• Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2007
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 120
  2. Negative: 37 out of 120

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArthurDent
    Jun 8, 2007
    5
    Very dissapoing album. Top marks for him not just trying to rehash the Soundgarden/Audioslave sound but that doesen't mean much when the songs don't really amount to much. There are a few highlights - You Know My Name, Safe and Sound, Killing Birds - and the album is certinally listenable. But it pales in comparison to his other solo masterpiece, 'Euphoria Morning' and Very dissapoing album. Top marks for him not just trying to rehash the Soundgarden/Audioslave sound but that doesen't mean much when the songs don't really amount to much. There are a few highlights - You Know My Name, Safe and Sound, Killing Birds - and the album is certinally listenable. But it pales in comparison to his other solo masterpiece, 'Euphoria Morning' and is unforunately a bit of a waste of talent. Expand
  2. DivagazioniN
    Jun 13, 2007
    5
    Tre pezzi buoni (tra cui una cover). Tutto il resto, purtroppo, è noia.
  3. Rick
    Jun 16, 2007
    4
    I'm disappointed with the cd..14 songs..too many..all sound the same..euphoria morning had some good mellow tunes but i can't find any on "carry on" Chris needs other talented musicians to make truely great music..This is a total letdown!
  4. EricC.
    Jun 27, 2007
    4
    After mixed reviews for his three cd effort with Audioslave and this mostly disappointing solo act, Cornell has to start realizing that he wasn't the only reason Soundgarden was one of the most worshipped grunge bands. It was his band, and he may never get them back.
  5. CubannaS.
    Jun 15, 2007
    4
    What a sell out! I've loved everything this man has graced vocally, lyrically and musically since the beginning. I 'm so dissapointed. No inspiration, no depth or creativity at all. It's mundane corporate pop rock. The music and his lyrics are so disconnected. Sounds like American Idol music. Boring , boring, boring!!!! Its music for the masses. Sad. His next album has got What a sell out! I've loved everything this man has graced vocally, lyrically and musically since the beginning. I 'm so dissapointed. No inspiration, no depth or creativity at all. It's mundane corporate pop rock. The music and his lyrics are so disconnected. Sounds like American Idol music. Boring , boring, boring!!!! Its music for the masses. Sad. His next album has got to be better, because this one's just lame. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    6
    There are plenty of moments that make me cringe just a little bit; his vocals aren't the best they've ever been and most of the album's electric guitar shouldn't be there at all. However, he seems so determined to make each track unpredictable within itself and different from the next that I can't help but be impressed. This is his best songwriting of the decade and I think "Silence theThere are plenty of moments that make me cringe just a little bit; his vocals aren't the best they've ever been and most of the album's electric guitar shouldn't be there at all. However, he seems so determined to make each track unpredictable within itself and different from the next that I can't help but be impressed. This is his best songwriting of the decade and I think "Silence the Voices" is one of my favourite songs written by Cornell. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. No less than a half-dozen songs have hit potential.
  2. Blender
    50
    When Cornell strains for significance, he squeezes the life out of his music. [Jun 2007, p.105]
  3. There is nothing wrong with a calmer, mellower Chris... But it's hard not to pine for the old fire.