Channel Orange

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jul 17, 2012
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 525 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 525

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    4
    For me, the album does not evoke the same emotion as it has for the rest of the world. Before writing this review, I had listened to the album more than five times and I honestly cannot understand the complexity of this album. Of course certain songs do shine more than others such as Thinking about u and Pyramids however the rest seems like such a blur. When I read the lyrics without theFor me, the album does not evoke the same emotion as it has for the rest of the world. Before writing this review, I had listened to the album more than five times and I honestly cannot understand the complexity of this album. Of course certain songs do shine more than others such as Thinking about u and Pyramids however the rest seems like such a blur. When I read the lyrics without the accompaniment of music, I then understood the stories being told. He is more of a poet than singer. I feel as R&B has not produced amazing albums as of late, a silver lining such as Channel Orange may seem more than what it is. Favourite song: thinking about you
    Amazing concept: Pyramids Nice collaboration: Pink Matter feat. Outkast
    Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    4
    Okay, in the realm of R&B albums, this is decent. Then again, modern R&B is generally a collection of the least interesting music outside of modern country. There are a few good tracks here, but the pacing is glacial at times and while listening one is hard-pressed not to check the time remaining time not only on the album but on individual tracks. It just becomes boring and painful atOkay, in the realm of R&B albums, this is decent. Then again, modern R&B is generally a collection of the least interesting music outside of modern country. There are a few good tracks here, but the pacing is glacial at times and while listening one is hard-pressed not to check the time remaining time not only on the album but on individual tracks. It just becomes boring and painful at times. The universal critical acclaim for this album is disturbing in its uniformity. Ocean is obviously receiving points for being brave enough to reveal his sexuality just prior to releasing the album. I give him kudos for his courage, but I'm not going to bump up my rating of his album based on that. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    After listening to this (extremely lengthy) album in its entirety, one word comes to mind: overrated. While I applaud Frank for his creativity and uniqueness, his voice wears on the nerves after about 4 songs. I think he COULD be a great artist one day, but he needs to develop his vocal range. It's like Justin Timberlake in his N*Sync days--passionate, but it sounds like his balls areAfter listening to this (extremely lengthy) album in its entirety, one word comes to mind: overrated. While I applaud Frank for his creativity and uniqueness, his voice wears on the nerves after about 4 songs. I think he COULD be a great artist one day, but he needs to develop his vocal range. It's like Justin Timberlake in his N*Sync days--passionate, but it sounds like his balls are caught in a vice. If you take away all the hype surrounding his sexual orientation and Odd Future affiliation, you're left with a mediocre album full of head-scratching lyrics and concepts. Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    All of these new R&B artists don't have the same soul feeling like early Stevie Wonder or Anita Baker. None of them have any stand out hits . I feel a certain weakness in their R&B where there should be solid hits. I have a yearning to want to like this music, but they are coming up just a bit short. Sorry...
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    The hype surrounding this album is ridiculous. A mediocre R&B album that probably would have went unnoticed if it weren't for the artist recently being in the headlines.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Sumptuous and sprawling, his major label debut comfortably backs up the hype. [Oct 2012, p.86]
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    While Ocean's artistic ambition is impressive, it's his haunting candour that really casts a spell. [Sep 2012, p.106]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    [A] rich and complex album. [Sep 2012, p.95]