Chickenfoot

  • Record Label: Fontana
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2009
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. neile
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    Don't be put off by the critics. This is first class classic rock that's great for driving!
  2. alp
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    Great summer rock and roll album!
  3. TiffanyC
    Jul 18, 2009
    7
    I'm sooo not a fan of Van Halen or that genre of music...although I do respect it. I put this cd in after relentless begging from the bf...surprisingly it was good! Sounded a bit like VanHalen-esque but overall, pretty darn good. I've found myself jamming out more than once, without being prompted. Wink.
  4. BenS
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Hard Melodic Rock at it's Best!!!!
  5. PAbraham
    Jul 28, 2009
    10
    Very Zeppelinesque rock. If ur into old school hard rock you'll love this. If you're expecting something new or expecting something similar to satriani's solo stuff, you will be disappointed. I love this though.
  6. JimC
    Jul 14, 2009
    8
    One of the best releases of the year. Better than anything Van Halen has released in 17 years!!!
  7. JIMC
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    Rock the way it used to be played!
  8. JoeB
    Jul 23, 2009
    9
    Best rock album of 2009, hands down. Satriani smokes and Smith is a beast on drums. Put it on and turn it up LOUD!!
  9. HiredG.
    Jul 11, 2009
    7
    It's pretty much what you'd expect it would sound like from looking at the lineup. if your not a fan of their past works then this one isn't for you.
  10. GafaC.
    Jul 14, 2009
    4
    Generic hard rock, what a waste of talent.
  11. CarlB
    Jul 22, 2009
    4
    If no one had ever told me that it was Satch on guitar. I would have totally disregarded this album. With all those talents they haven
  12. Aug 16, 2010
    1
    It's worse than the critics give it credit for. "Lost in sea of rock cliches".
    I was so disappointed that 4 of my heroes could produce this rock-abortion.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. All this means is that Chickenfoot's big picture is roughly in place but the pieces don't quite fit, but that doesn't stop the group from trying to force it, with Sammy sounding as awkward singing about south-of-the-border drug runners as Satriani does spinning off complicated riffs on party rockers.
  2. Co-produced by Andy Johns (Van Halen), the set captures the fun energy of a mind-blowing all-star jam: Satriani's fretwork is surprisingly raw, loose and gritty, while Smith channels John Bonham more than once.
  3. 'Avenida Revolution,' which concerns the Tijuana drug wars, is a tiresome slice of sub-Metallica rock. But more upbeat tracks like 'Sexy Little Thing' boast the kind of party-happy groove you might expect from a band whose frontman is almost as famous for ?tequila as music.