Chase This Light

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AaronW
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    People need to get off the Clarity kick. Good album but would you ever like a band that just kept coming out with music that sounds the same as all thier other albums. No. It's called growing as an artist. Playing it safe and bankable is something sellouts do, not actual artists. This is the first cd I've been hooked on in a while and it is far and away better than some give it People need to get off the Clarity kick. Good album but would you ever like a band that just kept coming out with music that sounds the same as all thier other albums. No. It's called growing as an artist. Playing it safe and bankable is something sellouts do, not actual artists. This is the first cd I've been hooked on in a while and it is far and away better than some give it credit for. Collapse
  2. RickB
    Jan 7, 2008
    7
    this is an album loaded with the kind of infectious and energetic pop songs i have come to expect from one of my favorite bands. i found myself singing along with big casino the very first time i heard it! my chief complaint about this record is the production. unfortunately, jimmy eat world's last couple albums have been engineered to sound like the rest of the steroidal mainstream this is an album loaded with the kind of infectious and energetic pop songs i have come to expect from one of my favorite bands. i found myself singing along with big casino the very first time i heard it! my chief complaint about this record is the production. unfortunately, jimmy eat world's last couple albums have been engineered to sound like the rest of the steroidal mainstream pop landscape. sure, it's punchy. but many dynamics are lost in the the digitally compressed, over-produced result. in the process, jim's vocals are layered and effected to the point of sounding a touch robotic. a friend of mine sent me some of the demos from this record (obviously lacking the final production touches) and they sound more alive to me than the finished product. however, this shouldn't detract from what is otherwise a very good offering from the band. it's just a shame they had to, once again, get wrung through the studio-"perfect" pop-mill along the way. Expand
  3. ChrisG.
    Dec 6, 2007
    7
    It's pretty good but kind of disappointing at the same time. I have been hoping for them to come out with an amazing happened but it just doesn't seem in the cards anymore. Regardless of what people say, "Clarity" is their best album and I compare everything they do to that. That may be unfair of me.
  4. BradP.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Solid as always.
  5. ThomR
    Nov 15, 2007
    3
    maybe its be getting older. maybe its me expecting too much. I dunno. But this last installment that J.E.W. put out just... stalled. i was hooked with Static Prevails, blown to bits with Clarity, impressed and humbled at their ability with Bleed American, and reminded of what i loved about them in Futures. I waited for CHASE THIS LIGHT only to find that the light is quite dim. I actually maybe its be getting older. maybe its me expecting too much. I dunno. But this last installment that J.E.W. put out just... stalled. i was hooked with Static Prevails, blown to bits with Clarity, impressed and humbled at their ability with Bleed American, and reminded of what i loved about them in Futures. I waited for CHASE THIS LIGHT only to find that the light is quite dim. I actually tried my damned near best to make myself like this album. But the soul and the heart that was Jimmy Eat World just doesnt seem to be on this album. And its sad. This is a band that i have seen in VFW halls and Skaters rinks in NJ and loved every minute of it. I even got over the fact that Tom doesnt make any songs these days and just sings back up by the time Bleed American tour ended. This album might have been trying to chase the light but i never seem to see it catch it. Which is so very frustrating because J.E.W. always got me out of the dark. I guess i cant expect them to be able to do so every time. I await to hear what they do next in hope because this one just failed to grab me. Expand
  6. JoeR
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Another consistently great album from Jimmy Eat World! With not a single bad song on it, "Chase This Light" is easily one the better albums I've heard this year, or any. People need to get off the "Clarity" high horse - it was far from their best album. Rather it was only a decent stepping stone to what would become a very competent band as their ensuing albums have shown.
  7. DanU
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    I've been a fan and friend of the band since 1994. (Went to high school with Jim and Zach and know Tom well). These guys know what they're doing. Always making quality music. This album is something that grows on you for sure. Stop wanting Clarity copies, people. They're beyond that. Sure it's pop, but it's fun and strong. These guys have been and will be my I've been a fan and friend of the band since 1994. (Went to high school with Jim and Zach and know Tom well). These guys know what they're doing. Always making quality music. This album is something that grows on you for sure. Stop wanting Clarity copies, people. They're beyond that. Sure it's pop, but it's fun and strong. These guys have been and will be my favorite band for years to come I'm sure. This album doesn't have one weak song. Another great product from JEW. Expand
  8. Sram
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Brilliant.
  9. MattD.
    Oct 26, 2007
    8
    It is in Jimmy Eat World's comfort zone, but the more synthesized sound has easygoing charms of its own.
  10. JulieG.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    I am so psyched to finally have the new cd by Jimmy Eat World!!!!! I can't help listening to it over and over again. It is really well done, the lyrics are great and the songs are strong. I think it's definitely a bit poppier than their previous releases, and some of the lyrics are not quite as far-reaching, but overall I love it.
  11. MattB.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    I love it, a little below the awesomeness of Futures, but still a great sounding album. Jimmy Eat World will continue to win hearts around the world with this one.
  12. Pickel
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    I love JEW, but their albums usually have to grow on me after a few listens. Chase This Light was the same. I love the album. People need to stop hoping that they make another Clarity or Static Prevails. Bands should always be moving forward and not trying to go back and make an album like Clarity, which they did perfectly. It would not work out and be the same. Gotta Be Somebody's I love JEW, but their albums usually have to grow on me after a few listens. Chase This Light was the same. I love the album. People need to stop hoping that they make another Clarity or Static Prevails. Bands should always be moving forward and not trying to go back and make an album like Clarity, which they did perfectly. It would not work out and be the same. Gotta Be Somebody's Blues blew me away. Always Be and Here It Goes are almost too poppy formy liking, but if you look past the uber-pop, they are really really good songs. They closed the album on a great note as they always do. Overall, its a great album. Expand
  13. James
    Oct 20, 2007
    6
    "Chase this light" is a step down for JEW. To sum it up: they lack the verbal intensity, loud sound and syrupy guitars of Static Prevails and Clarity. Now they're pretty much aiming for radio play and forgettable tracks that'll cut right into TV episodes. C'mon guys, let's have some effort. Still, "Let it happen" and "Gotta be somebody's blues" show they have it "Chase this light" is a step down for JEW. To sum it up: they lack the verbal intensity, loud sound and syrupy guitars of Static Prevails and Clarity. Now they're pretty much aiming for radio play and forgettable tracks that'll cut right into TV episodes. C'mon guys, let's have some effort. Still, "Let it happen" and "Gotta be somebody's blues" show they have it deep down. Expand
  14. NathanT.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    A great comeback album from the Arizona lads. Only played the Cd twice and already in love with it. Main highlights definitely have to be 'Let It Happen', 'Electable (give it up)' and who could forget the absolute gem of a finale in 'Dizzy'. great work by J.E.W. This record will fill stadiums for years to come, and of course my Cd player also!!!
  15. John
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Thank you Jimmy Eat World for returning to the 'Bleed American' album days.
  16. PeterA
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    It's quite different to Futures but I like it. Those guys are just talented in every single way! High Rating. JEW for ever.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Thanks to singer Jim Adkins's bottomless well of high-flying choruses (not to mention the general shittiness of current affairs), the formula still delivers.
  2. Jimmy Eat World go to great lengths to recapture the anthemic thrills of "Clarity"--and give or take a few bouts of brooding cynicism, they’ve succeeded.
  3. After nearly seven years, to churn out an album with three highlights and eight overblown odes (among them, 'Here It Goes,' 'Carry You,' and the forced empowerment of the title track) is disappointing.