Channel Orange

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Channel Orange Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 741 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Love and life in Los Angeles is the theme of the debut release on Def Jam for Frank Ocean, who earlier this month posted online the liner notes for this album describing a relationship he had with a man.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    100
    In throwing his emotional locker wide open, Frank Ocean has made a tender, engrossing classic.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    100
    For now, the best tribute you can pay Channel Orange is that, while it plays, you forget about the chatter and just luxuriate in a wildly original talent.
  3. The musical craft on this almost sampleless album is so even-keeled that there's no song here as forgettable as "There Will Be Tears" or "Dust" either.
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    89
    It's a headphone masterpiece that bangs on shelf speakers.
  5. 83
    Ocean is less concerned with urban realism than with his own '80s-noir fantasy of what the city's like, and his music captures that vibe perfectly, pulsing with electro-soul grooves, vintage jazz-funk.
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    channel ORANGE is filled with brave music.
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Despite its faults, Channel ORANGE still marks Frank Ocean out as an intriguing and exciting artist. It's a contradiction in many ways: a far-from-perfect album that suggests a long and prosperous career; an artist without an exceptional voice who looks like he will instead become an exceptional voice.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 115
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    one word...beautiful.
  2. Oct 6, 2015
    10
    This album is just beautiful and relatable on so many levels. Frank Ocean is an amazing soul and while channel ORANGE can be considered "fakeThis album is just beautiful and relatable on so many levels. Frank Ocean is an amazing soul and while channel ORANGE can be considered "fake deep" or corny at some points, it still works out in the end to being one of the best debut albums I have ever had the pleasure of hearing. Would I say people overrate it because of him coming out right before the release? Yes but do I think that takes away from the music itself? Of course not. The fantastic blend of R&B, neo-soul and psychedelia production makes channel very easy listening for an album with such dark and moody themes. In short, channel ORANGE is a masterpiece of music.
    Best Songs: Pyramids, Pink Matter & Sweet Life
    10/10
    Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2016
    10
    "channel ORANGE" is perfect! Frank Ocean's debut (excluding his mixtapes - by the way this mixtapes are perfect, too!) is masterpiece... A"channel ORANGE" is perfect! Frank Ocean's debut (excluding his mixtapes - by the way this mixtapes are perfect, too!) is masterpiece... A 2012's "To Pimp A Butterfly" by Kendrick Lamar, but in the styles of: R&B, neo soul, psychedelia, hip hop and electronica!
    Frank Ocean shows this album, that he's a blend of Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye (R.I.P. Marvin Gaye...) and Prince (R.I.P. Prince...) of our years!
    This is the music that I loved! Perfect, Frank Ocean, perfect! I'm so proud of You!
    All of this "small" masterpieces are from each other!
    Thank You, Frank Ocean... Thank You!

    Finally, my score for Frank Ocean's debut album, which is called "channel ORANGE" is 10/10!

    Now, only remains to wait for "Boys Don't Cry"!!!

    Greetings!
    ~Pacaveli
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Songs on this album are like pieces of puzzle! Just like his open letter, now many hate on this guy more than ever. channel ORANGE is arguablySongs on this album are like pieces of puzzle! Just like his open letter, now many hate on this guy more than ever. channel ORANGE is arguably Album of the Year. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Definitely my album of 2012 and essential listening for anyone who is interested in hearing what R&B can be in this age where the genre hasDefinitely my album of 2012 and essential listening for anyone who is interested in hearing what R&B can be in this age where the genre has largely been condemned to the toilets of 'da club'. Reeking of poor song-writing, flooded with offensive sentiments and overproduction which is spilled over by the proverbial urinal cake of auto-tune. Instead, Frank Ocean has produced a clever and catchy album which not only showcases his impressive (and super soulful) vocal abilities but also his smart strongly metaphorical and satirical style as a lyricist. Unfortunately for me, his album was tainted by moments of self-indulgence in the form of the many 'filler' tracks amongst the 'real' songs which overstepped the line from inspired quirkiness into pretentiousness. Despite that, there are just so many fantastic tracks such as 'Lost', 'Super Rich Kids' and 'Forrest Gump', however 'Sweet Life' is the stand out track for me. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Extraordinary, layered, textured, addictive and a chocolate box who's flavours may differ but are all damned delicious. My stand out tracksExtraordinary, layered, textured, addictive and a chocolate box who's flavours may differ but are all damned delicious. My stand out tracks are Pyramids and Super Rich Kids. I'm a Whats Goin' On kinda guy and with a bit of nurturing and maturing I believe Ocean can give us all something equally as special - until then it's a 9/10 for me... Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    This style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyoneThis style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyone would think so Expand

See all 115 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  2. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  3. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.