• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Channel Orange Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 830 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Love and life in Los Angeles is the theme of the debut release on Def Jam for Frank Ocean, who earlier this month posted online the liner notes for this album describing a relationship he had with a man.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    100
    In throwing his emotional locker wide open, Frank Ocean has made a tender, engrossing classic.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    100
    For now, the best tribute you can pay Channel Orange is that, while it plays, you forget about the chatter and just luxuriate in a wildly original talent.
  3. The musical craft on this almost sampleless album is so even-keeled that there's no song here as forgettable as "There Will Be Tears" or "Dust" either.
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    89
    It's a headphone masterpiece that bangs on shelf speakers.
  5. 83
    Ocean is less concerned with urban realism than with his own '80s-noir fantasy of what the city's like, and his music captures that vibe perfectly, pulsing with electro-soul grooves, vintage jazz-funk.
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    channel ORANGE is filled with brave music.
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Despite its faults, Channel ORANGE still marks Frank Ocean out as an intriguing and exciting artist. It's a contradiction in many ways: a far-from-perfect album that suggests a long and prosperous career; an artist without an exceptional voice who looks like he will instead become an exceptional voice.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 120
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    one word...beautiful.
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    brings peace. Beautiful composition. This is a classic that I recently discovered after going on odd future' website and downloadingbrings peace. Beautiful composition. This is a classic that I recently discovered after going on odd future' website and downloading nostalgia/Ultra. Very strong debut from Ocean and I expect more great things from him in the hopefully near future. Highlights include "Thinkin Bout You", "Super Rich Kids", and "Pyramids". Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2016
    10
    Frank Ocean has one of the most soulful albums this decade. There is an incredible amount of substance and a definite replay factor to ChannelFrank Ocean has one of the most soulful albums this decade. There is an incredible amount of substance and a definite replay factor to Channel Orange. The production is insanely good, and of course he sounds great. An absolute must buy Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    The first real R&B album from a popular artist in at least 5 years. Excellent replay value and not a track worth skipping. Frank'sThe first real R&B album from a popular artist in at least 5 years. Excellent replay value and not a track worth skipping. Frank's storytelling ability in songs like Pyramids and Lost are incomparable to anybody else in music right now, and with the help of Malay, Pharell, and Tyler , Frank produces the entire album masterfully. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    This record is simultaneously incredibly fresh and nostalgic. Borrowing classic R&B elements and combining them with modern beats, great guestThis record is simultaneously incredibly fresh and nostalgic. Borrowing classic R&B elements and combining them with modern beats, great guest rap verses, and hugely innovative songwriting, Channel Orange is a GIANT step forward for frank, and also for the entire genre of 'PBR&B.' Breaking free of the traditional Odd Future niche in many places, Frank creates some truly astounding vocal and musical phrases which are complimented by dazzling production and arrangement. Mark my words: countless Frank Ocean imitators are about to start popping up in what seems to be the next hot style in Hip-Hop/R&B. Easily the freshest and most innovative album to come out so far this year, if not the decade. I honestly believe that this album may be a gamechanger in pop culture. Also, Andre 3000 spits the Verse of the century on 'Pink Matter.' The man is supernaturally talented. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    A very enjoyable listen, and gets better with repeated listens as well. Ocean's vocal resemblance to Stevie Wonder is easily dismissed, andA very enjoyable listen, and gets better with repeated listens as well. Ocean's vocal resemblance to Stevie Wonder is easily dismissed, and the production is interesting and the lyrics engrossing. Most of all, it's soulful as all get out. Don't believe the haters, this is good stuff. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    This style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyoneThis style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyone would think so Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  2. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  3. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.