• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Aug 9, 2005
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Their self-seriousness comes with a melodic tenderness that's rare in the genre. [12 Aug 2005, p.77]
  2. 60
    The real problem is sounding like Alice In Chains; afloat without a genre, the gang too often turn their emotional intelligence to making kinda dark, vaguely artistic middle metal. [Sep 2005, p.138]
  3. The mostly mid-tempo songs plod along, usually turning to a screeching lead guitar over chunky chording to differentiate the choruses.
  4. Chapter V is merely a carbon copy of, uh, chapters I-IV, simply rehashing the same punishing riffs and self-pitying lyrics.
  5. The acoustic guitars have largely been set aside on Chapter V, leaving Staind to pummel away at its troubles and hoping that people still have time to listen to self-pitying grown men moan about their dysfunctional childhoods.
  6. It's when Staind crank down the sludge and slacken the tempos that things get heavy in a bad way. [11 Aug 2005, p.72]
  7. Beyond a few faster songs ("Paper Jesus," "Falling"), the album gets lost in its own blandness. [13 Aug 2005]
  8. Overall there's just too much bland corporate sludge rock here to make any geniune lasting impression.
  9. How can this dork-metal silliness still be going on in 2005?
  10. More over-produced introspection. [6 Aug 2005, p.56]
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 47
  2. Negative: 15 out of 47
  1. MartyS
    Feb 28, 2007
    0
    I guess there's a reason why this album sounds just like their last one, because they have no talent! Look there's a good reason I guess there's a reason why this album sounds just like their last one, because they have no talent! Look there's a good reason why critics hate Staind and that's because they're a crappy band. Face it Staind is just corporate rock garbage, just like Nickelback. Look I like Alice in Chains, Nirvana, and Pearl Jam (because those bands actually had, or have talent, and because critics like them). But it seems that Grunge music and mainstream music in general has just become corrupted by bad acts like this. I really don't get how anyone could stand to listen to this. My advice to everyone is just buy C.D.'s critics give good scores, and by critics I mean allmusic.com Full Review »
  2. shinedown
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    best staind cd to date...the ppl who said that they have no talent and bad vocals are just plain retarded..aaron lewis is the best singer best staind cd to date...the ppl who said that they have no talent and bad vocals are just plain retarded..aaron lewis is the best singer along with brent smith and the whole band are good with their instruments Full Review »
  3. LukasR
    Dec 15, 2006
    7
    Some songs have been used to show a very strong image, which may be the downfall in them, making them over powered, while other songs ahieve Some songs have been used to show a very strong image, which may be the downfall in them, making them over powered, while other songs ahieve brilliance, thus i will give a 7, since there is great music on this album to be heared. Full Review »