Chaos And Creation In The Backyard

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2005
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 234

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeR
    Sep 15, 2005
    5
    After the Beatles broke-up, McCartney has made only two solid albums that still hold up years later: "Band On The Run" and "Run Devil Run." They're good start-to-finish. The rest of McCartney's albums have at best a few good tracks, but are mostly mediocre. The same can be said of "Chaos and Creation..." The production is excellent, thanks to Nigel Godrich, and this is arguably After the Beatles broke-up, McCartney has made only two solid albums that still hold up years later: "Band On The Run" and "Run Devil Run." They're good start-to-finish. The rest of McCartney's albums have at best a few good tracks, but are mostly mediocre. The same can be said of "Chaos and Creation..." The production is excellent, thanks to Nigel Godrich, and this is arguably the best production ever to grace a McCartney record, but the songs vary in quality. The three best tracks are 'Fine Line' (the single), 'Jenny Wren,' and the hidden bonus track, and songs like 'Riding To Vanity Fair' and 'Too Much Rain' aren't bad, but a bunch of the songs are plain boring melodically speaking, and the lyrics get even worse. McCartney's trying, but a few songs are plain sappy. I have no problem with artists writing love songs to their spouses, but a few of these sound like Hallmark greeting cards. If you think 'Silly Love Songs' was a bad song with a great bassline, don't buy the CD, just buy a few tracks from iTunes. If you're a baby boomer who thinks 'Silly Love Songs' was a great song and you love the sound of Radiohead, by all means by this CD. Expand
  2. DaleK
    Oct 14, 2005
    5
    Am I the only one to tell the emperor has no clothes? One song (Fine Line) does not an album make. Most sungs are sung in Paul's "gloomy gus" voice. Too much melancholy for this chap. Where are the upbeat, happy songs with energy and spark? Not on Chaos. Put on Press to Play if you want some of the old vim and vigor from sir Paul!
  3. ScottY
    Oct 31, 2005
    4
    A real disappointment. The first song starts off strong and there's a catchy one towards the end and the rest is just dull. His last decent album was Flaming Pie, and the collaborations he had on that just bury the by-himself-except-for-the-string-section attitude on this one.
  4. ChrisG
    Sep 16, 2005
    6
    Aknowledging his leanings - "so twee, so me" as he does here does necessarily make it any easier to take. In moderation its ok but needs offseting by something harder, a traditional Macca strength. For every Michelle there was a Paperback Writer; for every Bluebird a Jet. Where are the jailer man and sailor Sam when I need them?
  5. TomF
    Sep 28, 2005
    4
    The tank is empty. It's the same thing each time since Tug Of War, but it gets more watered down with each new incarnation. I don't get the big deal about Nigel Godrich's production either. Sounds like Paul remixed it when he wasn't looking. I love the man, but I have to say, this is disappointing after all the hype.
  6. GregK
    Sep 18, 2005
    6
    This album is inconsequential at best. Sure it is not as bad as we have come to expect from McCartney, but that's really not high praise.
  7. Matt
    Sep 29, 2005
    5
    I really wanted to like it - I'm a huge Beatles fan - but it just sounds old instead of wise or mature.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The quiet nature of Chaos and Creation may mean that some listeners will pass it over quickly, since it's a grower, but spend some time with the record and becomes clear that McCartney is far from spent as either a songwriter or record-maker.
  2. Billboard
    70
    McCartney continues to surprise, opening this set with four of his best songs in ages. [17 Sep 2005]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    There's no question that in places, it's a tad too twee. But what we're hearing is an artist honestly following his muse--always a compelling event. [16 Sep 2005, p.84]