Cardiology

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2010
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Kerrang!
    Nov 22, 2010
    80
    While they may have grown up, Good Charlotte have clearly not lost sight of who they are. Perhaps most importantly, though, they still know where they're going. [30 Oct 2010, p.50]
  2. Alternative Press
    Oct 29, 2010
    80
    Good Charlotte are multi-platinum scene superstars, but Cardiology might just be their best effort yet. [Nov 2010, p.112
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    80
    Commercially-driven producers or not, though, the band have a knack for keeping their sound current and contemporary –- while still being reminiscent of their early material.
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    68
    A decade and five albums into its career, the rock band certainly sounds as youthful as ever.
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    60
    Maturity doesn't necessarily suit the band--there's a natural, flat whine to Joel Madden's voice that dooms him to eternal adolescence--but every step Good Charlotte makes toward a comfortable middle age on Cardiology is a step that succeeds, producing music that resonates louder and longer than the flashy twaddle of Good Morning Revival.
  6. Nov 10, 2010
    60
    What Good Charlotte don't seem to have picked up along the way are any startlingly new ways of delivering their honeyed ramalama pop-punk. Which could prove troublesome for them in the long run, now that the punk bubble has once again popped.
  7. Mojo
    Nov 4, 2010
    60
    Maryland pop-punks are shamelessly commercial and ruthlessly effective. [Dec. 2010, p. 96]
  8. 50
    Cardiology, the pop-punk band's fifth album, struggles to stay relevant.
  9. Oct 28, 2010
    50
    Their fifth disc is rife with signs of rock ambition - acoustic songcraft, sweeping guitar solos - folded into their vaguely emo, synthed-up sound.
  10. Nov 30, 2010
    40
    To make listeners' hearts melt, there's a lullaby for Joel's daughter, Harlow, a bit of a cynical move when most of the album is about sleeping with other radio stars, getting wasted like it's your birthday and getting wasted, sleeping with someone, blacking out and thinking it was the best night of your life.
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    40
    As a whole, Cardiology is an attempt to leave behind the band's failed newer sound and return to their pop-punk roots.
  12. Oct 26, 2010
    40
    Cardiology dials down the sparkle, which is kind of a bummer; plodding fake-U2 anthems such as "Right Where I Belong" are definitely not Good Charlotte's sweet spot.
  13. Nov 2, 2010
    25
    Although the new album opens promisingly with Beach Boys-esque a cappella before kicking into a handful of bland yet workable pop-punk tunes, the middle backslides into watered-down dance-rock.
  14. Q Magazine
    Nov 5, 2010
    20
    Joel and Benji Madden's fifth album of anthemic dumbness. [Dec. 2010, p. 110]
  15. Cardiology is monstrously offensive – the latest shit-streak by music's laziest sons.
  16. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This latest offering is meandering chirpy slobber that sounds more boy band than ever.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    7
    This album has some good and bad impressions I love GC one of my main bands have been a fan for 4 years now and still am just them last nightThis album has some good and bad impressions I love GC one of my main bands have been a fan for 4 years now and still am just them last night LIVE , it was amazing they sound so good so much like the CD, single worthy songs are very good quality wise and has so much fun like Like it s her b-day, Last Night, Right Where I belong, Silver Screen romance is really good too, Some bummers like repetitive weird lyrics, like Standing Ovation and Let The music play and Counting the days, They are fun and very melodic songs although some songs dont fit lyrically which I hope they do to their next album. They should Combine nexttime MELODY + QUALITY LYRICS + FUN = a Better album.... I rate this album a 7/10 for the fun and the overall attitude of the band which i find great they seem to enjoy themselves alot! FOREVER GC Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    This is by far the best album I've ever heard! Good Charlotte is an incredible band, who released a fantastic album full of amazing songs!
    The
    This is by far the best album I've ever heard! Good Charlotte is an incredible band, who released a fantastic album full of amazing songs!
    The songs gotten a less "younger" sound.. and that made the album a whole lot better!

    :)
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    3
    For me, this 5th studio album stays below the expectation. With the time it gets boring this kind of teeny Rockmusic. sorry guys, its time to grow up.