Cape Dory

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Jun 21, 2011
    60
    Charming but once-paced opener from Denver couple. [July 2011, p. 120]
  2. 60
    A little shade among the sugary rays might not go astray, but maybe that's just the goth in me talking.
  3. Under The Radar
    Mar 9, 2011
    40
    It's relentlessly cloying pop music, and it would benefit immensely if the act would take a step outside their comfort zone into more nefarious territory. [Feb 2011, p.72]
  4. Jan 19, 2011
    40
    That's what Cape Dory will be for many listeners--a toxic sugar rush full of empty calories.
  5. May 10, 2011
    60
    Tennis may have sailed a great distance to bring about the inspiration for Cape Dory, but a similarly epic voyage of composition would have yielded far better results here. As it stands, it's remarkably unremarkable.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Such a great album! Tennis is my favorite spurt and this is my favorite album! Such beautiful music! One of my top 7 albums of two thousand eleven! :)
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    8
    This is a delightful album bursting full of sentiment, a true old school pop album from seriously pretentious rich kids. I love it don't getThis is a delightful album bursting full of sentiment, a true old school pop album from seriously pretentious rich kids. I love it don't get me wrong, they know how to write catchy tunes and the lyrics, while wonderful tunes to put on your next ipod playlist or mixed cd for a sweetheart, should not be critiqued with an ounce of seriousness. I miss the summer but these tracks warm up the frozen wasteland of chicago.

    Buy the album or vinyl it's only 7 dollars.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    It's one of those albums where every single song is enjoyable to listen to (especially if you listen to the album in one sitting). It's seemsIt's one of those albums where every single song is enjoyable to listen to (especially if you listen to the album in one sitting). It's seems perfectly effortless and not overly worked. "Pigeon" is one of the most honest love songs I have heard in years. One of my all time favorite albums. If you have not listened yet you must. Full Review »