• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Dec 3, 2002
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 119
  2. Negative: 34 out of 119

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. laurenf
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    propa rite gd
  2. Jason
    Dec 22, 2002
    1
    I threw the CD away the day I bought it
  3. Martijn
    Nov 24, 2003
    4
    Inspite of some great tracks, it is not what we waited for. Too much r&b and rap, too little songs that touches the heart. Exceptionts are "Through the Rain", "Bringing on the Heartbreak", and maybe "Yours". The rest are cheap "want to be hot like J-Lo" mistakes. It's sad because she can be number one and in the past she proofed to be brilliant.... We will wait for a "Musicbox" and Inspite of some great tracks, it is not what we waited for. Too much r&b and rap, too little songs that touches the heart. Exceptionts are "Through the Rain", "Bringing on the Heartbreak", and maybe "Yours". The rest are cheap "want to be hot like J-Lo" mistakes. It's sad because she can be number one and in the past she proofed to be brilliant.... We will wait for a "Musicbox" and "Daydream"... Expand
  4. NC
    Nov 21, 2005
    0
    Is this a joke?
  5. ExMariahFan
    Dec 23, 2002
    0
    If Glitter is the worst album in the history of mankind, then this is the second worst
  6. BobH
    Dec 30, 2002
    0
    I never judge an album based on its cover, but trust me, the music here is as bad as Mariah's face, both ugly and washed out
  7. polarbear
    Dec 27, 2002
    0
    somebody please stop her from bleeding our ears
  8. jeffe
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    this album is the best album ever i lisen to mariah carey all my life and she is my all time favrite singer keep it up mariah dot give up you are the best female vocalis of all time
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    This album is off the hook. Mariah's voice is so wonderful, and who cares if she sings with rappers/hip-hoppers. At least Mariah has and album or 12 albums and 1 sondtrack. What do you other people got? Nothing!!!! Mariah Rulez!!!
  10. ChrisF
    Dec 16, 2002
    9
    While Carey returns to her more traditional roots in this "comeback" album, fans will flock to get it. I personally find this album to contain Mariah at her best in some years. After a dreadful year of personal issues, she is back on track. Letting everyone see her talent range in voice soar. Even in most critics will bash these Mariah "roots," I think Mariah and herself will keep this While Carey returns to her more traditional roots in this "comeback" album, fans will flock to get it. I personally find this album to contain Mariah at her best in some years. After a dreadful year of personal issues, she is back on track. Letting everyone see her talent range in voice soar. Even in most critics will bash these Mariah "roots," I think Mariah and herself will keep this album on the top of the charts until the next one hits. Mariah is not singing for her critics but rather for thearpy and dedicated fans. She IS back. Expand
  11. MelissaA
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    I think this is mariahs best album ever. Her voice will never change no matter what occurs. She is an inspirations to millions and my idol. We love you mariah
  12. NickG
    Apr 2, 2004
    9
    I thought it was failry solid, but it didn't have many bouncy tracks (with the exception of Irresistable) like her previous albums (from Glitter all the way back to Emotions). I like her fuller voice too. I felt Glitter was stronger. But I still love the album becuase of its diversity. Subtle Invitation and Bringin on the Heartbreak were great additions. As was the remix of Through I thought it was failry solid, but it didn't have many bouncy tracks (with the exception of Irresistable) like her previous albums (from Glitter all the way back to Emotions). I like her fuller voice too. I felt Glitter was stronger. But I still love the album becuase of its diversity. Subtle Invitation and Bringin on the Heartbreak were great additions. As was the remix of Through the Rain. Expand
  13. MichaelK
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    After Glitter, nothing more can be worst, but seriously this was an amazing album.
  14. RafaelS
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    As Mariah Carey was knows as the best-selling female artist in the 90s (and probably in history), she tries to come back with songs written in what was, her worst year (jul. 2001-jul.2002). And the results weren't bad. "Through The Rain" was a wise choice for a lead single, but the release of the single, months after its first radio appearence, was the worst decision ever in her As Mariah Carey was knows as the best-selling female artist in the 90s (and probably in history), she tries to come back with songs written in what was, her worst year (jul. 2001-jul.2002). And the results weren't bad. "Through The Rain" was a wise choice for a lead single, but the release of the single, months after its first radio appearence, was the worst decision ever in her career. But we can see a mature Mariah in this album, with songs about heartbreaks and hope (except for the "I want a man" songs, like Boy and Irresistble). "Bringin' On The Heartbreak was maybe her best cover song, and I really think nobody could change a rock song and turn it into the most emotional ballad ever, except for Mariah's talent. People need to take this bad impression they have onf Mariah and try to give her a chance. She's not the same oman she was in 1990, and she's definately NOT the woman she was in 2000-2001. Expand
  15. MariçtiU
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Really great CD, Congratulations.
  16. MariVo
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    This album rocks! She put the last year of her life into it and it pays of with inspiring music. Bringing on the Heartbreak is going to be her 16th #1 hit!
  17. Loki
    Dec 24, 2002
    0
    hey vanilla ice, i guess somebody made an album soo bad that made your's look good
  18. MissThing
    Dec 28, 2002
    0
    Mariah darling, please go back to your roots and make beautiful music; don't try to put as many breathy notes in a track as possible - it gets kinda boring. Ans sweety, darling...please put on some clothes. You look like Christina Aguilera and you've got more style than that... (although atmittedly, Christina's latest album is absolutely wonderful and everything your album Mariah darling, please go back to your roots and make beautiful music; don't try to put as many breathy notes in a track as possible - it gets kinda boring. Ans sweety, darling...please put on some clothes. You look like Christina Aguilera and you've got more style than that... (although atmittedly, Christina's latest album is absolutely wonderful and everything your album is not). And please, PLEASE: no more silly songs like :Through The Rain. Extremely pathetic, especially in combination with the heart-wrenching video! Cut the crap and start making great songs... Expand
  19. EchoD
    Dec 24, 2002
    0
    I liked one of her songs 10 years ago. You know, the one she didn't write, the one she just sang on. She's a one-hit-wonder with a killer bootie that is only parallelled by J-Lo's. Well, now her bootie is losing shape and her songs haven't taken shape in the last ten years. Ghetto-Blasters and Club-Mixers can't save Mariah "Britney caused me to breakdown" Carey. I liked one of her songs 10 years ago. You know, the one she didn't write, the one she just sang on. She's a one-hit-wonder with a killer bootie that is only parallelled by J-Lo's. Well, now her bootie is losing shape and her songs haven't taken shape in the last ten years. Ghetto-Blasters and Club-Mixers can't save Mariah "Britney caused me to breakdown" Carey. Oh well. I tried to like one song, but then she started singing and created a pathetic distance from the music. Reminds me of Eddie Van Halen's solos. Yeah, the ability is there, but there is no creativity. I love high-pitched singing, but not when it's all you've got left. Expand
  20. MISSLADY
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    THIS CD WAS OBVIOUSLY ABOUT ACTUAL EXPERIENCES AND I LIKE THE WAY SHE KEPT IT REAL!
  21. mystikal..
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    excellent
  22. KimberlyN
    May 20, 2003
    10
    The entire album is generally very likeable, "Charmbracelet" is just as great as "Butterfly" and "Daydream". Well done Mariah!!
  23. bangmanbm
    Dec 30, 2002
    0
    This album sucks
  24. FredO
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    Listening to this album is an electrifying experience... Mariah's new material is indeed great... there is the insprirational "Through The Rain", already riding high on the airwaves, the beautiful ballad "Yours", Gospel-Inspired "My Saving Grace", the uptempo urban sounding "The One", one of the most powerful ballad covers she has done in recent years "Bringing On The Heartbreak", a Listening to this album is an electrifying experience... Mariah's new material is indeed great... there is the insprirational "Through The Rain", already riding high on the airwaves, the beautiful ballad "Yours", Gospel-Inspired "My Saving Grace", the uptempo urban sounding "The One", one of the most powerful ballad covers she has done in recent years "Bringing On The Heartbreak", a very catchy "Irresistable" and the jazzy "Subtle Invitation"... We also see Mariah's lyrical improvements in songs like "Sunflowers For Alfred Roy" and Clown... On the whole a great album that transcends us back to the Butterfly era... A widely anticipated comeback by one of the greatest divas ever in history... Expand
  25. john
    Oct 21, 2003
    0
    This cd took away over 64 minutes of my life and I want it back.
  26. JenniferV
    Dec 25, 2002
    10
    I love it!!!
  27. SeadB
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Actually this is an suprisingly good album!Probably Mariah's best! It's restrained and relaxed! Songs like Clown (about Eminem) and My Saving Grace blew me away!! It's full of hits but the tempo is pretty slow and it shows Mariah in a comfortable envirement!! Definetly recomending this one!!
  28. AM
    Mar 4, 2003
    10
    Mariah Is the BEST OF THE BEST! BECAUSE OF EVERYTHING HER BODY HER VOICE EVERYTHING!
  29. KenW
    Dec 23, 2002
    8
    Leave Mariah alone.
  30. sauvagetsteve
    Jan 18, 2003
    8
    It's not the best album of mariah carey but you have to listen it several times to like it. What does people want ? I think that bad critics about charmbracelet comes from people who likes jlo or others rnb pop stars and they don't support that mariah is the best, byyyyyyyyye !
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. While fans of her early-'90s material will find much to embrace here, those that rallied 'round the singer during her hip-hop days may feel lost and abandoned.
  2. Her voice is damaged, and there's not a moment where it sounds strong or inviting. That alone would be disturbing, but since the songs are formless and the production bland -- another reason why the hip-hop announces itself, even though it's nowhere near as pronounced as it has been since Butterfly -- her tired voice becomes the only thing to concentrate on, and it's a sad, ugly thing, making an album that would merely have been her worst into something tragic.
  3. A step ahead of the J-Los of the world; a step behind what may prove to be a career pinnacle.