best record if she had not put the first three tracks in the album. These tracks does not fit her vocal capabilities and are simply annoying dance-pop tracks. In Permanent December, she sound like a baby robot. One thing that redeemed the album is her 80s sound pop ballads. The lyrics is beautiful. It is definitely the same Cyrus who sings her pop songs inCan't Be Tamed would've been her best record if she had not put the first three tracks in the album. These tracks does not fit her vocal capabilities and are simply annoying dance-pop tracks. In Permanent December, she sound like a baby robot. One thing that redeemed the album is her 80s sound pop ballads. The lyrics is beautiful. It is definitely the same Cyrus who sings her pop songs in a country way. The album's standout tracks are Two More Lonely People, Every Rose Has Its Thorn, Forgiveness and Love, and Scars. Next time, don't make the titles too long. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2010
    4
    this album was whatever. It wasn't that bad. I think Miley is trying to hard to be a bad girl. I can't really listen to the album. The songs on this album isn't good like the last two. This album was close to bad. I like the pop rock version of miley cyrus better. Miley is my favorite disney star and i think while i hope she bounce back from this album.
  5. Dec 15, 2012
    6
    Can't Be Tamed is not such a terrible album as people say. Of course that is far of being a great album, however we can find in it some really good songs like the powerful "Can't Be Tamed", the sexy and noddy "Who Owns My Heart" and the passionate "Stay". Is true that some songs are uninteresting like "Robot", "Liberty Walk" and others, but Miley is definitely more mature and a betterCan't Be Tamed is not such a terrible album as people say. Of course that is far of being a great album, however we can find in it some really good songs like the powerful "Can't Be Tamed", the sexy and noddy "Who Owns My Heart" and the passionate "Stay". Is true that some songs are uninteresting like "Robot", "Liberty Walk" and others, but Miley is definitely more mature and a better singer that in the past. Much people judge her in base of her work as Hannah Montana, but we have to see the things as they really are: her work as Miley Cyrus is much better. I even can say that this album is better that a lot of boring and obvious albums of the pop artist that are called the best in the industry. Miley has a long way to go to become a great singer, but I think that she is in the good way. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    5
    Although she has since separated herself from her Disney given sweet southern girl persona, Miley Cyrus made an attempt in 2010 to be her alter ego Hannah Montana whilst attaining a wannabe Britney Spears-esque 'good girl gone bad' image, which ended up falling flat on her third studio album as herself Can't Be Tame. Although Auto Tuned anthems such as album opener "Liberty Walk" and leadAlthough she has since separated herself from her Disney given sweet southern girl persona, Miley Cyrus made an attempt in 2010 to be her alter ego Hannah Montana whilst attaining a wannabe Britney Spears-esque 'good girl gone bad' image, which ended up falling flat on her third studio album as herself Can't Be Tame. Although Auto Tuned anthems such as album opener "Liberty Walk" and lead single "Can't Be Tamed" may reach to teens in her age group, Can't Be Tamed mainly revolves around cheesy pop ballads inspired by 90s bubblegum pop and Cyrus' southern country-rock roots are all but lost in the heavy production. Let's not even mention the worst Ke$ha impression ever performed in the overwhelmingly bubbly dance-pop ballad "Permanent December". "Two More Lonely People" may be Cyrus' only achievement in this anti-rebellious mess, which ends up venturing her into country influenced synthpop territory that's still cheesy, but moderately pleasing at the same time. All in all, Can't Be Tamed is forgettable at best and should only please Cyrus' 'smilers' Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    Best album of Miley, do not understand why the ratings so low by critics and by the people, the album is great in the compositions, vocals, in all, a great pop album.
    Highlights: Permanent December and Two More Lonely People
    Lows: Scars and My Heart Beats For Love
  8. Mar 31, 2015
    10
    EL DISCO ES PERFECTOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO¡¡¡SACA SU LADO MAS ROCKERO QUE ES LA MÚSICA QUE LE GUSTA Y SI NO HUBIESE SIDO FILTRADO EL DISCO HUBIERA VENDIDO 3,5M DE COPIAS PERO SOLO VENDIO 1,5M POR LA PIRATERIA
  9. KevinG
    Jun 23, 2010
    0
    she is acting like a complete whore in this video and she is just trying too hard to have sex appeal and she just doesnt because she is still a minor.
  10. Craig
    Jun 28, 2010
    2
    This is a very weak album. Most of the songs try to be dance pop songs, but the songs are not nearly the level of other similar dance pop songs out right now from Lady Gaga or Keisha. The production is horrible. Sometimes Cyrus sounds more like T-Pain than herself. The autotune was out of control as they tried to make Cyrus' songs more dance friendly or correct weaknesses in her This is a very weak album. Most of the songs try to be dance pop songs, but the songs are not nearly the level of other similar dance pop songs out right now from Lady Gaga or Keisha. The production is horrible. Sometimes Cyrus sounds more like T-Pain than herself. The autotune was out of control as they tried to make Cyrus' songs more dance friendly or correct weaknesses in her voice. I am sure this album will sell well in the first week because of her popularity. However, if not for her famous name, this album would never sell. Expand
  11. EmilyM
    Jun 28, 2010
    0
    One of the worst albums of all time. William Hung move over! Ms. Cyrus has arrived in full on leather.
  12. RezJ
    Jun 28, 2010
    3
    Yes, she has a rich dad and she can make albums anytime!! but seriously, is there anyone can stop her? with this album she's trying to show the dark part of he soul. but she's still a kid and walking to these sexy things are so soon for her. nobody forget you dancing on Hannah Montana. the album can recieve the nomination for Worst Album of the year.
  13. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    If you really listen to all the songs of the album.it shows the world so much love!All your review is just base on your hatred towards Miley! Hate you people!
  14. CalebR.
    Jun 28, 2010
    3
    Meh... it has some decent songs but the problem is is that Miley isn't that great of a singer and has such a limited vocal range that it just isn't as appealing as it would have been with an artist who is actually capable of singing. If you are looking for some generic but catchy tunes buy it but if you actually want to hear a real singer than avoid it like the plague.
  15. KatieY
    Jun 22, 2010
    6
    Miley Cyrus's new album ,she experiments with different beats and sounds. For example, "Robot" is a electro/pop mix while Forgiveness and Love is a 60s vibe with a mellow country beat. Also with stinging lyrics and a fierce voice, Cyrus might prove the press wrong once again.
  16. JamesB
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    Miley's third CD is a big step from her previous debuts and shows somewhat of a break from her Disney girl image. The lyrics and dance beats in most of the tracks are decent and catchy. Overall I really enjoyed listening to this album it is a fun, somewhat deep pop album.
  17. chrisb
    Jun 26, 2010
    9
    Miley is a much misunderstood entity of the music machine,often critisized and lambasted for doing what everyone does-mature and grow up.fans seem to want to keep her as wholesome hannah montana for all eternity,wheras miley herself,just wants to break that mould and become a singer/actor in her own right.This album,and most effectively the title track, is basically sticking a middle Miley is a much misunderstood entity of the music machine,often critisized and lambasted for doing what everyone does-mature and grow up.fans seem to want to keep her as wholesome hannah montana for all eternity,wheras miley herself,just wants to break that mould and become a singer/actor in her own right.This album,and most effectively the title track, is basically sticking a middle finger up at all the critics.Certainly a highly polished and auto-tuned effort but some very strong songs shine through.Give it a few listens and it becomes very addictive. Expand
  18. ShivangiG
    Jun 27, 2010
    10
    Miley has made a lot of efforts on this video. All songs are very nice according to her age and i loved the collection. Long Live Miley
  19. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    lets get to it the title song "Cant be Tamed" is just to grown up and immature for her age. The new dance pop sound is amazing, but at times could be compared to ABBA, and Lady Gaga, like in the song "Who Owns My Heart". The best song is "My heart Beats For Love". Why? Well it's mature, emotional,and has important message.
  20. Dec 14, 2010
    8
    Miley really make progress with Can't Be Tamed. She shows to us that she's not a girl anymore, now she is a woman and a bad one. She is an good girl gone bad, and Can't Be Tamed is the proof.
  21. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i really like this album because she is not the same stupid Hanna Montana girl , now is Miley Cyrus and i think that this album is so good, no the best but it's good , some songs are so amazing and different like can't be tamed and who owns my hart are really amazing songs, the cd art is bad but i don't care Expand
  22. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    ok, so I'm a "little" biased, because I'm a big fan of Miley Cyrus, but I must say, even if I wasn't a fan of hers, but a fan of pop/dance music in general, this album is one of the best I've ever heard. Of course, with good there must also be bad, my only complaint is the use of auto-tune on a few songs, which is very lame, but other than that, I love this album and want more just like this!
  23. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Miley breaks free from the "good-girl" image and gets more sexy. The singles are really good, especially My Heart Beats for Love, Can't Be Tamed, Every Rose Has Its Thorn and Who Owns My Heart. Stay could have been better but it's a really good ballad.
  24. Oct 7, 2013
    0
    Do any of us need to pretend that there is any hidden talent in this pop disaster? No. This is garbage and belongs in the dump. It boggles my mind how paid critics think this is musical genius while the actual public buying this trash refutes it as just that; trash.
  25. Apr 3, 2015
    6
    FDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDG demaisFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDG demais FDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGDFDGFDGFDGFGFDGFGGD Expand
  26. Nov 1, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can't Be Tamed shows how Miley's music has changed since her Hannah Montana's days, despite the evolution, the songs of the album are not even catchy, the chorus of the self-titled song is annoying and very repetitive. Miley Cyrus is trying to do dance-pop hits like Katy Perry or Lady Gaga, but she needs a better producer (than Rock Mafia) or get back to the The Climb era. Expand
  27. Mar 6, 2011
    5
    I won't call Cyrus "untalented", that'd be a lie. But I will say that Can't Be Tamed fails at showing Cyrus's maturity. While "Who Owns My Heart" shows a more seductive side of Cyrus, and no doubt shows off her attractive vocals, "Liberty Walk" and "Every Rose Has Its Thorns" seem to show a bit of weakness when it comes to uniqueness. While the album's lead single, "Can't Be Tamed", is notI won't call Cyrus "untalented", that'd be a lie. But I will say that Can't Be Tamed fails at showing Cyrus's maturity. While "Who Owns My Heart" shows a more seductive side of Cyrus, and no doubt shows off her attractive vocals, "Liberty Walk" and "Every Rose Has Its Thorns" seem to show a bit of weakness when it comes to uniqueness. While the album's lead single, "Can't Be Tamed", is not a bad dance track at all and is lyrically valuable, it refuses to stand out. Cyrus has fantastic intentions, and she'll no doubt blow our minds someday, but right now, let's focus on drifting her from Disney. Expand
  28. Mar 17, 2011
    4
    Miley is really far from perfection, but this album is not that bad, it may have dull songs as Who Owns My Heart, Forgiveness and Love and My heart beats for love, but it has average songs, like liberty walk, scars and every rose has it's thorn,can't be tamed , and good songs, like robot and stay
    is not good at all, but not bad at all
  29. Jun 6, 2011
    4
    Lacks any kind of originality and just isn't that creative of a record. Though tracks like "Who Owns My Heart" show us that Cyrus can in fact be irresistible, the rest of the album is just too generic and dumbed down by poor lyrics and an overuse of Auto-Tune.
  30. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    Can't Be Tamed is a perfect name for a diverse and eclectic, yet contained album. Miss Cyrus tries out several different styles on this electro-pop album, from Fleetwood Mac-esque ballads such as Forgiveness & Love and throwback Britney Spears on club bangers such as Who Owns My Heart. She holds her own on each song, proving she can sing with the rest of her older contemporaries. TheCan't Be Tamed is a perfect name for a diverse and eclectic, yet contained album. Miss Cyrus tries out several different styles on this electro-pop album, from Fleetwood Mac-esque ballads such as Forgiveness & Love and throwback Britney Spears on club bangers such as Who Owns My Heart. She holds her own on each song, proving she can sing with the rest of her older contemporaries. The bottom line is, Can't Be Tamed is NOT a one-dimensional pop album with songs predominantly about partying and being promiscuous as many of her peers have. The young Miley addresses such issues as breaking free from an abusive relationship in the dance song Liberty Walk, gay-equality and activism in My Heart Beats For Love, and wanting to re-kindle a fading flame in the surprisingly mature Stay. While the blend of almost soulless electro-production from Rock Mafia seems out of place with the worth-reading lyrics of the album (many of which were penned by Cyrus herself) Can't Be Tamed is a free-spirited, abstract piece of art rather than a 99 cent painting on a rectangular canvas.
    Rating -- 9/10. The Princess of Pop in training puts effort into breaking free, and she shatters the barriers effortlessly.
    Top Tracks: Liberty Walk, Robot, Who Owns My Heart, My Heart Beats For Love.
    Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Despite her best rebellious efforts, Miley's just not (yet) that thorny a girl.
  2. At times Can't Be Tamed feels perfunctory, getting the job of showing Cyrus is growing up without making her too mature for her still-young fan base and little else.
  3. It's a Top 40 record of a high order, packed with electro-pop hooks and big Kelly Clarkson-style shout-along choruses. Cyrus' 17-year-old ire--however genuine it is--just adds spice.