Chapter V

  • Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Aug 9, 2005
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 73
  2. Negative: 23 out of 73

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. shinedown
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    best staind cd to date...the ppl who said that they have no talent and bad vocals are just plain retarded..aaron lewis is the best singer along with brent smith and the whole band are good with their instruments
  2. LukasR
    Dec 15, 2006
    7
    Some songs have been used to show a very strong image, which may be the downfall in them, making them over powered, while other songs ahieve brilliance, thus i will give a 7, since there is great music on this album to be heared.
  3. anon.
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    as good as break the cycle and dysfunction...staind rocks
  4. charlesl
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    one of staind's best...except paper jesus...can't stand that song...best songs are everything changes,devil, schizophrenic conversations, falling and please.
  5. JamesO
    Sep 25, 2006
    8
    I'm getting increasingly frustrated with people giving this album a 0. It is not a 0, it has got talent, the lyrics are thoughtfull, the guitaring is compossed, the song are well written, the rifts are catchy, and there are some realy Jems in this album. I'm sick of people slagging off Staind, I have over 50 Bands that I know and listen to, some alot more than others, I am I'm getting increasingly frustrated with people giving this album a 0. It is not a 0, it has got talent, the lyrics are thoughtfull, the guitaring is compossed, the song are well written, the rifts are catchy, and there are some realy Jems in this album. I'm sick of people slagging off Staind, I have over 50 Bands that I know and listen to, some alot more than others, I am extremely involved with any ROCK - METAL bands, so I know the cream from the crop. Staind have some of the best songs you can ask for, they are one of the best bands I have heard of, the vocalist is devine, his voice has a serious senceirty to it, and anyone who dissaproves of his voice seriously does not know the real meaning of rock. For people who are looking for simple rock, that is easy to pick up and listen to, an album that you can involve yourself with in seconds, this is a band for you. anyone. anyone disrespecting the lyrics, there not bad, they are INVOLVED. I think the people giving this album a 0-1 are seriously diulluded with looking for evolution that they can't apririate good and simple rock bands. That is what you are missing guys. Nickelback - good band - simple rock - just like Staind. sometimes people want to sit back and listen to some background rock, jessus, where has the simplisity gone? So I hope everyone learns a little from this, and stops slagging of simple rock. Expand
  6. GregM
    Aug 25, 2006
    9
    Critics say bland, I say the slow, meandering mid-tempo rock on this album reminds me of old, long, rocking Skinnard tunes. Good album.
  7. SimonmacVideoProducer
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    Famn Good Shit
  8. AngM
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Don't listen to it if you don't like it!
  9. hiper
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    this is the best 2005 album: reply is an present for the fans in every side of world
  10. OAKside
    Jun 12, 2006
    8
    Staind is looking tops again, great album. But Chapter V still sits Bottom 50 Worst metascores in history. Sometimes reviewers can't contain their plague, and it infects serious efforts like Chapter V. Pity.
  11. willt
    Apr 12, 2006
    7
    im pretty bloody suprised at the reviews, i thought this album was good. alright, perhaps staind lose out on the fact that aron lewis is essentialy a bald fat man singing about personal failings and issues, but the music is GOOD!!!!!!!! GOOD I TELL U!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  12. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    7
    The problem is that nothing will ever be comparable to Dysfunction or BTC. I think that this cd is missing the anger and the agnst that Aaron expresses so well. I love Staind, but they need to get the edginess back. Not a bad cd, though, just not as good as the earlier ones.
  13. calvinhobbes
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    another excellent staind cd.the people who dont like this album probably think meaningless shit like franz feredinand is good music.
  14. Mike
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    This is a great album...These guys have evolved over the years into a great band...not to be lumped in with Fred Durst's Limp "Triscuit" trendy rap metal trash..this is here to stay and rightly so...
  15. jamesd
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    awesome, pure A+ album!
  16. Jose
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    great album. Wait, let me guess, those that are dissing it are HUGE Ryan Cabrera fans
  17. davep
    Oct 15, 2005
    7
    a very good album overall not there best album but i am pleased with it
  18. iamgodb
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    fuck yall, staind is the shit
  19. tobi
    Oct 3, 2005
    8
    it's a great album, with many great songs, but the other staind albums were better
  20. jonathank
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    one of the best discs a have ever listen to
  21. JesseC
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Staind has amazed me once again. I cant believe people would actually give this album a 0. Obviously they have no musical knowledge whatsoever. As a final note, i have to say that my favorite song on the cd is Please. Props to Aaron Lewis.
  22. AnnieS
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    I just bought the cd and it is just as good if not better than all their other cds with the exception of dysfunction. The best songs are paper jesus, schizophrenic conversations, and everything changes. Staind has done it again!!!!
  23. DSomers
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    Staind just keeps getting better and better. A must have for any rock fan!!!
  24. [Anonymous]
    Aug 16, 2005
    8
    Ignore the critics if you're a fan, Staind are still going strong with elements combined from all four previous albums and some nods to Alice In Chains and possibly 3 Doors Down. The solos are mostly tiresome, but the vocals show the band is still strong in their style. An album for the fans.
  25. ChristianK
    Aug 15, 2005
    9
    Simply the best album out today... Maybe not as good as Break the Cycle, but that is not possible!
  26. TrevorM
    Aug 13, 2005
    8
    first off, if you don't like a band, don't rate the band's music. Any real staind fan will say that this album is no where near bad. Its not as catchy as BTC was, it isnt as dark as dysfunction was, its not as "happy" as 14grey was, its sorta a mix of all of them put together. my favorite song on the cd is the opener, "run away". the chorus is amazing, and i found myself first off, if you don't like a band, don't rate the band's music. Any real staind fan will say that this album is no where near bad. Its not as catchy as BTC was, it isnt as dark as dysfunction was, its not as "happy" as 14grey was, its sorta a mix of all of them put together. my favorite song on the cd is the opener, "run away". the chorus is amazing, and i found myself blasting that song over and over again in the car. its packed with an energetic guitar riff that opens the albulm so sucessfully. the cd has such variety but personally i would've liked more of the "run away" sound. No matter what you think of staind, you have to admite they are an amazing group of guys that have a talent for writing music that can make such an impact Expand
  27. JBooze
    Aug 12, 2005
    8
    The reason this band has a following and sells is because people relate to what Aaron Lewis sings about in his lyrics. The topics of the songs, if listened to, vary and it's not all "whiny rich old man" with a case of the poor me's. It's definitely worth listening to.
  28. DonH
    Aug 10, 2005
    7
    I dont know why the critics seem to hate Staind. But this is good music, minus the sexual and violent overtone that most music has become. It's not better than the 2 previous releases, but it's still better than most music that's out today. Screw the critics and give it a listen, it's worth it.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Chapter V is merely a carbon copy of, uh, chapters I-IV, simply rehashing the same punishing riffs and self-pitying lyrics.
  2. Rolling Stone
    40
    It's when Staind crank down the sludge and slacken the tempos that things get heavy in a bad way. [11 Aug 2005, p.72]
  3. The acoustic guitars have largely been set aside on Chapter V, leaving Staind to pummel away at its troubles and hoping that people still have time to listen to self-pitying grown men moan about their dysfunctional childhoods.