Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    70
    Celebration Rock could arguably lack the powerful impact of the first record. Still, it's a hell of lot of fun.
  2. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Celebration Rock presents hedonism as a means to an end. There's nothing nihilistic or sneering about it. It invites everyone to the party.
  3. May 29, 2012
    88
    The duo taps into a power greater than itself to address impossibly vast and elemental topics-- friendship, lust, revenge, art, self-actualization-- with songs every bit as big.
  4. Uncut
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    At times all this vim can slip into noise. [Jul 2012, p.74]
  5. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    60
    Celebration Rock delivers more of the same good-time guitar-pop anthems about girls and night on the tiles, delivered at breakneck velocity and near-deafening volume. [Jul 2012, p.104]
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Japandroids sing about lost youth and sex and drinking atop hammer-of-the-geeks distortion swirls and holler-along refrains a gorilla could pump some paw to.
  7. May 31, 2012
    80
    The sheer energy pouring from this record is breathtaking: not until the very final song ('Continuous Thunder') does Celebration Rock's sense of acceleration cease.
  8. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    All too often, though, it's an attempt at this exact same sound that lacks any ideas; not so much directionless as without destination.
  9. Japandroids know how to bring the ruckus. But elsewhere the power-chord pummelage gets a bit one-note.
  10. Jun 1, 2012
    80
    Utterly everyday yet utterly recognisable and distinctive, Celebration Rock is pounding, lithe and youthful.
  11. Jun 4, 2012
    100
    Celebration Rock starts strong and stays there over the course of its eight songs and 35 minutes.
  12. Jun 4, 2012
    90
    This is not the sound of settling.
  13. 90
    Where Post-Nothing melts into a hazy dream, Celebration Rock does exactly what it claims to do-it burns on and on like the best sort of party.
  14. May 29, 2012
    80
    Harder, better, faster and stronger than their excellent debut, 2009's Post Nothing.
  15. Alternative Press
    Jun 1, 2012
    90
    "Continuous Thunder" is a sensitive parting shot, and cements Celebration Rock's emotional depth. [Jul 2012, p.98]
  16. May 29, 2012
    60
    Each song spills over with a breathless, unhinged vigour that impresses... But taken all together, the band's refusal ever to let up on volume, bombast, group-shouted vocals, fast-strummed chords or smashing drums makes Celebration Rock an exhausting sonic assault in need of variety.
  17. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    Celebration Rock is a tipsy toast to the very best moments in life.
  18. Jul 31, 2012
    80
    The songs punch and swerve and sway like organic beings, structured in a way that amplifies rather than hems in emotional resonance.
  19. Magnet
    Jun 14, 2012
    70
    Midway through, it's already tiresome to hear the anthemic shouting and seemingly non-stop drum fills. It's a celebratory listen for sure, but one that could do with a breather that shows off this duo's skills. [No.88 p.58]
  20. Jun 5, 2012
    70
    Celebration Rock's high-tempo riff rock concerns itself with energy and embraces our serendipitous run-ins with those good times worth remembering.
  21. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Celebration Rock is raw frenzy, tender love, and foolish cacophony.
  22. May 30, 2012
    80
    An album wracked with spirit and a ferocious refusal to let anything slide away. Every track's an anthem; every second's precious, each breath as breathless as the last.
  23. Oct 30, 2012
    78
    Japandroids is bloated, angry, and absolute proof that the heart of rock & roll is still beating.
  24. Jul 16, 2012
    85
    It works, but it doesn't make sense, and can't be explained. It can only be heard.
  25. May 29, 2012
    80
    Celebration Rock is near-perfect in what it sets out to do: making people happy, bringing them together.
  26. Jun 7, 2012
    80
    Celebration Rock encapsulates the kind of affirmative, collective experiences that define an entire adolescence.
  27. Jun 7, 2012
    80
    Japandroids sophomore effort is loaded end to end with great songwriting and the joy they've found in their influences.
  28. May 29, 2012
    88
    An inspired, exhilarating spectacle that makes good on its gang vocals, feel-good (but not cheesy) lyrics, pleasantly muddy production, and galloping sense of self-confidence.
  29. Celebration Rock is in perpetual motion, driven by a visceral sense of urgency that most modern guitar music is so sorely lacking.
  30. [The lyrics] carry a meaning that doesn't stop when the song does.
  31. Jun 21, 2012
    88
    What makes this album so powerful and moving is the way that innocence erodes in its second half.
  32. Jun 1, 2012
    80
    Bookended by snippets of crackling fireworks, the aptly-titled 'Celebration Rock' is big on anthems, euphoria and fistpumping rock'n'roll thrills.
  33. Kind of heartwarming that it's still possible for a young band to rock out with palpable joy about the pleasures, terrors, and life lessons of the road.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 92
  2. Negative: 2 out of 92
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    This album is in your face and straight to the point, and that's why I love it. I honestly haven't listened to a rock album that I've enjoyedThis album is in your face and straight to the point, and that's why I love it. I honestly haven't listened to a rock album that I've enjoyed as much as this one in a long time. Every song on this eight track album is awesome, and I highly recommend it to any fan of indie rock or just good music in general. Definitely going to be in my top 5 albums of 2012. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I haven't enjoyed or connected with an album as much as I have with this one in 10 years. It makes you feel young and alive without usingI haven't enjoyed or connected with an album as much as I have with this one in 10 years. It makes you feel young and alive without using cheap tricks, the raw yet not messy riffs and hooks drawing you back again and again. Full Review »
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Lush, vibrant guitars and brilliant drumming headline the Japandroids' "Celebration Rock". And believe me, it's just that - a celebration. ILush, vibrant guitars and brilliant drumming headline the Japandroids' "Celebration Rock". And believe me, it's just that - a celebration. I can't remember the last time a rock album hit me this hard and had me cheering and dancing this much. There's potential for this is to be one of the all-timers. Full Review »