Channel Orange - Frank Ocean
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 418 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 418

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    3
    Incredibly overrated. Every song seems awkwardly paced to me, and the actual composition is very unimpressive. I like the mood that he invokes, but that's about it. The lyrics aren't very impressive either.
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Sorry, one word: Overrated. After reading all the glowing reviews, went and listened and well, couldn't get through even one entire song without getting impatient and bored. Falsetto is nice, but regular voice very very ordinary. I love Marvin Gaye, Prince (now THERE's a voice with great falsetto also), but doesn't even come close. Which one would expect, after reading those reviews......
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    This album has to be the most overrated album in the last 5 years. The album has some bright moments (Bad Religion, Lost, Thinkin' Bout You) but overall it felt short. It's really boring half way through the album. I get what critics are saying that he's trying to tell a story, but if you're delivery is bad there's no point to keep me interested in listening further. In addition, it's way too long. His coming out definitively affects the critics score in positive way for him. I would have been routing for him if this album actually is good, but sadly it isn't. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    1
    I was severely disappointed when I listen to the album after reading the reviews for it . Critics are praising it as if it's the second coming of jesus. The album has a lot of fillers plus vocal delivery in my opinion still need a lot of work. He mumbles through the song most of the time.
  5. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    This style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyone would think so
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    4
    For me, the album does not evoke the same emotion as it has for the rest of the world. Before writing this review, I had listened to the album more than five times and I honestly cannot understand the complexity of this album. Of course certain songs do shine more than others such as Thinking about u and Pyramids however the rest seems like such a blur. When I read the lyrics without the accompaniment of music, I then understood the stories being told. He is more of a poet than singer. I feel as R&B has not produced amazing albums as of late, a silver lining such as Channel Orange may seem more than what it is. Favourite song: thinking about you
    Amazing concept: Pyramids Nice collaboration: Pink Matter feat. Outkast
    Collapse
  7. Jan 7, 2013
    4
    Okay, in the realm of R&B albums, this is decent. Then again, modern R&B is generally a collection of the least interesting music outside of modern country. There are a few good tracks here, but the pacing is glacial at times and while listening one is hard-pressed not to check the time remaining time not only on the album but on individual tracks. It just becomes boring and painful at times. The universal critical acclaim for this album is disturbing in its uniformity. Ocean is obviously receiving points for being brave enough to reveal his sexuality just prior to releasing the album. I give him kudos for his courage, but I'm not going to bump up my rating of his album based on that. Expand
  8. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    2
    This album is the most overrated album in recent memory and Frank Ocean's announcement that he had a homosexual relationship has catapulted this album into importance though it is undeserving of that attention based on its musical merit. Out of 13 actual songs, only 3 are good: "Thinkin About You", "Pyramids", and "Bad Religion". All of the remaining songs are poorly sung, and uninteresting. This album is totally riding on Frank Ocean being out(ish) and a "pioneer" in black musical personas. But this album is not strong enough to be remembered--it is a "in" thing to listen to right now and to say you like, but the lyrics are weak and the music is weak. Frank Ocean is a "single-maker" not an album maker. He should enjoy his success but redouble his efforts, because he is benefitting from public will to raise him up because of his coming out (ish) instead of the quality of his music. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Sumptuous and sprawling, his major label debut comfortably backs up the hype. [Oct 2012, p.86]
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    While Ocean's artistic ambition is impressive, it's his haunting candour that really casts a spell. [Sep 2012, p.106]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    [A] rich and complex album. [Sep 2012, p.95]