• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Centipede Hz Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth studio album sees the return of founding member Deakin and co-producer Ben Allen.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    95
    Although the quartet might not have topped Merriweather Post Pavillion, it did the next best thing: make an album that's entirely new and just as exciting. [No.91 p.52]
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    88
    It's perhaps overly long (53 minutes) and hard to penetrate, but Animal Collective's creativity glows brighter than Ric Flair's hair.
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    80
    It's intoxicating listening that demands repeated attention. [Oct 2012, p.102]
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    74
    With Centipede Hz, Animal Collective have delivered a cluttered, abrasive album that confirms their naysayers' exaggerated perceptions of the band. But even a patchy Animal Collective album yields several exceptional songs.
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    70
    Oddly enough, the most striking part of the record may be the transitions.
  6. 63
    Recording together in a room (as opposed to assembling songs online) for the first time in years, Animal Collective also reengaged the primal aggression of its early work.
  7. 40
    While there's some interesting moments to be found here, for the most part Centipede Hz is a fatiguing experience.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    There's no other band doing this, simply. Yet another near masterpiece from these guys, let it settle in, takes a while, but a beautiful pieceThere's no other band doing this, simply. Yet another near masterpiece from these guys, let it settle in, takes a while, but a beautiful piece . They are a rarity these days. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    If you look at their back catalogue you'll know that their primary function is not to make pleasant sounding music, so that criticism doesn'tIf you look at their back catalogue you'll know that their primary function is not to make pleasant sounding music, so that criticism doesn't carry much weight. That's what most reviewers are likely to invoke, however, which serves as the unfortunate litmus betraying unfamiliarity with the group. The magic the collective holds lies not in producing music with mass appeal, but in their ability to embrace challenging sounds and combinations of sounds, an alchemy in which the individual listener also participates, and one in which animal collective and merry crew co-chart a course of mutual discovery--the final goal of which is nothing less than continually unfolding transformation.

    In that respect MMP was something of a happy accident, garnering countless unanticipated accolades. This time around, however, Animal Collective have sacrificed some of the surface appeal of that record in favor of a richly-detailed, jostling boisterousness--I get the impression that they are a touring carnival act-- that lends itself most readily to the task of repeated listens.

    Whether or not this record carries with it any ulterior meaning remains to be seen. One or two of the reviews I have read through this site have sussed something subsurface, but the mystery of its depths is far from plumbed.
    Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    First review after years of lurking. I love this album, and while I agree that it's not as immediately accessible as MPP, it is still a nearFirst review after years of lurking. I love this album, and while I agree that it's not as immediately accessible as MPP, it is still a near masterpiece in my eyes. Give this thing more than one listen, chances are that you will come to appreciate it more. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    8
    A bit harder than their previous effort. Has more in common with Strawberry Jam than Merriweather Post Pavilion. Songs on here have a vaguelyA bit harder than their previous effort. Has more in common with Strawberry Jam than Merriweather Post Pavilion. Songs on here have a vaguely brazillian sound to them and a tad more aggressiveness. Its an interesting contrast to the rather soft, wet and wavey sound of Merriwather. It kind of fits Animal collective's tradition of changing their tone and sound with each new album while still retaining their basic style of thick sonic density. However, in the end, it just does not have the same effect on me emotionally that their last four albums had on me. In my opinion, Animal Collective peaked on their last album, but if this album is any indication, their descent into mediocrity will be a slow but still rather enjoyable one. Although, maybe in the future, when they try and reinvent themselves again on their next album, they will pull out another MPP and prove they have yet to hit their real peak. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    7
    LAZARE BERMAN, PIANIST DIES AT 74 74 74, HIS ORGANS SPLAYED OVER MY WINDSHIELD LIKE A MESSY BURRITO, THE BERMAN CONSPIRACY CONTINUES, WHAT HASLAZARE BERMAN, PIANIST DIES AT 74 74 74, HIS ORGANS SPLAYED OVER MY WINDSHIELD LIKE A MESSY BURRITO, THE BERMAN CONSPIRACY CONTINUES, WHAT HAS THIS WORLD BECOME, WE ARE LIVING IN THE BERMAN DAYs Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    Centipede Hz, by comparison, feels like someone throwing a burrito on your windshield: The songs hit with a jolt, instantly splaying all theirCentipede Hz, by comparison, feels like someone throwing a burrito on your windshield: The songs hit with a jolt, instantly splaying all their ingredients before you.
    7.4/10
    Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2012
    2
    Typically half-baked dribble from one of the most overrated bands of all-time. It's a real shame that this is the kind of alternatives hipsterTypically half-baked dribble from one of the most overrated bands of all-time. It's a real shame that this is the kind of alternatives hipster culture comes up with in reaction to the Katy Perry's out there, when there are so many talented bands that never get a fair shake from Pitchfork. Collapse

See all 34 User Reviews