Channel Orange - Frank Ocean
Channel Orange Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 432 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Love and life in Los Angeles is the theme of the debut release on Def Jam for Frank Ocean, who earlier this month posted online the liner notes for this album describing a relationship he had with a man.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    100
    In throwing his emotional locker wide open, Frank Ocean has made a tender, engrossing classic.
  2. 100
    Even though other recent interviews and richly realized tracks like those imply that Ocean's songwriting is just a vessel, his own devil is still in the details, and that's what makes his music compelling.
  3. The musical craft on this almost sampleless album is so even-keeled that there's no song here as forgettable as "There Will Be Tears" or "Dust" either.
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    89
    It's a headphone masterpiece that bangs on shelf speakers.
  5. 83
    Ocean is less concerned with urban realism than with his own '80s-noir fantasy of what the city's like, and his music captures that vibe perfectly, pulsing with electro-soul grooves, vintage jazz-funk.
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    channel ORANGE is filled with brave music.
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Despite its faults, Channel ORANGE still marks Frank Ocean out as an intriguing and exciting artist. It's a contradiction in many ways: a far-from-perfect album that suggests a long and prosperous career; an artist without an exceptional voice who looks like he will instead become an exceptional voice.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 97
  2. Negative: 7 out of 97
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    one word...beautiful.
  2. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Best album of the year So Far. The album really doesn't have a horrible song. Great all the way through, production was great and is just a masterpiece. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Frank Ocean's "Channel Orange" is a musical marvel in comparison to a majority of the music on the market these days. Each track does a excellent job of not only sounding spectacular but also portraying powerful and emotional narratives. It stands out in the modern music industry as an avant-garde collection of stories portrayed through excellent music. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Stunning. People who are giving this album less than an 8 are overlooking the genuineness of the singer and his song-writing abilities. He is a true artist that will stick around for a while. A modern day Marvin Gaye in my opinion. Collapse
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    The best albums are often born out of the struggle to overcome adversity and pain. The process of picking over, examining, and releasing demons through the medium of music mostly results in albums that are honest, unguarded, and emotionally raw - all of which makes for a bloody-good listen. While Channel Orange, the debut album by 24-year-old singer-songwriter/rapper Frank Ocean, certainly fits into this category, it is Ocean Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    You know when its three o'clock in the morning and you're at a party and most people are asleep and you're still pretty drunk and you want to listen to some late night chill music? well listen to this album. Its just a sexy album. I don't think his voice is really anything to marvel at, but he gets those falsettos very well and its hard not feeling drawn in by his tone. pink matter is so good. its the perfect sexy/hazy ballad and andre 3000 kills his verse in it. other than that, Pyramids is the centerpiece and is done so well. I love the second half of the song when it slows down. If you like slow jamz, Frank Ocean is for you Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    This style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyone would think so Expand

See all 97 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  2. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  3. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.