Centipede Hz - Animal Collective
Centipede Hz Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ninth studio album sees the return of founding member Deakin and co-producer Ben Allen.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    95
    Although the quartet might not have topped Merriweather Post Pavillion, it did the next best thing: make an album that's entirely new and just as exciting. [No.91 p.52]
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    88
    It's perhaps overly long (53 minutes) and hard to penetrate, but Animal Collective's creativity glows brighter than Ric Flair's hair.
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    80
    It's intoxicating listening that demands repeated attention. [Oct 2012, p.102]
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    74
    With Centipede Hz, Animal Collective have delivered a cluttered, abrasive album that confirms their naysayers' exaggerated perceptions of the band. But even a patchy Animal Collective album yields several exceptional songs.
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    70
    Oddly enough, the most striking part of the record may be the transitions.
  6. 63
    Recording together in a room (as opposed to assembling songs online) for the first time in years, Animal Collective also reengaged the primal aggression of its early work.
  7. 40
    While there's some interesting moments to be found here, for the most part Centipede Hz is a fatiguing experience.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    There's no other band doing this, simply. Yet another near masterpiece from these guys, let it settle in, takes a while, but a beautiful pieceThere's no other band doing this, simply. Yet another near masterpiece from these guys, let it settle in, takes a while, but a beautiful piece . They are a rarity these days. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This is hands down the best record of the year and definitely the best AC record ever made. Don't get me wrong, I love all of their music. IThis is hands down the best record of the year and definitely the best AC record ever made. Don't get me wrong, I love all of their music. I am just as much in love with Spirit and Danse as I am with Strawberry Jam and MPP. But this record is on another level. It takes the best elements from their music and combines them into one giant masterpiece. I have a genuine love for the songs on this record and I could go the rest of my life without listening to anything else. Long live Animal Collective. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    excellent album that is receiving negative reviews by folks without patience. this album certainly rewards those who are willing to reallyexcellent album that is receiving negative reviews by folks without patience. this album certainly rewards those who are willing to really listen. these songs are incredibly dense and that seems to turns some people off for some reason. i personally love that i can listen to these songs a bunch of times and keep hearing new things. this album has a sonic aesthetic all its own and while you can certainly hear influences from more traditional genres and eras of music it is all filtered through Animal Collective's unique vision of sound. this album is tough and abrasive but in all the right ways and there are some true moments of beauty throughout. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    I haven't listened to MPP, so I cannot compare to what was hallmarked as their greatest album to date. Saying that, this album was very bold &I haven't listened to MPP, so I cannot compare to what was hallmarked as their greatest album to date. Saying that, this album was very bold & out there, using a range of elements which give this album a very powerful drive. However at times it feel a little bit untidy, but nevertheless the experimentation is well played. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    It seems from the first few moments of the ambitious opening track "Moonjack" that AC is on to something great and indescribable. ThroughoutIt seems from the first few moments of the ambitious opening track "Moonjack" that AC is on to something great and indescribable. Throughout the album, these sublime moments do occur again here and there, like with the song transitions that sound like an acid-laced radio-tuning session. At the same time, the album does run a bit too long, and there are some moments here that feel unnecessary. But is still a very good album, and occasionally a great one. Not as immediately likable as MWPP, Centipede Hz grows on you after repeated listening. Standout tracks include Moonjack, New Town Burnout, Monkey Riches Expand
  6. May 31, 2013
    7
    Good album. Typical Animal Collective stuff, very experimental, full of energy, and all over the place. It is quality material but compared toGood album. Typical Animal Collective stuff, very experimental, full of energy, and all over the place. It is quality material but compared to "Merriweather Post Pavilion", it does seem to fall short. Still, a good album worth buying. Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2012
    2
    Typically half-baked dribble from one of the most overrated bands of all-time. It's a real shame that this is the kind of alternatives hipsterTypically half-baked dribble from one of the most overrated bands of all-time. It's a real shame that this is the kind of alternatives hipster culture comes up with in reaction to the Katy Perry's out there, when there are so many talented bands that never get a fair shake from Pitchfork. Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews