Channel Orange

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Channel Orange Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 554 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Love and life in Los Angeles is the theme of the debut release on Def Jam for Frank Ocean, who earlier this month posted online the liner notes for this album describing a relationship he had with a man.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    100
    In throwing his emotional locker wide open, Frank Ocean has made a tender, engrossing classic.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    100
    For now, the best tribute you can pay Channel Orange is that, while it plays, you forget about the chatter and just luxuriate in a wildly original talent.
  3. The musical craft on this almost sampleless album is so even-keeled that there's no song here as forgettable as "There Will Be Tears" or "Dust" either.
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    89
    It's a headphone masterpiece that bangs on shelf speakers.
  5. 83
    Ocean is less concerned with urban realism than with his own '80s-noir fantasy of what the city's like, and his music captures that vibe perfectly, pulsing with electro-soul grooves, vintage jazz-funk.
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    channel ORANGE is filled with brave music.
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Despite its faults, Channel ORANGE still marks Frank Ocean out as an intriguing and exciting artist. It's a contradiction in many ways: a far-from-perfect album that suggests a long and prosperous career; an artist without an exceptional voice who looks like he will instead become an exceptional voice.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 108
  2. Negative: 7 out of 108
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    one word...beautiful.
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Definitely a masterpiece. It is one of the best albums I've heard in my life. While it begins in a simple, as the songs go by, it graduallyDefinitely a masterpiece. It is one of the best albums I've heard in my life. While it begins in a simple, as the songs go by, it gradually becomes more complex. Frank Ocean knows how to make you addicted to him music, knows how to make a perfect album from start to finish Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Best album of 2012. And probably one of the best albums of all time. Really! It's amazing. Frank's style is amazing. The beats are awesome,Best album of 2012. And probably one of the best albums of all time. Really! It's amazing. Frank's style is amazing. The beats are awesome, the lyrics is very smart. This album takes you to California, Los Angeles. While you're listening to the album there are no clouds in the sky. And you're sitting on a chair on the street and... just enjoying the flaming sun.

    And it has a very original and creative thing. This album is a channel. He is changing channels all the time and... he can't find a channel where he isn't there.

    He did this thing in his mixtape too. In '2011' with "nostalgia,ULTRA."

    He is talking a lot about his past too.

    In "Thinikn' Bout You' he admitted the he has fall in love once with a guy when he was 19.

    And there's an epic 10 minute song too. "Pyramids" That song is amazing! One of the best lyrics that I've ever heard. It's separated for two parts. And between them there are sounds that helps the first part fade into the second.

    The lyrics are describing the place and the situation where Frank is. It's beautiful.

    It takes you to Egypt.. and to a strip club called "The Pyramid" in the middle of the desert.

    And the word "Pyramid" has a lot of meanings too.

    This is an amazing R&B/Neo Soul album.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    The perfect continuation to Nostalgia, ultra.

    It is a long, epic album, to consume as a whole, and with very simple compositions - the last
    The perfect continuation to Nostalgia, ultra.

    It is a long, epic album, to consume as a whole, and with very simple compositions - the last hidden song is just a lounging nice final- and with really introspective lyrics.
    Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    The best albums are often born out of the struggle to overcome adversity and pain. The process of picking over, examining, and releasingThe best albums are often born out of the struggle to overcome adversity and pain. The process of picking over, examining, and releasing demons through the medium of music mostly results in albums that are honest, unguarded, and emotionally raw - all of which makes for a bloody-good listen. While Channel Orange, the debut album by 24-year-old singer-songwriter/rapper Frank Ocean, certainly fits into this category, it is Ocean Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    You know when its three o'clock in the morning and you're at a party and most people are asleep and you're still pretty drunk and you want toYou know when its three o'clock in the morning and you're at a party and most people are asleep and you're still pretty drunk and you want to listen to some late night chill music? well listen to this album. Its just a sexy album. I don't think his voice is really anything to marvel at, but he gets those falsettos very well and its hard not feeling drawn in by his tone. pink matter is so good. its the perfect sexy/hazy ballad and andre 3000 kills his verse in it. other than that, Pyramids is the centerpiece and is done so well. I love the second half of the song when it slows down. If you like slow jamz, Frank Ocean is for you Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    This style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyoneThis style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyone would think so Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2012 Image
    Published: January 8, 2013
    After weeks of voting, we finally have the results of our annual poll. Find out which movies, games, TV shows, albums, and songs ranked among our users' favorites (as well as the most overrated) of 2012.
  2. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  3. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.