Chaos And Creation In The Backyard

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2005
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 232

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. idigworms
    Sep 12, 2005
    10
    His best in a long while.
  2. RichardL
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    Fantastic!!!!
  3. SteveP
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    This is no longer McCartney the lovable moptop; this is music of complexity and depth. But it's also virtuosic -- by now everybody must know Macca plays most of the instruments himself -- and fun to listen to, with plenty of catchy hooks. But even better, it grows on you with repeated listenings. This is McCartney at his best -- and that's pretty damned good!
  4. marcor
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    one of his best
  5. Rev.Rikard
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    This album is a journey back in time, revisiting the melodic versatility always present in McCartney, yet the relevancy of the lyrics makes it an interesting piece of work. Just how many melodies can one man birth from his creative spirit? McCartney continues to earn genuine awe from the rock community for the breadth of his songwriting talent, clearly displayed on the album. I can only This album is a journey back in time, revisiting the melodic versatility always present in McCartney, yet the relevancy of the lyrics makes it an interesting piece of work. Just how many melodies can one man birth from his creative spirit? McCartney continues to earn genuine awe from the rock community for the breadth of his songwriting talent, clearly displayed on the album. I can only wonder what he will create "when he's 64!" Expand
  6. GerryP
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    This is the first McCartney album I've bought in years. I was expecting to be disappointed, and the first time I listened I was. However, I played it a few times more, and I'm now in love with it. I didn't think McCartney was capable of producing something with the edge this album has. His voice has aged, but not necessarily for the worse, and it is well matched to material This is the first McCartney album I've bought in years. I was expecting to be disappointed, and the first time I listened I was. However, I played it a few times more, and I'm now in love with it. I didn't think McCartney was capable of producing something with the edge this album has. His voice has aged, but not necessarily for the worse, and it is well matched to material he has produced. Genuine emotion, little filler, fine composition and arrangements, and proof that he's a gifted musician. My only complaint is that there are no out and out rockers. Expand
  7. radar
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This is Quality! Listen, for god's sake! RollingStone, and other reviewers, really show their ignorance when they rate Stones' poor honkytonkish "a bigger bang" higher than this masterpiece from Paul. Something wrong with your ears? F***ing ignorants!
  8. willo
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    best cd he wrote paul ur my hearo and i hope u come to buffalo so i can see case im to lasy to go any where i love and we all miss john and goerage. keep writing, will
  9. FK
    Sep 24, 2005
    9
    Paul, I would
  10. garye
    Sep 20, 2005
    8
    It grows on you -
  11. danield
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    this is one of pauls beat albums.it ranks with band on the run,tug of war and flaming pie.even though it is short on rock and roll , the songs are so beautfiul all is forgiven,best tarcks are "at the mercy","how kind of you' and :jenny wren"
  12. joed
    Jan 2, 2006
    8
    This is a very good album, with some lovely melodies. However it does get a bit boring, there isn't much variety on the album.
  13. RohitV
    May 16, 2007
    10
    This album definitely grows on you. The first time it was a little slow and easy to pass by, but there are basically no songs on here that are bad. "Riding to Vanity Fair" is just very cool and different than Macca in recent years, and this album has plenty of awesome sounding pop/rockers such as "Fine Line" and "Promise to You Girl". "Jenny Wren" shows that Paul still has amazing musical This album definitely grows on you. The first time it was a little slow and easy to pass by, but there are basically no songs on here that are bad. "Riding to Vanity Fair" is just very cool and different than Macca in recent years, and this album has plenty of awesome sounding pop/rockers such as "Fine Line" and "Promise to You Girl". "Jenny Wren" shows that Paul still has amazing musical talent with that guitar of his. And each of the rest of the tracks are equally special. There isn't much filler on this album at all. "Anyway" is an amazing ending. Expand
  14. RickG
    Oct 11, 2005
    8
    This is absolutely one of McCartney´s best albums ever and there are tracks among the best he has ever written, including the Beatles days. The album leaves a strong feeling - McCatney has returned to himself, to his soul, it seems to be a very personal, intimate album and with a tasty melancholy key ..and the sensational "This never happened before" speaks for itself. 2005´s" This is absolutely one of McCartney´s best albums ever and there are tracks among the best he has ever written, including the Beatles days. The album leaves a strong feeling - McCatney has returned to himself, to his soul, it seems to be a very personal, intimate album and with a tasty melancholy key ..and the sensational "This never happened before" speaks for itself. 2005´s" Long and Winding Road" Expand
  15. nelliea
    Nov 30, 2005
    7
    It's 's kinda classic alright! jenny wren is my fave piece ---the rests are okay! I love Mccartney's old albums and I hope next time he's gonna make another album better than this one!
  16. johng
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    this guy blows the roof off of concert buldings and he 's done the same with this cd. He rocks with more tnt than the new guys on the block !! Look out, its mcartney mania one more time!! j.g..
  17. HenkV
    Oct 30, 2005
    9
    I think this is they best album from Paul off the last years. Well done Paul. And all that in the age off 63 year.
  18. TommyL
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    This album gets better with each listen. It's beautiful. Get the special edition and watch the video disc. It's very informative and well done. Paul explains how he imagines himself as someone else as he is writing a song. Although it doesn't come out sounding like the musician he imagined, many times a song will be created in an hour or two that will be very well liked by This album gets better with each listen. It's beautiful. Get the special edition and watch the video disc. It's very informative and well done. Paul explains how he imagines himself as someone else as he is writing a song. Although it doesn't come out sounding like the musician he imagined, many times a song will be created in an hour or two that will be very well liked by many people. Expand
  19. pierreM
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Amazing album. The melodies are gorgeous, most of the songs are instant classics. The association with Goodrich may be the explanation for this..
  20. AlonD
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    Paul's best in the same vein as McCartney
  21. MaartenK
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    Great album, with a nice flow what usually lacks in Macca cd's, because there are no stinkers this time. Godrich really got the best out of this man with already an impressive list of classics on his name. Beck meets Abbey Road meets Burt Bacharach
  22. WouterD
    Sep 15, 2005
    9
    Impressive how he played everything himself. A nice cooperation between Godrich and McCartney.
  23. SimonM
    Sep 15, 2005
    9
    To me this is a very fine mccartney album and yes there are some ropey over sentemental corners, but thats what macca does. The biggest thing in this albums favour is atmosphere, this is down to some unusually introspective lyrics and unlike a lot of mccartney albums depth in the production. Moody, Twee and very he.
  24. JeroenH
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    Best since RAM
  25. duncans
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    a great album by paul mccartney! the production is spot on.
  26. MC
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    Absolutely incredible......wow, just...wow. McCartney and Godrich....who'd a thunk it
  27. AndrewMacca
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    A fantastic album! Great to hear Paul back in top form. His best work since Band on the Run. If he's not nominated for a Grammy for this one, I'll be shocked...
  28. SebastianC
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    great music, full heart, full mind
  29. JuanLuisG
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Beautiful ! It is still growing on me.
  30. JaneL
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    The best in years.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The quiet nature of Chaos and Creation may mean that some listeners will pass it over quickly, since it's a grower, but spend some time with the record and becomes clear that McCartney is far from spent as either a songwriter or record-maker.
  2. Billboard
    70
    McCartney continues to surprise, opening this set with four of his best songs in ages. [17 Sep 2005]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    There's no question that in places, it's a tad too twee. But what we're hearing is an artist honestly following his muse--always a compelling event. [16 Sep 2005, p.84]