Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    This is Christmas music that can be enjoyed by those who otherwise loathe it.
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    30
    For folks who love Cee-Lo as a television personality and/or demand new renditions of songs we've all heard thousands of times over, Cee-Lo's Magic Moment exists. For everyone else... well, there's probably copies of Cee-Lo Green…Is the Soul Machine lying around somewhere out there.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    59
    There is a lot of loud, full-bore belting. It's a little showboaty and on occasion his voice threatens to overpower the song itself.... Still, not a note of Magic Moment rings false.
  4. 50
    Ultimately though, this feels most like the result of a major-label brainstorming session titled 'Which Of Our Artists Will Fill A Santa Suit Best This Year?'
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    60
    Magic Moment nearly works, but not quite: further proof, should you need it, that making a Christmas record is tougher than you might think.
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    72
    Weirdly enough, this might be Green's most immediately satisfying album as a pure soul singer; throughout, he explores the huskiest confines of his lower and middle register, instead of relying on his typical nasal fireworks.
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    The dark songster offers a bright disc full of pudding-rich arrangements and a number of worthy soul hits--just with a little more twinkly tambourine.
  8. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    Magic Moment easily meets the primary requirement of any Christmas album, which is that it's a worthwhile addition to his fans' collections.
  9. 80
    Cee Lo openly parades his retro tastes, but his outrageous personality invests them with a contemporary edge.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    4
    I enjoy Cee-Lo Green very much, but this is not a good album by any stretch of the imagination. He is capable of doing so much better and has disappointed me. Next time, I expect better. Full Review »