• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Sep 4, 2012
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 100
  2. Negative: 8 out of 100

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    I love this band and even though their more experimental stuff can be hard to listen to, I still appreciate most of their music for its innovation and originality. With this album, you can strip away all the noises and gunk that soak the songs and find yourself with an unimpressive foundation. Most of the songs have somewhat interesting sonic ideas, but these ideas never go anywhere. TheI love this band and even though their more experimental stuff can be hard to listen to, I still appreciate most of their music for its innovation and originality. With this album, you can strip away all the noises and gunk that soak the songs and find yourself with an unimpressive foundation. Most of the songs have somewhat interesting sonic ideas, but these ideas never go anywhere. The first song, moonjock, for instance starts off with a jolting beat that gets you excited to hear it and then the song just overwhelms itself with too many sounds that it becomes musical mush. its like wanting to have a smoothie and adding every fruit in existence into it and while it may seem good, when you're done making it you're just left with a smoothie that has too much in it and its not enjoyable at all. I think animal collective should go back to making strawberry banana smoothies. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    5
    I want to partially agree with indiekid on this. There is a LOT of unnecessary sounds enveloping this whole thing and when stripped away some of the songs aren't left with much. There are also a decent number of songs where the sound effects actually take away from the song. (Ex: 'Moonjock' with those horrible internet radio noises on the chorus and all over the song in general). MyI want to partially agree with indiekid on this. There is a LOT of unnecessary sounds enveloping this whole thing and when stripped away some of the songs aren't left with much. There are also a decent number of songs where the sound effects actually take away from the song. (Ex: 'Moonjock' with those horrible internet radio noises on the chorus and all over the song in general). My biggest gripe is the production/mastering. It is just awful. Compared to their previous sonic outings this thing sounds like it's in mono. Just totally flat and 2d sounding. Everything is all shoved together and instruments and tracks don't have space to really breathe. For instance, 'New Town Burnout' could have been IMMENSE given the right touch. Same thing with 'Father Time'. Finally, I'd like to say that it seems the lyrics to on this album are just sort of thrown together and most of them come off as contrived to me. I'm not buying it. What the hell is a 'honey can roll' anyway? or a 'bionic hee-haw'? It almost seems like this band has become a caricature of themselves. I hope they can pull it out and right this on the next one though.
    Previous points withstanding, there are still a handful of decent tracks here, hence the 5 rating. Highlights: Moonjock (if you can get past the awful sounds), Today's Supernatural, Applesauce, Monkey Riches.
    Expand
  3. Sep 7, 2012
    4
    I've been a fan of Animal Collective since the beginning, and I hate to say it, but this album was difficult to get through. Very disappointing. It's about 40% good, which I usually am fully on board with their entire albums. Let down.
  4. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    This is one of the first albums that I have been unbelievably excited for and then upon listening to it for a few weeks, took it out of my music library. I am not sure if the return of deakin screwed things up or they just were not sure where to go after MPP. It is just... not that great. The beats are more annoying than catchy and overall the album is just crowded and loud while stillThis is one of the first albums that I have been unbelievably excited for and then upon listening to it for a few weeks, took it out of my music library. I am not sure if the return of deakin screwed things up or they just were not sure where to go after MPP. It is just... not that great. The beats are more annoying than catchy and overall the album is just crowded and loud while still managing to be bland. I would rank this waaaay below MPP, SJ, Feels and ST. It was just completely uninspired. Perhaps deakin needs to be kicked to the curb or perhaps AC needs to take a good long look at where they are going. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    Animal Collective is a rock band that loves to shred their true music skin. Sure, sometimes it's been a soaring success, most notably 2009's masterpiece "Merriweather Post Pavillion", or the grotesquely colorful and loveable "Strawberry Jam". "Centipede Hz" is an album that's more electronic and more wild, however, painfully difficult to get through. It's an album that a lot of fans willAnimal Collective is a rock band that loves to shred their true music skin. Sure, sometimes it's been a soaring success, most notably 2009's masterpiece "Merriweather Post Pavillion", or the grotesquely colorful and loveable "Strawberry Jam". "Centipede Hz" is an album that's more electronic and more wild, however, painfully difficult to get through. It's an album that a lot of fans will pretend to like. I love the tracks "Applesauce", or "Today's Supernatural", but 2 out of 11 tracks is pretty disappointing. I'm sure the guys will have something different int heir next record, but Centipede Hz is a failed experiment.

    5/10
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    70
    Listening to Centipede is like going through a garage filled with clutter.
  2. 90
    Each song is impactful and memorable, with a fantastic approach to songcraft that focuses on minimal gestures, mixed with tremendous layers and layers of sounds.
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    70
    Despite their pop savvy, it's a surprisingly difficult listen. [Sep 2012, p.57]