Chaos Theory: Splinter Cell 3 [Soundtrack] Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The DJ/producer takes his jazzy, cinematic drum'n'bass beats to the videogame world, scoring the latest sequel in the Tom Clancy Splinter Cell franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. It is Amon Tobin's richest work, and incredibly aurally pleasing.
  2. In the end, it doesn't really matter that it's the soundtrack to a video game that I'll never play. It's a new Amon Tobin album (and a good one at that), and that's all I need.
  3. Chaos Theory is fiendishly dense and darkly evocative.
  4. 70
    Tobin delivers fiercely programmed, seriously dark material. [Mar 2005, p.104]
  5. As the accompaniment to game play, Chaos Theory is a standout in its field; just don't expect it to be as memorable as the typical Amon Tobin effort.
  6. 40
    It's clever and interesting, but it's hard to escape the feeling that an opportunity to expand and mutate his sound even more went partially wasted. [Apr 2005, p.104]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. KanonA
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    the most gorgeous soundtrack ever, incredibly melodic and thrilling
  2. RobertG
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Anyone who dislikes this album just dosn't have a good enough sound system.
  3. andrewj
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    pay no mind to the hater who sounds like an angry little girl and probably stays up all night listening to basement jaxx. this is an pay no mind to the hater who sounds like an angry little girl and probably stays up all night listening to basement jaxx. this is an incredible album so intricate that it goes over some heads. not for the stupid. Collapse
  4. sachinp
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    amazingly haunting and cinematic, with nods to jazz funk and prog rock. fits perfectly with the game
  5. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    I've only listened to a little of Tobin's music, but I wasn't particularly fond of. However, I adored Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory'sI've only listened to a little of Tobin's music, but I wasn't particularly fond of. However, I adored Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory's soundtrack. This album is great, but it's major flaw is that it doesn't include all of the music found in the game, and Jesper Kyd's contribution is no where to be found. What's more, each track is a condensed mixture of the three versions associated with each level of alertness (standard, suspicious, and detected). Despite this, it still makes for a good standalone album and an even more fantastic soundtrack to be heard whilst playing a magnificent stealth game. Expand
  6. BradK
    Aug 12, 2005
    9
    Hey, if you take this openly, you can like this. The goal of the noise and such is to convey a tone, and people that are immediately turned Hey, if you take this openly, you can like this. The goal of the noise and such is to convey a tone, and people that are immediately turned off to these sounds, or have never given them the chance, will never understand it. This is personally one of my favorite albums, and I'm getting the 5.1 surround DVD. Expand
  7. paolon
    Feb 22, 2005
    0
    I'm not the greatest Amon fan and I can only think of two Amon Tobin tracks that I've (sort of) liked from his past albums. That I'm not the greatest Amon fan and I can only think of two Amon Tobin tracks that I've (sort of) liked from his past albums. That being said, when I heard he was doing the music for a video game that is full of atmosphere and style I thought maybe, just maybe he was a good choice for the job. I was wrong. This soundtrack is boring and uninspired. Seems like he wanted a bit of Ubisoft cash and did the minimum to get it. Skip this. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews