Channel Orange

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Channel Orange Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 733 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Love and life in Los Angeles is the theme of the debut release on Def Jam for Frank Ocean, who earlier this month posted online the liner notes for this album describing a relationship he had with a man.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    100
    In throwing his emotional locker wide open, Frank Ocean has made a tender, engrossing classic.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    100
    For now, the best tribute you can pay Channel Orange is that, while it plays, you forget about the chatter and just luxuriate in a wildly original talent.
  3. The musical craft on this almost sampleless album is so even-keeled that there's no song here as forgettable as "There Will Be Tears" or "Dust" either.
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    89
    It's a headphone masterpiece that bangs on shelf speakers.
  5. 83
    Ocean is less concerned with urban realism than with his own '80s-noir fantasy of what the city's like, and his music captures that vibe perfectly, pulsing with electro-soul grooves, vintage jazz-funk.
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    channel ORANGE is filled with brave music.
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Despite its faults, Channel ORANGE still marks Frank Ocean out as an intriguing and exciting artist. It's a contradiction in many ways: a far-from-perfect album that suggests a long and prosperous career; an artist without an exceptional voice who looks like he will instead become an exceptional voice.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 112
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    one word...beautiful.
  2. Oct 6, 2015
    10
    This album is just beautiful and relatable on so many levels. Frank Ocean is an amazing soul and while channel ORANGE can be considered "fakeThis album is just beautiful and relatable on so many levels. Frank Ocean is an amazing soul and while channel ORANGE can be considered "fake deep" or corny at some points, it still works out in the end to being one of the best debut albums I have ever had the pleasure of hearing. Would I say people overrate it because of him coming out right before the release? Yes but do I think that takes away from the music itself? Of course not. The fantastic blend of R&B, neo-soul and psychedelia production makes channel very easy listening for an album with such dark and moody themes. In short, channel ORANGE is a masterpiece of music.
    Best Songs: Pyramids, Pink Matter & Sweet Life
    10/10
    Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2016
    10
    Frank Ocean has one of the most soulful albums this decade. There is an incredible amount of substance and a definite replay factor to ChannelFrank Ocean has one of the most soulful albums this decade. There is an incredible amount of substance and a definite replay factor to Channel Orange. The production is insanely good, and of course he sounds great. An absolute must buy Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Songs on this album are like pieces of puzzle! Just like his open letter, now many hate on this guy more than ever. channel ORANGE is arguablySongs on this album are like pieces of puzzle! Just like his open letter, now many hate on this guy more than ever. channel ORANGE is arguably Album of the Year. Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This album is nothing short of amazing.
    Not immediately - it takes a while to fully appreciate.
    There are little details in the production
    This album is nothing short of amazing.
    Not immediately - it takes a while to fully appreciate.
    There are little details in the production that are almost subliminal - people talking quietly in the distance, the sound of a woman turned on, etc. These details make the music exciting and rewarding to keep coming back to.
    The style is so inventive - Ocean takes you on a journey similar to what I would think of Pink Floyd doing.
    This music makes me so thoughtful and reflective - his emotions pour out in nearly all the songs. Favorites are Lost, Bad Religion, Thinkin Bout You and Forrest Gump. The whole album, however slow, possibly cliched and wandering at times, is an emotional and enthralling journey I would recommend to anyone with an open mind. I've been listening to Channel Orange nonstop.
    Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    Demonios, la publicidad es poderosa, y aunque no soy fan de este genero, (Fan de Mr. oizo, Autechre, etc.)
    me parece un album que funciona,
    Demonios, la publicidad es poderosa, y aunque no soy fan de este genero, (Fan de Mr. oizo, Autechre, etc.)
    me parece un album que funciona, gracias a la maravillosa voz de Ocean. Tiene gran profundidad la musica, la produccion es impecable con una calidad excelente. Pero no todo es color de rosa en este disco, que a mi parecer esta un poco sobrevalorado gracias a la reciente confesion de la bisexualidad de Frank O.
    Los temas que toca son repetitivos y sus letras no tan profundas como su calificacion sugiere. El "AMOR" abarca un 90% de su album, y cansa un poco lo mismo en todas las canciones.
    Si bien no es para comprarlo, una escuchada claro que vale la pena.
    Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    This style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyoneThis style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyone would think so Expand

See all 112 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  2. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  3. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.