• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Aug 9, 2005
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. The mostly mid-tempo songs plod along, usually turning to a screeching lead guitar over chunky chording to differentiate the choruses.
  2. The acoustic guitars have largely been set aside on Chapter V, leaving Staind to pummel away at its troubles and hoping that people still have time to listen to self-pitying grown men moan about their dysfunctional childhoods.
  3. Billboard
    40
    Beyond a few faster songs ("Paper Jesus," "Falling"), the album gets lost in its own blandness. [13 Aug 2005]
  4. Blender
    60
    The real problem is sounding like Alice In Chains; afloat without a genre, the gang too often turn their emotional intelligence to making kinda dark, vaguely artistic middle metal. [Sep 2005, p.138]
  5. Chapter V is merely a carbon copy of, uh, chapters I-IV, simply rehashing the same punishing riffs and self-pitying lyrics.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Their self-seriousness comes with a melodic tenderness that's rare in the genre. [12 Aug 2005, p.77]
  7. Overall there's just too much bland corporate sludge rock here to make any geniune lasting impression.
  8. New Musical Express (NME)
    30
    More over-produced introspection. [6 Aug 2005, p.56]
  9. Rolling Stone
    40
    It's when Staind crank down the sludge and slacken the tempos that things get heavy in a bad way. [11 Aug 2005, p.72]
  10. How can this dork-metal silliness still be going on in 2005?
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 74
  2. Negative: 23 out of 74
  1. Mar 26, 2016
    0
    So I was chillin' and listening to Trey Songz then out of no where I was bombarded by Nu Metal. This was a pretty weird dream I had severalSo I was chillin' and listening to Trey Songz then out of no where I was bombarded by Nu Metal. This was a pretty weird dream I had several days ago, but it made me want to start listening to more Nu Metal and unfortunately I started with this album. If you are a friends house listening to this you can do one of two things. Either Run Away or Take This album from your friend and throw it away. The music has all the terribly cliches from Nu Metal and takes it to 11. This could possibly be the most whiny album in history. Stain is the type of band to make Nickelback look like Led Zeppelin. Please, take my advise and don't listen to it. It is boring, repetitive, shallow, the music feels like it is Falling apart, and way too overly dramatic. The opening riffs of a few of the songs sound promising, but it ultimately Everything Changes to a whirlpool of headache inducing mucky growls. I really can't tell you about any high or low points in the album because everything sounds the same. Just listen to two minutes and you will have practically heard the entire album. Full Review »
  2. MartyS
    Feb 28, 2007
    0
    I guess there's a reason why this album sounds just like their last one, because they have no talent! Look there's a good reason I guess there's a reason why this album sounds just like their last one, because they have no talent! Look there's a good reason why critics hate Staind and that's because they're a crappy band. Face it Staind is just corporate rock garbage, just like Nickelback. Look I like Alice in Chains, Nirvana, and Pearl Jam (because those bands actually had, or have talent, and because critics like them). But it seems that Grunge music and mainstream music in general has just become corrupted by bad acts like this. I really don't get how anyone could stand to listen to this. My advice to everyone is just buy C.D.'s critics give good scores, and by critics I mean allmusic.com Full Review »
  3. shinedown
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    best staind cd to date...the ppl who said that they have no talent and bad vocals are just plain retarded..aaron lewis is the best singer best staind cd to date...the ppl who said that they have no talent and bad vocals are just plain retarded..aaron lewis is the best singer along with brent smith and the whole band are good with their instruments Full Review »