• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Aug 9, 2005
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 71
  2. Negative: 22 out of 71

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DevinB
    Aug 14, 2005
    0
    It's not just "critics" who have it in for awful angst-rock shlock like Staind, it's people with working brains and ears. I enjoy a wide spectrum of music, including a lot of really heavy music and difficult listening, but there is nothing to appreciate about "Chapter V," just as there was no value to this travesty-of-a-band's back catalog. Staind merely rehashes tired It's not just "critics" who have it in for awful angst-rock shlock like Staind, it's people with working brains and ears. I enjoy a wide spectrum of music, including a lot of really heavy music and difficult listening, but there is nothing to appreciate about "Chapter V," just as there was no value to this travesty-of-a-band's back catalog. Staind merely rehashes tired 4-chord progressions with little riffing or interplay between the instruments, making sure to pitch-correct vocals and homogenize guitars wherever possible. Any "rawness" might offend the sort of delicate, pathetically generic tastes of their fanbase. This is the soundtrack to brainless frat parties and high-school longing, music for lazy, bigoted 17 year-olds who wear backwards caps and think quoting Dave Chapelle is the funniest thing ever. Avoid at all costs if you have any self-respect. Expand
  2. Matt
    Aug 15, 2005
    2
    Their music was never good in the first place, and now it also sounds dated.
  3. hiper
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    this is the best 2005 album: reply is an present for the fans in every side of world
  4. NealM
    Aug 30, 2005
    5
    I give it a 5 because i am a huge staind follower and i am dedicated to them, but unfortunately this album falls short of any expectation i had.. It's just ordinary, nothing special.. Damn Staind how could you let the fans down.. it's just so plain and predictable...
  5. SimonmacVideoProducer
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    Famn Good Shit
  6. Jose
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    great album. Wait, let me guess, those that are dissing it are HUGE Ryan Cabrera fans
  7. nelsonm
    Oct 27, 2005
    0
    HAHA- Staind sucks. Really. They do. This is generic radio rock at its worst. well at least the junior high kids and people who only buy clear channel rock can cancel out my 0 with a 10. cmon people look underneath the surface....
  8. tobi
    Oct 3, 2005
    8
    it's a great album, with many great songs, but the other staind albums were better
  9. DonH
    Aug 10, 2005
    7
    I dont know why the critics seem to hate Staind. But this is good music, minus the sexual and violent overtone that most music has become. It's not better than the 2 previous releases, but it's still better than most music that's out today. Screw the critics and give it a listen, it's worth it.
  10. ChristianK
    Aug 15, 2005
    9
    Simply the best album out today... Maybe not as good as Break the Cycle, but that is not possible!
  11. AnnieS
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    I just bought the cd and it is just as good if not better than all their other cds with the exception of dysfunction. The best songs are paper jesus, schizophrenic conversations, and everything changes. Staind has done it again!!!!
  12. Mack
    Sep 17, 2005
    0
    Come on, how can you listen to this? I suppose fans of this album also think Nickelback are at the forefront of meaningful rock. This album is more like a parody of today's alt-metal crap. Giving this album a 0 rating is obvious once you've listened to real music.
  13. JesseC
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Staind has amazed me once again. I cant believe people would actually give this album a 0. Obviously they have no musical knowledge whatsoever. As a final note, i have to say that my favorite song on the cd is Please. Props to Aaron Lewis.
  14. iamgodb
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    fuck yall, staind is the shit
  15. jamesd
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    awesome, pure A+ album!
  16. davep
    Oct 15, 2005
    7
    a very good album overall not there best album but i am pleased with it
  17. JasonS
    Aug 11, 2005
    3
    Incredibly generic. Just a bore - not awful, but it doesn't make me wanna listen again. Sounds like they tried to rock again Dysfunction style but forgot how.
  18. JoeBriefcase
    Aug 12, 2005
    1
    God this band is crappy. I borrowed it for one play from my neighbor and then angrily threw it back at him. This mixture of adult disfunction whining and tiresome anti-septic metal is not attractive guys. We all have stuff to work through, but this is not the place.
  19. JBooze
    Aug 12, 2005
    8
    The reason this band has a following and sells is because people relate to what Aaron Lewis sings about in his lyrics. The topics of the songs, if listened to, vary and it's not all "whiny rich old man" with a case of the poor me's. It's definitely worth listening to.
  20. TrevorM
    Aug 13, 2005
    8
    first off, if you don't like a band, don't rate the band's music. Any real staind fan will say that this album is no where near bad. Its not as catchy as BTC was, it isnt as dark as dysfunction was, its not as "happy" as 14grey was, its sorta a mix of all of them put together. my favorite song on the cd is the opener, "run away". the chorus is amazing, and i found myself first off, if you don't like a band, don't rate the band's music. Any real staind fan will say that this album is no where near bad. Its not as catchy as BTC was, it isnt as dark as dysfunction was, its not as "happy" as 14grey was, its sorta a mix of all of them put together. my favorite song on the cd is the opener, "run away". the chorus is amazing, and i found myself blasting that song over and over again in the car. its packed with an energetic guitar riff that opens the albulm so sucessfully. the cd has such variety but personally i would've liked more of the "run away" sound. No matter what you think of staind, you have to admite they are an amazing group of guys that have a talent for writing music that can make such an impact Expand
  21. matta
    Aug 15, 2005
    0
    I find it interesting that each of the three Staind albums has in between seven and ten reviews. Acutally, it makes perfect sense. This is derivative horseshit that is popular only because it targets those who are on about the same maturity level as the band members, namely highly impressionable wanne-be rebellious junior high kids who are willing to fork out $16 for this pathetic and I find it interesting that each of the three Staind albums has in between seven and ten reviews. Acutally, it makes perfect sense. This is derivative horseshit that is popular only because it targets those who are on about the same maturity level as the band members, namely highly impressionable wanne-be rebellious junior high kids who are willing to fork out $16 for this pathetic and trite teenage angst garbage. I can't stress enough how bad this stuff sucks. Believe me, crtics know what they are talking about. If you like this sort of stuff, find a friend who has good taste in music and surround yourself in whatever he listens to. Eventually you will find that what you used to like(Staind, Finch, Silverstein, and pretty much any other faux-metal, screamo band) totally sucks ass. You will thank me one day, I promise. Expand
  22. Scorpion136
    Aug 15, 2005
    6
    I think it is good music for Staind. It is not as good as their last two albums. I think Staind needs to find a new niche, away from their self-loathing which made their other albums a hit. Aaron had done that a lil bit with 14 Shades of Grey, and had done a great job with the song Zoey. I would like to see more of that music, more variety from Staind.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Aug 16, 2005
    8
    Ignore the critics if you're a fan, Staind are still going strong with elements combined from all four previous albums and some nods to Alice In Chains and possibly 3 Doors Down. The solos are mostly tiresome, but the vocals show the band is still strong in their style. An album for the fans.
  24. DanielP
    Aug 24, 2005
    0
    Why is it that the worst music is the most popular? Why is a band like Staind even around with their stale, annoying, melodramatic excuse for rock? There is so much good music out there, present and past, that I know even idiots who like Staind would really dig. If people just stop being lazy and buying whatever they hear on the radio, then we could make a shift back to decent music being Why is it that the worst music is the most popular? Why is a band like Staind even around with their stale, annoying, melodramatic excuse for rock? There is so much good music out there, present and past, that I know even idiots who like Staind would really dig. If people just stop being lazy and buying whatever they hear on the radio, then we could make a shift back to decent music being in the mainstream. So in conclusion, say NO to Staind, Nickelback, Linken Park, My Chemical Romance, and all those other terrible bands, and go out and find some good music. Start with the Pixies, they rock. Expand
  25. chrisf
    Sep 21, 2005
    6
    not the best staind album but stil there is something about this album that i can not put it down, if there are any non-staind fans reading this review then i would reckonmend listening to 'break the cycle' or 'dysfunction'
  26. jonathank
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    one of the best discs a have ever listen to
  27. JessicaW
    Jan 1, 2006
    7
    The problem is that nothing will ever be comparable to Dysfunction or BTC. I think that this cd is missing the anger and the agnst that Aaron expresses so well. I love Staind, but they need to get the edginess back. Not a bad cd, though, just not as good as the earlier ones.
  28. LukasR
    Dec 15, 2006
    7
    Some songs have been used to show a very strong image, which may be the downfall in them, making them over powered, while other songs ahieve brilliance, thus i will give a 7, since there is great music on this album to be heared.
  29. shinedown
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    best staind cd to date...the ppl who said that they have no talent and bad vocals are just plain retarded..aaron lewis is the best singer along with brent smith and the whole band are good with their instruments
  30. AdamD
    Jan 5, 2006
    6
    eh, ive heard better (no not franz ferdinan and stuff like that), but deffinatley not bad. i really liked Everything Changes and Falling....but Paper Jesus was absolutly horrible.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Chapter V is merely a carbon copy of, uh, chapters I-IV, simply rehashing the same punishing riffs and self-pitying lyrics.
  2. It's when Staind crank down the sludge and slacken the tempos that things get heavy in a bad way. [11 Aug 2005, p.72]
  3. The acoustic guitars have largely been set aside on Chapter V, leaving Staind to pummel away at its troubles and hoping that people still have time to listen to self-pitying grown men moan about their dysfunctional childhoods.