• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Jul 17, 2012
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 786 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 786

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    Pretending to be able to fully review this album in a few lines would be an insult to music as a form of art. This neo-soul, PR&B, jazz whatever album puts Frank Ocean on top of his own pyramid. Its title is a reference to grapheme–color synaesthesia, its songs are about life, religion, lust, love, sex and much more. There are so many details on this sonically unconventional andPretending to be able to fully review this album in a few lines would be an insult to music as a form of art. This neo-soul, PR&B, jazz whatever album puts Frank Ocean on top of his own pyramid. Its title is a reference to grapheme–color synaesthesia, its songs are about life, religion, lust, love, sex and much more. There are so many details on this sonically unconventional and substantial material, it’s hard to find a flaw. Perfectly mastered voice, insanely great jams and profound mind studies. It can be catchy without ever being too simple, very sentimental without manipulating. It’s a subtle movie, but unlike Life after Death, this one is closer to Kubrick more than Scorsese style. The first tracks feel almost a bit lighter than the final ones but the album is a masterpiece overall and no other artist was able to top this in 2012.

    Best track: Pyramids
    Exact Score: 9.5
    Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2015
    8
    This man is unbelievably versatile.. #OFWGKTA
  3. Jan 2, 2016
    10
    With a slither of hindsight, this is un-doubtfully, the most beautiful album of the decade thus far. Lonerism, MBDTF, and Bon Iver's Sophomore are all lurking, but to create something as masterfully written, delivered and blended to this degree is the separation point. His distinctive factor, is his literature. It's a known fact that Ocean was a songwriter long before his debut projectWith a slither of hindsight, this is un-doubtfully, the most beautiful album of the decade thus far. Lonerism, MBDTF, and Bon Iver's Sophomore are all lurking, but to create something as masterfully written, delivered and blended to this degree is the separation point. His distinctive factor, is his literature. It's a known fact that Ocean was a songwriter long before his debut project Nostalgia,Ultra (2011), penning for the likes of Justin Bieber and a variety of other pop stars, but his own ascension is a tale of confusion, frustration and denial. He wrote most of the 'concept' pieces on this album to distract himself from his faltering reality, to go to happier places, and in turn, he took us on the mystical journey too. Expand
  4. May 4, 2017
    10
    Certainly one of the best albums of the decade. Simply incredible. I would not be exaggerating if I said it was the best R & B album of the decade and probably the 2000s. It is complete in every aspect that an album needs to be. It has, moreover, a coherent and intelligible sequence between the songs, thus giving a complete and intelligent body to the disc.
    About the lyrics? "It's Frank
    Certainly one of the best albums of the decade. Simply incredible. I would not be exaggerating if I said it was the best R & B album of the decade and probably the 2000s. It is complete in every aspect that an album needs to be. It has, moreover, a coherent and intelligible sequence between the songs, thus giving a complete and intelligent body to the disc.
    About the lyrics? "It's Frank Ocean, **** That's all I can say, in short. Sharp rhymes, the lyrics with body and so deep that really touch the heart. The beats are flawless as the arrangements and everything on this album is. "Piramids" is so incredibly good that it doesn't even seem like 9 minutes. In fact, my desire to hear this song is that it never ends. "Thinkin Bout You" is impeccable, like "Sierra Leone", "Sweet Life" and "Pilot Jones", very good, very consistent. "Bad Religion" and "Pink Matter" remind me of issues related to sexuality, they touched me a lot, I was caught up in these two and, especially, "Bad Religion". "Crack Rock", "Forrest Gump", "Lost" and "Monks" are also very strong and have a contagious beat. There simply is not a "more or less" song on this album. They are all incredibly good and sensible.

    This is an album that has everything to be a great classic, just as Ocean has everything to be a great artist. I believe that this album did not reach the astronomical proportions it deserved because the industry, unfortunately, is driven to the advertisements and marketing of the great record companies. It is a shame and a great loss for the industry not to recognize this album (which deserved the Grammy Award for Album of the Year) and this incredible artist.
    Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2016
    10
    Frank Ocean has one of the most soulful albums this decade. There is an incredible amount of substance and a definite replay factor to Channel Orange. The production is insanely good, and of course he sounds great. An absolute must buy
  6. Aug 9, 2016
    9
    9.5
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  7. Aug 18, 2016
    10
    "channel ORANGE" is perfect! Frank Ocean's debut (excluding his mixtapes - by the way this mixtapes are perfect, too!) is masterpiece... A 2012's "To Pimp A Butterfly" by Kendrick Lamar, but in the styles of: R&B, neo soul, psychedelia, hip hop and electronica!
    Frank Ocean shows this album, that he's a blend of Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye (R.I.P. Marvin Gaye...) and Prince (R.I.P.
    "channel ORANGE" is perfect! Frank Ocean's debut (excluding his mixtapes - by the way this mixtapes are perfect, too!) is masterpiece... A 2012's "To Pimp A Butterfly" by Kendrick Lamar, but in the styles of: R&B, neo soul, psychedelia, hip hop and electronica!
    Frank Ocean shows this album, that he's a blend of Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye (R.I.P. Marvin Gaye...) and Prince (R.I.P. Prince...) of our years!
    This is the music that I loved! Perfect, Frank Ocean, perfect! I'm so proud of You!
    All of this "small" masterpieces are from each other!
    Thank You, Frank Ocean... Thank You!

    Finally, my score for Frank Ocean's debut album, which is called "channel ORANGE" is 10/10!

    Now, only remains to wait for "Boys Don't Cry"!!!

    Greetings!
    ~Pacaveli
    Expand
  8. May 25, 2017
    9
    Frank Oceans genius is shown off on his debut studio album "channel ORANGE". He fills the space with heartfelt ballads, and trap fueled anthems of depression and pain. Ocean is humbled and merely just consumed by his art in every track. Through his perfectionist mentality, you see he is not in the game for money or other side benefits. It is an exhausting album, but this is one of the fewFrank Oceans genius is shown off on his debut studio album "channel ORANGE". He fills the space with heartfelt ballads, and trap fueled anthems of depression and pain. Ocean is humbled and merely just consumed by his art in every track. Through his perfectionist mentality, you see he is not in the game for money or other side benefits. It is an exhausting album, but this is one of the few times you will love to be so emotionally wrung out. Expand
  9. Aug 29, 2016
    10
    God do I miss the days when Frank was not pretentious. This remains his best album to date. Best tracks off this album are Sierra Leone, Sweet Life, Pink Matter and Super Rich Kids.
  10. Sep 22, 2016
    10
    Out of 13 songs, I thoroughly enjoyed 10 of them. I also really enjoyed the skits. In an era of music where mainstream music becomes increasingly plain or god awful, Frank Ocean displays immense talent and artistic ideas. Channel Orange explores crowds of emotions and themes. I personally believe Frank Ocean puts words together in a gorgeous and passionate manner. Hats off to one of theOut of 13 songs, I thoroughly enjoyed 10 of them. I also really enjoyed the skits. In an era of music where mainstream music becomes increasingly plain or god awful, Frank Ocean displays immense talent and artistic ideas. Channel Orange explores crowds of emotions and themes. I personally believe Frank Ocean puts words together in a gorgeous and passionate manner. Hats off to one of the best albums in this decade. Expand
  11. Jan 8, 2017
    8
    His sexuality definitely contributes to this emotional piece of work. In "Thinkin' Bout You", he shows his tenderness when talking about his first love being a boy. Somehow I appreciate he tried to express love is equal in a subtle way.
  12. Jan 23, 2017
    5
    I think this album is overrated and continues to get ratings about it's smooth, lyrical R&B genius, but personally found it boring and struggled to listen to the entire album all the way through without getting anxious to try something else out.
  13. Feb 22, 2017
    10
    I am an avid music enthusiast in Chicago, and have been listening to all genres of music since I could remember. I have multiple copies of Frank Ocean’s albums along with electronic streaming access to all of them.
    This one in particular is one of my favorites.With this album being his first after a long period of time, it was well worth the wait. When first listening, I immediately fell
    I am an avid music enthusiast in Chicago, and have been listening to all genres of music since I could remember. I have multiple copies of Frank Ocean’s albums along with electronic streaming access to all of them.
    This one in particular is one of my favorites.With this album being his first after a long period of time, it was well worth the wait. When first listening, I immediately fell in love due to Ocean’s display of a story through the uniqueness of his voice and his neo-soul, jazzy sound. I noticed that the album being of the R&B, Neo-Soul genre is set up uniquely where the different tracks represent different programs as we channel-surf through Ocean’s memories. The soundtrack starts with a forty-six second intro which includes a television being turned on. A track that stood out to me was “Super Rich Kids”. This song specifically gave the album a more soothing, sunday at home feel. It will make listeners want to replay and replay until they know all of the lyrics. Although I believe this album to be Ocean’s best album, if I were to pick the song that is my least favorite, it would have to be “Thinkin Bout You”. This song does not jump out to me as an amazing song, It is slow paced and kind of boring which is, in my opinion, not the best way to start off an album. The rest of the album consists of different tempos, sounds including unique instruments and noises, and flows including fast paced and slower paced, as Frank Ocean recollects on his past up into his present.
    I recommend this album for anyone that loves great, soul touching music. If you listen to and enjoy artists such as Childish Gambino, John Mayer, and the Weeknd you will enjoy Compared to Ocean’s three other albums, this one stands out as the more unique and overall satisfying. All seventeen tracks of Channel Orange will have you asking for more and more and sad when it finally ends.
    Expand
  14. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    THIS ALBUM IS JUST AMAZING. Frank Ocean is the best male singer. I just don't have words to describe how much I love this record. His voice is so soft, the lyrics, ahhhh, I LOVE YOU FRANK.
  15. May 6, 2017
    10
    It says a lot when you wanna stay up until 4AM so that you could listen to this album and just fully experience this masterpiece. Its one of those albums that you could listen to over and over and over. One of those albums that will constantly give you that emotional satisfaction. One of those albums that you will come back to in 10 or so years. One of my favourite albums of all time.It says a lot when you wanna stay up until 4AM so that you could listen to this album and just fully experience this masterpiece. Its one of those albums that you could listen to over and over and over. One of those albums that will constantly give you that emotional satisfaction. One of those albums that you will come back to in 10 or so years. One of my favourite albums of all time. Thank you Frank for this! Expand
  16. Jul 18, 2017
    8
    great album............................................................................................................................................................
  17. Sep 12, 2017
    9
    On CO it seemed that Frank sticked to an alternative R&B style, using synths, basses and some particular programmed beats, it made a remarkable record with slow beat and ambient synth songs but also keeping a fresh touch wich includes some jazzy, funk influenced sounds to some of its songs. Listening to the lyrics, its obvious that there is a heavy story telling songwriting that are notOn CO it seemed that Frank sticked to an alternative R&B style, using synths, basses and some particular programmed beats, it made a remarkable record with slow beat and ambient synth songs but also keeping a fresh touch wich includes some jazzy, funk influenced sounds to some of its songs. Listening to the lyrics, its obvious that there is a heavy story telling songwriting that are not necessarily experiences lived by Frank and although some topics are similar in his songs, each story doesnt seem to be related. The fact that the instrumentals create a dynamic R&B urban record, ficticious stories are something interesting for the listener. Lyrics words are in some way related to hip hop backgrounds which make obvious that this record is a modern R&B record.
    Although the record is aimed for pop music because some songs have a love atmosphere, they talk about quite different stuff. Frank sticked to a conservative vocal approach, but in an epic way, the quality of the vocals have the same effort than the instrumentals.
    Never thought of a mostly slow paced album that could be an enjoyable summer album. This album is an example of vocal, production and songwriting quality.
    Favorite songs: Thinking bout you, Sweet life, Crack rock, Pyramids, Pink Matter, Forrest Gump.

    Based on the 1 month writing process that Frank and Ho had and that all songs were single worthy songs (liked all songs) and the different styles that the record treats, I would give it a 95
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Uncut
    Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Sumptuous and sprawling, his major label debut comfortably backs up the hype. [Oct 2012, p.86]
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 20, 2012
    80
    While Ocean's artistic ambition is impressive, it's his haunting candour that really casts a spell. [Sep 2012, p.106]
  3. Mojo
    Aug 8, 2012
    80
    [A] rich and complex album. [Sep 2012, p.95]