• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Aug 9, 2005
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 71
  2. Negative: 22 out of 71

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DevinB
    Aug 14, 2005
    0
    It's not just "critics" who have it in for awful angst-rock shlock like Staind, it's people with working brains and ears. I enjoy a wide spectrum of music, including a lot of really heavy music and difficult listening, but there is nothing to appreciate about "Chapter V," just as there was no value to this travesty-of-a-band's back catalog. Staind merely rehashes tired It's not just "critics" who have it in for awful angst-rock shlock like Staind, it's people with working brains and ears. I enjoy a wide spectrum of music, including a lot of really heavy music and difficult listening, but there is nothing to appreciate about "Chapter V," just as there was no value to this travesty-of-a-band's back catalog. Staind merely rehashes tired 4-chord progressions with little riffing or interplay between the instruments, making sure to pitch-correct vocals and homogenize guitars wherever possible. Any "rawness" might offend the sort of delicate, pathetically generic tastes of their fanbase. This is the soundtrack to brainless frat parties and high-school longing, music for lazy, bigoted 17 year-olds who wear backwards caps and think quoting Dave Chapelle is the funniest thing ever. Avoid at all costs if you have any self-respect. Expand
  2. Matt
    Aug 15, 2005
    2
    Their music was never good in the first place, and now it also sounds dated.
  3. nelsonm
    Oct 27, 2005
    0
    HAHA- Staind sucks. Really. They do. This is generic radio rock at its worst. well at least the junior high kids and people who only buy clear channel rock can cancel out my 0 with a 10. cmon people look underneath the surface....
  4. Mack
    Sep 17, 2005
    0
    Come on, how can you listen to this? I suppose fans of this album also think Nickelback are at the forefront of meaningful rock. This album is more like a parody of today's alt-metal crap. Giving this album a 0 rating is obvious once you've listened to real music.
  5. JasonS
    Aug 11, 2005
    3
    Incredibly generic. Just a bore - not awful, but it doesn't make me wanna listen again. Sounds like they tried to rock again Dysfunction style but forgot how.
  6. JoeBriefcase
    Aug 12, 2005
    1
    God this band is crappy. I borrowed it for one play from my neighbor and then angrily threw it back at him. This mixture of adult disfunction whining and tiresome anti-septic metal is not attractive guys. We all have stuff to work through, but this is not the place.
  7. matta
    Aug 15, 2005
    0
    I find it interesting that each of the three Staind albums has in between seven and ten reviews. Acutally, it makes perfect sense. This is derivative horseshit that is popular only because it targets those who are on about the same maturity level as the band members, namely highly impressionable wanne-be rebellious junior high kids who are willing to fork out $16 for this pathetic and I find it interesting that each of the three Staind albums has in between seven and ten reviews. Acutally, it makes perfect sense. This is derivative horseshit that is popular only because it targets those who are on about the same maturity level as the band members, namely highly impressionable wanne-be rebellious junior high kids who are willing to fork out $16 for this pathetic and trite teenage angst garbage. I can't stress enough how bad this stuff sucks. Believe me, crtics know what they are talking about. If you like this sort of stuff, find a friend who has good taste in music and surround yourself in whatever he listens to. Eventually you will find that what you used to like(Staind, Finch, Silverstein, and pretty much any other faux-metal, screamo band) totally sucks ass. You will thank me one day, I promise. Expand
  8. DanielP
    Aug 24, 2005
    0
    Why is it that the worst music is the most popular? Why is a band like Staind even around with their stale, annoying, melodramatic excuse for rock? There is so much good music out there, present and past, that I know even idiots who like Staind would really dig. If people just stop being lazy and buying whatever they hear on the radio, then we could make a shift back to decent music being Why is it that the worst music is the most popular? Why is a band like Staind even around with their stale, annoying, melodramatic excuse for rock? There is so much good music out there, present and past, that I know even idiots who like Staind would really dig. If people just stop being lazy and buying whatever they hear on the radio, then we could make a shift back to decent music being in the mainstream. So in conclusion, say NO to Staind, Nickelback, Linken Park, My Chemical Romance, and all those other terrible bands, and go out and find some good music. Start with the Pixies, they rock. Expand
  9. IgotagopeeP
    Feb 28, 2006
    0
    holy shit,staind sucks! wowwww they are one of the worst bands i ever heard, theyre fuckin hippies seriously i hate bands like that. they are so cheesy and have nooo talent at all
  10. KellyO
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    Am I the only one (besides E! Online) that realizes that this album is not at all different from "Break the Cycle?"
  11. LeslieS
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    Before this album was released Mike Mushok said it was "brutal" and "a lot of people are going to be surprised by this album." What a load of crap!
  12. FrankB
    Aug 12, 2005
    1
    Staind's current single is the epitome of bad modern alternative rock. It's pretentious yet meaningless, it apes tender sincerity but it's really bitter and self-pitying, it has an insipid and awkward rhyme scheme made even more mind-numbing with pre-pubescent sentiments like "I hope you're not intending, to be so condescending". It's trite, it's bland, Staind's current single is the epitome of bad modern alternative rock. It's pretentious yet meaningless, it apes tender sincerity but it's really bitter and self-pitying, it has an insipid and awkward rhyme scheme made even more mind-numbing with pre-pubescent sentiments like "I hope you're not intending, to be so condescending". It's trite, it's bland, it's familiar and admittedly a little bit catchy. It is Staind's new single, and it will be a hit with all the amorphous, brainless, soulless, drooling low-lives that are my teenage peers. Oh, and to get a better idea of how bad it is, I'm one of those people who don't mind Linkin Park's lyrics. p.s. It's still Sgt. Pepper compaired to Crossfade. Expand
  13. JimmyK
    Aug 26, 2005
    0
    Utterly embarassing and painfully transparent and insincere.
  14. Chris
    Sep 19, 2005
    0
    I HATE STAIND!!! Absolutly no musical talent what so ever, if they were never to make an album again i would be soo happy.
  15. MartyS
    Feb 28, 2007
    0
    I guess there's a reason why this album sounds just like their last one, because they have no talent! Look there's a good reason why critics hate Staind and that's because they're a crappy band. Face it Staind is just corporate rock garbage, just like Nickelback. Look I like Alice in Chains, Nirvana, and Pearl Jam (because those bands actually had, or have talent, and I guess there's a reason why this album sounds just like their last one, because they have no talent! Look there's a good reason why critics hate Staind and that's because they're a crappy band. Face it Staind is just corporate rock garbage, just like Nickelback. Look I like Alice in Chains, Nirvana, and Pearl Jam (because those bands actually had, or have talent, and because critics like them). But it seems that Grunge music and mainstream music in general has just become corrupted by bad acts like this. I really don't get how anyone could stand to listen to this. My advice to everyone is just buy C.D.'s critics give good scores, and by critics I mean allmusic.com Collapse
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Chapter V is merely a carbon copy of, uh, chapters I-IV, simply rehashing the same punishing riffs and self-pitying lyrics.
  2. It's when Staind crank down the sludge and slacken the tempos that things get heavy in a bad way. [11 Aug 2005, p.72]
  3. The acoustic guitars have largely been set aside on Chapter V, leaving Staind to pummel away at its troubles and hoping that people still have time to listen to self-pitying grown men moan about their dysfunctional childhoods.