Chinese Democracy

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 389 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 389

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonathanE
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    When people listen to this album, they need to put aside comparisons to the "old" Guns N' Roses. It's a new band, with new members, new songwriters, and not to mention it's two decades later. Of course the music isn't going to sound like vintage GnR. I'm happy it doesn't. There are about six Great songs, seven Good songs, and two duds. "Better" is When people listen to this album, they need to put aside comparisons to the "old" Guns N' Roses. It's a new band, with new members, new songwriters, and not to mention it's two decades later. Of course the music isn't going to sound like vintage GnR. I'm happy it doesn't. There are about six Great songs, seven Good songs, and two duds. "Better" is outstanding, "There Was A Time" has an incredible chain of guitar solos, "I.R.S." is the most "rock n' roll" the album gets. The two duds, in my opinion, are the last two songs. "This I Love" is basically Axl's opera, and it really doesn't work. And by "Prostitute," the complex string arrangements just get old to the ear. Other than those two, the album is filled with interesting (If the World), head-banging (Chinese Democracy), System of a Down-esque (Riad N' The Bedouins), and sweet (Catcher in the Rye) melodies. The major problem with the album as a whole is the intense overproduction. Sometimes, especially for a hard-rock band, I just want to hear Axl, two guitars, a bass, and a drumset. But very constantly, Mr. Producer Axl Rose gets almost too many ideas for each song, resulting in, occasionally, arangements that are simply too much. But a solid 8/10 is fair for this album. Expand
  2. JeffN.
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    14 solid, diverse, well-thought out tracks. I like how almost all of the bad reviews focus entirely on how long it took (as if there's a rule) and the reviewer's own pre-conceptions and biases regarding the lineup and what they expected it to sound like. It is a solid rock n' roll album top to bottom. I don't hear that too often anymore.
  3. ChrisA.
    Nov 27, 2008
    8
    I am an all-time GnR Fan and first didn't like Chinese Democracy at all, as especially the first songs rather sound like NiN than the classic 90s GnR. BUT the more often I hear it, the better I like it. Finally new melodys to hum from the Gunners (okay from Axl) aside the ones I have in mind sind 1989. Therefore: 8 out of 10! GIVE IT A CHANCE!
  4. JamesP
    Nov 27, 2008
    9
    This is better than anyone could have hoped. I was expecting a dated pile of spaghetti incident po faced hair metal posturing bollocks, but AXL, my friend you have delivered the goods in spades. Yes, this might leave the younger generation cold (i'm only 28), but then again the youngun's listen to crap like Metro Station. This is a multi-layered, almost timeless hardrock-pop This is better than anyone could have hoped. I was expecting a dated pile of spaghetti incident po faced hair metal posturing bollocks, but AXL, my friend you have delivered the goods in spades. Yes, this might leave the younger generation cold (i'm only 28), but then again the youngun's listen to crap like Metro Station. This is a multi-layered, almost timeless hardrock-pop masterpiece... almost worth the wait mate! Expand
  5. MustafaO.
    Nov 28, 2008
    9
    I wasn't expecting to like this album, let alone buy it. But from the off it totally blew me away. Not all the songs are great, but then again I don't know of an album where all the songs ARE great. This is a fine album, somewhere in between Appetite and Illusions... Easily the best thing I've heard in years.
  6. ricks
    Nov 28, 2008
    9
    Great,regardless of the fact that the band is a complete forgery now,axl still kicks ass and that's all that i care about.still better than 90%of the crap released these days.
  7. SeanA.
    Nov 28, 2008
    9
    This CD is extremely enjoyable and gets better with each listen. It is not Guns N Roses best CD, but a new path in their music with amazing guitar, keyboards, and vocals.
  8. NaNa
    Nov 29, 2008
    8
    As to put it in the words of "all music", "It's a good album, no more no less". Sure some people want to love it more than it deserve as well as there entire batons hipster waiting to laugh about it. The truth is though that although some track hint at this or at that, if taken altogether one must realize that there is quite nothing like it today in rock music. And that's for me As to put it in the words of "all music", "It's a good album, no more no less". Sure some people want to love it more than it deserve as well as there entire batons hipster waiting to laugh about it. The truth is though that although some track hint at this or at that, if taken altogether one must realize that there is quite nothing like it today in rock music. And that's for me it's it's well more than enough to make the experience worth (albeit 2/3 songs too long). If the glass is half full or half empty, "I guess you'll see it for yourself". Expand
  9. BillB.
    Nov 29, 2008
    8
    Better, street of dreams, i.r.s., rhiad n bedouins, catcher in the rye are great songs! the rest of the tracks all have something unique in them - great solo here, cool chorus there, but fall short of the excellence. if this album was made by a new band critics would hail it as a new classic, but since it's guns first new album in 17 years it's going to get ripped on by all the Better, street of dreams, i.r.s., rhiad n bedouins, catcher in the rye are great songs! the rest of the tracks all have something unique in them - great solo here, cool chorus there, but fall short of the excellence. if this album was made by a new band critics would hail it as a new classic, but since it's guns first new album in 17 years it's going to get ripped on by all the hipsters, but seriously - it's really good. Not great. Unfortunately. So close to being an AWESOME ALBUM it's hard not to be disappointed. It's worth a listen or two if you're a rock music fan. Expand
  10. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    damn you Axl Rose! Such a brilliant unique talent and you kept it from me for all these years. I've listened to this album hundreds of times and it gets me in pure ecstasy every time. His voice has gone even more freaky over the years and I love it even more than i did in the 90's. The songs sounds very melodramatic and this album is very different from the earlier work without losingdamn you Axl Rose! Such a brilliant unique talent and you kept it from me for all these years. I've listened to this album hundreds of times and it gets me in pure ecstasy every time. His voice has gone even more freaky over the years and I love it even more than i did in the 90's. The songs sounds very melodramatic and this album is very different from the earlier work without losing touch with the GnR-feel. I love it. It makes me dream and feel sentimental and happy. For me it's a new chapter in their crazy story that doesn't disappoint. It's different but not less good than the 80's and 90's work. Must have! Expand
  11. Oct 10, 2016
    10
    Let's get right to it: The first Guns n' Roses album of new, original songs since the first Bush administration is a great, audacious, unhinged and uncompromising hard-rock record. In other words, it sounds a lot like the Guns n' Roses you know. At times, it's the clenched-fist five that made 1987's perfect storm, Appetite for Destruction; more often, it's the one sprawled across theLet's get right to it: The first Guns n' Roses album of new, original songs since the first Bush administration is a great, audacious, unhinged and uncompromising hard-rock record. In other words, it sounds a lot like the Guns n' Roses you know. At times, it's the clenched-fist five that made 1987's perfect storm, Appetite for Destruction; more often, it's the one sprawled across the maxed-out CDs of 1991's Use Your Illusion I and II, but here compressed into a convulsive single disc of supershred guitars, orchestral fanfares, hip-hop electronics, metallic tabernacle choirs and Axl Rose's still-virile, rusted-siren singing. Expand
  12. Mar 7, 2017
    9
    Love Chinese Democracy. The album starts off with the relentless title track and the album is filled with some excellent ballads with some great lyrics by Axl. Definitely recommend this album.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. The first Guns n' Roses album of new, original songs since the first Bush administration is a great, audacious, unhinged and uncompromising hard-rock record.
  2. 70
    An outrageously overblown pop-metal extravaganza, Chinese Democracy feels like a perfect epitaph for all the absurdity and nonsense of the George W. Bush era--one final blowout before Principal Obama takes our idiocy away.
  3. 40
    Soundwise, Chinese Democracy is all over the place.