Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. 80
    Cee Lo openly parades his retro tastes, but his outrageous personality invests them with a contemporary edge.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    The dark songster offers a bright disc full of pudding-rich arrangements and a number of worthy soul hits--just with a little more twinkly tambourine.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    This is Christmas music that can be enjoyed by those who otherwise loathe it.
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    72
    Weirdly enough, this might be Green's most immediately satisfying album as a pure soul singer; throughout, he explores the huskiest confines of his lower and middle register, instead of relying on his typical nasal fireworks.
  5. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    Magic Moment easily meets the primary requirement of any Christmas album, which is that it's a worthwhile addition to his fans' collections.
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    60
    Magic Moment nearly works, but not quite: further proof, should you need it, that making a Christmas record is tougher than you might think.
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    59
    There is a lot of loud, full-bore belting. It's a little showboaty and on occasion his voice threatens to overpower the song itself.... Still, not a note of Magic Moment rings false.
  8. 50
    Ultimately though, this feels most like the result of a major-label brainstorming session titled 'Which Of Our Artists Will Fill A Santa Suit Best This Year?'
  9. Nov 7, 2012
    30
    For folks who love Cee-Lo as a television personality and/or demand new renditions of songs we've all heard thousands of times over, Cee-Lo's Magic Moment exists. For everyone else... well, there's probably copies of Cee-Lo Green…Is the Soul Machine lying around somewhere out there.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    4
    I enjoy Cee-Lo Green very much, but this is not a good album by any stretch of the imagination. He is capable of doing so much better and has disappointed me. Next time, I expect better. Full Review »