Chapter V

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Chapter V Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The band's fifth album was produced by David Bottrill (Tool).

Top Track

Heart Attack
Turn the lights on! Oh wo-oh, oh wo-oh We share something so common Still so rare, and I'm in awe Never been here before So high, we're still... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Their self-seriousness comes with a melodic tenderness that's rare in the genre. [12 Aug 2005, p.77]
  2. The mostly mid-tempo songs plod along, usually turning to a screeching lead guitar over chunky chording to differentiate the choruses.
  3. Blender
    60
    The real problem is sounding like Alice In Chains; afloat without a genre, the gang too often turn their emotional intelligence to making kinda dark, vaguely artistic middle metal. [Sep 2005, p.138]
  4. Overall there's just too much bland corporate sludge rock here to make any geniune lasting impression.
  5. Rolling Stone
    40
    It's when Staind crank down the sludge and slacken the tempos that things get heavy in a bad way. [11 Aug 2005, p.72]
  6. Billboard
    40
    Beyond a few faster songs ("Paper Jesus," "Falling"), the album gets lost in its own blandness. [13 Aug 2005]
  7. New Musical Express (NME)
    30
    More over-produced introspection. [6 Aug 2005, p.56]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 48
  2. Negative: 16 out of 48
  1. JesseC
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Staind has amazed me once again. I cant believe people would actually give this album a 0. Obviously they have no musical knowledge Staind has amazed me once again. I cant believe people would actually give this album a 0. Obviously they have no musical knowledge whatsoever. As a final note, i have to say that my favorite song on the cd is Please. Props to Aaron Lewis. Expand
  2. calvinhobbes
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    another excellent staind cd.the people who dont like this album probably think meaningless shit like franz feredinand is good music.
  3. shinedown
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    best staind cd to date...the ppl who said that they have no talent and bad vocals are just plain retarded..aaron lewis is the best singer best staind cd to date...the ppl who said that they have no talent and bad vocals are just plain retarded..aaron lewis is the best singer along with brent smith and the whole band are good with their instruments Expand
  4. willt
    Apr 12, 2006
    7
    im pretty bloody suprised at the reviews, i thought this album was good. alright, perhaps staind lose out on the fact that aron lewis is im pretty bloody suprised at the reviews, i thought this album was good. alright, perhaps staind lose out on the fact that aron lewis is essentialy a bald fat man singing about personal failings and issues, but the music is GOOD!!!!!!!! GOOD I TELL U!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  5. Scorpion136
    Aug 15, 2005
    6
    I think it is good music for Staind. It is not as good as their last two albums. I think Staind needs to find a new niche, away from their I think it is good music for Staind. It is not as good as their last two albums. I think Staind needs to find a new niche, away from their self-loathing which made their other albums a hit. Aaron had done that a lil bit with 14 Shades of Grey, and had done a great job with the song Zoey. I would like to see more of that music, more variety from Staind. Expand
  6. DevinB
    Aug 14, 2005
    0
    It's not just "critics" who have it in for awful angst-rock shlock like Staind, it's people with working brains and ears. I enjoy a It's not just "critics" who have it in for awful angst-rock shlock like Staind, it's people with working brains and ears. I enjoy a wide spectrum of music, including a lot of really heavy music and difficult listening, but there is nothing to appreciate about "Chapter V," just as there was no value to this travesty-of-a-band's back catalog. Staind merely rehashes tired 4-chord progressions with little riffing or interplay between the instruments, making sure to pitch-correct vocals and homogenize guitars wherever possible. Any "rawness" might offend the sort of delicate, pathetically generic tastes of their fanbase. This is the soundtrack to brainless frat parties and high-school longing, music for lazy, bigoted 17 year-olds who wear backwards caps and think quoting Dave Chapelle is the funniest thing ever. Avoid at all costs if you have any self-respect. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2016
    0
    So I was chillin' and listening to Trey Songz then out of no where I was bombarded by Nu Metal. This was a pretty weird dream I had severalSo I was chillin' and listening to Trey Songz then out of no where I was bombarded by Nu Metal. This was a pretty weird dream I had several days ago, but it made me want to start listening to more Nu Metal and unfortunately I started with this album. If you are a friends house listening to this you can do one of two things. Either Run Away or Take This album from your friend and throw it away. The music has all the terribly cliches from Nu Metal and takes it to 11. This could possibly be the most whiny album in history. Stain is the type of band to make Nickelback look like Led Zeppelin. Please, take my advise and don't listen to it. It is boring, repetitive, shallow, the music feels like it is Falling apart, and way too overly dramatic. The opening riffs of a few of the songs sound promising, but it ultimately Everything Changes to a whirlpool of headache inducing mucky growls. I really can't tell you about any high or low points in the album because everything sounds the same. Just listen to two minutes and you will have practically heard the entire album. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews