C'est Com...Com...Complique

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
C'est Com...Com...Complique Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The German rock group returns with original members Jean Herve Peron, Werner "Zappi" Diermaier, and Ulan Bator's Amaury Cambuzat.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. C'est Com..Com..Complique is superb, a monument that could only have been sculpted by the group's original hands.
  2. This disc has all the ingredients that made Faust the force it once was, plowing headlong through rock establishment and leaving us to reassess the wrecked landscape.
  3. C'est Com...Com...Complique is better than anything Faust have issued since 1999's Ravvivando - which is saying plenty - writing another elliptical chapter in one of the most fascinating sagas in the history of rock.
  4. Faust continues to embrace the former and remain unperturbed by the latter, displaying the same youthful, brave spirit on C'est Com..Com..Complique 38 years after their self-titled debut.
  5. Considering the extent to which they seem to follow whatever musical desires grip them at the time, rather than following an overarching path, it's not much of a disappointment to suggest they haven't quite graced the heights of their best work here
  6. Q Magazine
    Since reforming in 1990, founder Jean-Herve Peron and Werner Diermaier have been prolific, touring the world and recording a series of albums that have never quite scaled the heights of those early works. Cest Com... is no exception, though it's best moments provide a showcase for Diermaier's extraordinary percussion. [May 2009, p.112]
  7. As with all well-meaning experiments, not all the alchemy is expert, but history has never seen a more satisfyingly sloppy band than Faust; the band who, after all these years, has never sold their souls.

See all 9 Critic Reviews