• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Charmbracelet Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After proving that all that Glitters is not gold, can the best-selling female artist of the 1990s manage a hit in the 21st century?

Top Track

Through The Rain
When you are caught in the rain With nowere to run When you're distraught And in pain, without anyone and you feel so far away That you just can't... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. An inspired and diverse 15-song opus.
  2. Vibe
    70
    Classic Mariah--for better or worse. [Feb 2003, p.137]
  3. While fans of her early-'90s material will find much to embrace here, those that rallied 'round the singer during her hip-hop days may feel lost and abandoned.
  4. Thankfully, there are a few genuinely affecting moments.
  5. Carey's once glorious voice is all over the place, her rainbow-and-stars lyrics come off like the notebook doodles of a 12-year-old girl, and her song selection is shocking.
  6. Her voice is damaged, and there's not a moment where it sounds strong or inviting. That alone would be disturbing, but since the songs are formless and the production bland -- another reason why the hip-hop announces itself, even though it's nowhere near as pronounced as it has been since Butterfly -- her tired voice becomes the only thing to concentrate on, and it's a sad, ugly thing, making an album that would merely have been her worst into something tragic.
  7. What's particularly, notably bad here is its production.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 47
  2. Negative: 12 out of 47
  1. Mar 9, 2015
    10
    Álbum maravilhoso, incrível como ele é instrospectivo e pessoal... É viciante, nele temos batidas que só mesmo a Mariah consegue fazer, éÁlbum maravilhoso, incrível como ele é instrospectivo e pessoal... É viciante, nele temos batidas que só mesmo a Mariah consegue fazer, é totalmente coeso e inspirador... Expand
  2. jacquelinec
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    As always i feel kind of bad for Mariah at times when she drops an album because even before it comes out, harsh critics are ready to pounce As always i feel kind of bad for Mariah at times when she drops an album because even before it comes out, harsh critics are ready to pounce all over it and listen to the album with a bad attitude from the begginning because they may not like her as a person. I think if everyone can accept the fact that times have changed and so has she and this is the type of music she likes to make now, maybe when they listen to this album its easier to admire its artistry. So she doesn't do the big huge "Hero" voice on every song like she used to ,well ok shes been singing for how many years? I think she still puts down the big vocals when it counts , especially on the obvious tracks like Trough the Rain and My Saving Grace but she also has an AMAZING melody for every single song so even on tracks where she sounds "Airy" or whatever they call it she still sounds heavenly, to me. When her voice does that it has a certain crisp quality that no studio equipment can create and she can jump in and out of notes with the fluency of an experienced and truly gifted singer. Alot of people dont know how much of her songwriting she does either and how much it tresspases those of many singers out now. If you are a true Mariah Fan you will love this album, its like Part 2 for Butterfly especially with the possible link between "Lullaby" and "The Roof" ( at least I think so) and the faded out kick-back hip hop beats on some songs mixed with good instrumental joints too like hands down my favorite on this album - Subtle Invitation - it has awesome instruments and the tempo is perfect with her melody. What she is talking about is so personal too, it makes sense when you look at it as the concept of a Charmbracelet because every song on this album is about something going on in her life, either past or present. Sunflowers for Alfred Roy is another amazing song if for the fact alone that it is about her father passing which is so personal you have to give her respect for being brave enough to sing about that.Oh and there is a song that had not been on my Charmbracelet C.D.( I guess there was one with extras) and I barely heard it the other day, its called "there goes my heart" I Looooove this song so much since I heard it I had never even knew it existed or that it was on charmbracelet so definetly and extra perk, If you are going to buy this CD you must make sure it has that song on there. Final thought - if you cant just put this CD on and listen to it from begginning to end on shuffle , then you are just not the type of person that likes her kind of music and thats fine you just cant undermine her as an artist so I give her MAD PROPS ~ Mariah I love this CD !!! 8) Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    Mariah Carey's album charmbraclet is one of her best albums yet. Through the rain is the best song on the album and will always be one of myMariah Carey's album charmbraclet is one of her best albums yet. Through the rain is the best song on the album and will always be one of my favorite songs ever. All the other songs are great too. Expand
  4. ChrisF
    Dec 16, 2002
    9
    While Carey returns to her more traditional roots in this "comeback" album, fans will flock to get it. I personally find this album to While Carey returns to her more traditional roots in this "comeback" album, fans will flock to get it. I personally find this album to contain Mariah at her best in some years. After a dreadful year of personal issues, she is back on track. Letting everyone see her talent range in voice soar. Even in most critics will bash these Mariah "roots," I think Mariah and herself will keep this album on the top of the charts until the next one hits. Mariah is not singing for her critics but rather for thearpy and dedicated fans. She IS back. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Mariah Carey's Charmbracelet album is a combination of adult contemporary, R&B and Hip Hop music, as well as the teen-pop love feeling. CareyMariah Carey's Charmbracelet album is a combination of adult contemporary, R&B and Hip Hop music, as well as the teen-pop love feeling. Carey diverses the correct music of the early 2000s as one of many early starters. Each composition contains all of Carey's chosen genres,except Sunflowers for Alfred Roy, are carefully planned out and has a catchy tune in all of them. Charmbracelet holds Mariah as a little 8 year old to a late adult couple. Starting from the Through The Rain, Yours, and Sunflowers for Alfred Roy, Carey depicts herself as an 8 year old little girl having these hurtful moments and truthful moments. The One, Boy, You Got Me, My Saving Grace, Clown, Iressitable, Lullaby, I Know What You Want as her being a teenager to a Pre-adult. The rest are her adult ways of love or breakup, with a serious message. Overall, Mariah's voice sounds weak and get annoying listening to her whispering the one negative thing I don't like on this album, Mariah should of gave time for this album before release. However, this album is the best way to start an early 2000s album. Expand
  6. May 15, 2016
    5
    " Charmbracelet " possui uma essência simplória e genérica, e, infelizmente pouquíssimas faixas que realmente valem a pena," Charmbracelet " possui uma essência simplória e genérica, e, infelizmente pouquíssimas faixas que realmente valem a pena, (C) Expand
  7. GY!BE
    Dec 14, 2002
    0
    Is Mariah Carey the most pathetically lame "artist" in music today? Absolutely. Is this album complete and total shit? You bet. So why does Is Mariah Carey the most pathetically lame "artist" in music today? Absolutely. Is this album complete and total shit? You bet. So why does she carry on making records? Because apparently she isn't in on the joke: her. Collapse

See all 47 User Reviews