Chaos And Creation In The Backyard

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2005
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Never in his career has McCartney seemed more serious in tone and more aware of the play of his lyrics as poetry.
  2. The result is that most rarefied of things, a Paul album with no throwaways.
  3. Uncut
    90
    These are McCartney's most arresting songs for a long, long while. [Oct 2005, p.94]
  4. The quiet nature of Chaos and Creation may mean that some listeners will pass it over quickly, since it's a grower, but spend some time with the record and becomes clear that McCartney is far from spent as either a songwriter or record-maker.
  5. For all the nods to the past, not a note of Chaos and Creation in the Back Yard comes close to Beatle standards: it's an intriguing diversion rather than a major addition to the canon. What it has is a sense of purpose, lovely tunes in abundance, and charm.
  6. The New York Times
    80
    Sir Paul has always been an instinctive songwriter, and he sounds as surprised by these songs as his listeners may be. [12 Sep 2005]
  7. Chaos and Creation in the Backyard is the freshest-sounding McCartney album in years.
  8. Far and away the most solid record he's delivered since the mid-'70s.
  9. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    There's no question that in places, it's a tad too twee. But what we're hearing is an artist honestly following his muse--always a compelling event. [16 Sep 2005, p.84]
  10. Los Angeles Times
    75
    This is the intimate McCartney in the vein of his 1970 solo debut or "London Town," and the comfort allowed him to be as unguarded as he's ever been. [4 Sep 2005]
  11. Billboard
    70
    McCartney continues to surprise, opening this set with four of his best songs in ages. [17 Sep 2005]
  12. No one was expecting Godrich to turn this noble British pop institution into Radiohead, of course. But the glimpses of greatness are enough to leave you wishing that bottle had prevailed and more in the vein of "Too Much Rain" had resulted.
  13. Mojo
    70
    After the laboured Driving Rain, a welcome return of that definitive, love-it-or-hate-it McCartney effortlessness. [Oct 2005, p.98]
  14. Q Magazine
    70
    He's found some endearing and unexpectedly affecting songs. [Oct 2005, p.120]
  15. Paste Magazine
    70
    One can't help but miss the days when his buoyancy sounded less strained. [Dec 2005, p.116]
  16. Even though he didn't use Godrich's elegant landscaping to its full advantage, we'll still listen to what this man has to say.
  17. A sturdy if frustrating effort that exceeds and disappoints expectations all at once.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 167
  1. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    I'm a big McCartney fan but that said, rate this as one of his very best solo albums. A little downbeat at times, but much of his best workI'm a big McCartney fan but that said, rate this as one of his very best solo albums. A little downbeat at times, but much of his best work is, this album really displays the brilliance of his song-writing. Although some of his more recent albums have been inconsistent, this one isn't and deserves more acclaim than it received. The reason for this is more than likely simply due to the quality of his back catalogue and the fact that Paul McCartney writing great songs was no longer news in 2005. Full Review »
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I have a big Paul McCartney fan since my childhood. My one problem with McCartney over the years is his inconsistency. I actually understandI have a big Paul McCartney fan since my childhood. My one problem with McCartney over the years is his inconsistency. I actually understand and accept this part of his talent. after all McCartney is not afraid to experiment and try new things. This album however is special. There are no throw aways here. The acoustic music is almost exclusively played by McCartney. The songs are honest and seem to look back on his life. I am actually reminded a bit of Loudon Wainwright III throughout this amazing album. This album is more enjoyable with each listen and always sounds good with a glass of wine or a pint or two of your favorite brew. Reflective, honest and very listenable. Simple excellent. Full Review »
  3. GünterS.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Sorry, only 9, but I first heard "memory almost full" ...