Charmbracelet

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Charmbracelet Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After proving that all that Glitters is not gold, can the best-selling female artist of the 1990s manage a hit in the 21st century?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. An inspired and diverse 15-song opus.
  2. Vibe
    70
    Classic Mariah--for better or worse. [Feb 2003, p.137]
  3. While fans of her early-'90s material will find much to embrace here, those that rallied 'round the singer during her hip-hop days may feel lost and abandoned.
  4. Thankfully, there are a few genuinely affecting moments.
  5. Carey's once glorious voice is all over the place, her rainbow-and-stars lyrics come off like the notebook doodles of a 12-year-old girl, and her song selection is shocking.
  6. Her voice is damaged, and there's not a moment where it sounds strong or inviting. That alone would be disturbing, but since the songs are formless and the production bland -- another reason why the hip-hop announces itself, even though it's nowhere near as pronounced as it has been since Butterfly -- her tired voice becomes the only thing to concentrate on, and it's a sad, ugly thing, making an album that would merely have been her worst into something tragic.
  7. What's particularly, notably bad here is its production.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 69
  2. Negative: 20 out of 69
  1. MelissaA
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    I think this is mariahs best album ever. Her voice will never change no matter what occurs. She is an inspirations to millions and my idol. I think this is mariahs best album ever. Her voice will never change no matter what occurs. She is an inspirations to millions and my idol. We love you mariah Expand
  2. JohnnyC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    This album is really really good. There are songs on this album that weren't given the time to shine and that is why i think it This album is really really good. There are songs on this album that weren't given the time to shine and that is why i think it wasn't a blockbuster success. "Through The Rain" and "You Got Me" are just two of the GREAT tracks on this album! Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2015
    10
    Álbum maravilhoso, incrível como ele é instrospectivo e pessoal... É viciante, nele temos batidas que só mesmo a Mariah consegue fazer, éÁlbum maravilhoso, incrível como ele é instrospectivo e pessoal... É viciante, nele temos batidas que só mesmo a Mariah consegue fazer, é totalmente coeso e inspirador... Expand
  4. RafaelS
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    As Mariah Carey was knows as the best-selling female artist in the 90s (and probably in history), she tries to come back with songs written As Mariah Carey was knows as the best-selling female artist in the 90s (and probably in history), she tries to come back with songs written in what was, her worst year (jul. 2001-jul.2002). And the results weren't bad. "Through The Rain" was a wise choice for a lead single, but the release of the single, months after its first radio appearence, was the worst decision ever in her career. But we can see a mature Mariah in this album, with songs about heartbreaks and hope (except for the "I want a man" songs, like Boy and Irresistble). "Bringin' On The Heartbreak was maybe her best cover song, and I really think nobody could change a rock song and turn it into the most emotional ballad ever, except for Mariah's talent. People need to take this bad impression they have onf Mariah and try to give her a chance. She's not the same oman she was in 1990, and she's definately NOT the woman she was in 2000-2001. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    Charmbracelet is an acquired taste that will probably only be loved by her closest fans, though there are flashes of brilliance for everyoneCharmbracelet is an acquired taste that will probably only be loved by her closest fans, though there are flashes of brilliance for everyone to enjoy, from the final explosive chorus of "Through The Rain" to the rock-influenced drama of "Bringing On The Heartbreak". The album's biggest fallback is its insistence on undersinging, which is all the more infuriating coming from a woman known for her voice. Looking past that however, there melodies are solid, the lyrics are fresh, and the album works together well as a whole. Expand
  6. Martijn
    Nov 24, 2003
    4
    Inspite of some great tracks, it is not what we waited for. Too much r&b and rap, too little songs that touches the heart. Exceptionts are Inspite of some great tracks, it is not what we waited for. Too much r&b and rap, too little songs that touches the heart. Exceptionts are "Through the Rain", "Bringing on the Heartbreak", and maybe "Yours". The rest are cheap "want to be hot like J-Lo" mistakes. It's sad because she can be number one and in the past she proofed to be brilliant.... We will wait for a "Musicbox" and "Daydream"... Expand
  7. GY!BE
    Dec 14, 2002
    0
    Is Mariah Carey the most pathetically lame "artist" in music today? Absolutely. Is this album complete and total shit? You bet. So why does Is Mariah Carey the most pathetically lame "artist" in music today? Absolutely. Is this album complete and total shit? You bet. So why does she carry on making records? Because apparently she isn't in on the joke: her. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews