Chinese Democracy

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 384 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 384

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. crooner
    Dec 23, 2008
    5
    I have been waiting for this disc quite anxiously. unfortunately i ended up regretting to have bought it in the first place. tiresome, repetitive, lacking any innovative direction whatsoever. i am all for artists changing sounds, and i whould;ve loved to be positive about GnR, but this lackustre effort is almost as disheartening as Metallica's St. Anger was.
  2. DaveC.
    Dec 1, 2008
    2
    17-years for this, come on! Its sad that Axl's owns the G'N'R name, Chinese Democracy sounds like a Korn album or some other corporate rock-metal album from the 1990s. This album would have sounded out of date if it was release a decade ago. I agree that Appetite for Destruction is one of the greatest of the rock albums of the all-time, but after that other than a few songs 17-years for this, come on! Its sad that Axl's owns the G'N'R name, Chinese Democracy sounds like a Korn album or some other corporate rock-metal album from the 1990s. This album would have sounded out of date if it was release a decade ago. I agree that Appetite for Destruction is one of the greatest of the rock albums of the all-time, but after that other than a few songs off of Illusions, what makes G'N'R so great? Don't make me bring up The Spaghetti Incident? Expand
  3. AronJ
    Dec 1, 2008
    4
    For the fans that have long anticipated this album are going to be disappointed, it falls short of what is expected, they didnt stick to their guns and have created a blur of meaningless and in distinquishible lyrics, along with music that isnt so special.
  4. SlyE.
    Dec 23, 2008
    0
    So bad I actually thought it was a novelty record. Perhaps 15 more years of production might have saved it, perhaps they should have just retired, either way, I'd rather not have it raping my ears any longer.
  5. keefR
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    This is cookie cutter music. All songs sound like something else vaguely. The problem is that the songs they sound something like lost their relevance 20 years ago and now are just nostalgic memories. If this had come out instead of Appetite of Destruction it would have been wonderful and amazing, but instead it just sounds like retreads. Hopefully it will financially be the equivalent of This is cookie cutter music. All songs sound like something else vaguely. The problem is that the songs they sound something like lost their relevance 20 years ago and now are just nostalgic memories. If this had come out instead of Appetite of Destruction it would have been wonderful and amazing, but instead it just sounds like retreads. Hopefully it will financially be the equivalent of Ishtar if it isn't musically the equivalent and the CD's themselves will make better clocks or rear-view mirror decorations. Expand
  6. RimshotG.
    Nov 29, 2008
    0
    Doesn't kick ass at all as rock'n'roll should. Overdeveloped, soulless and boring.
  7. WowB.
    Nov 24, 2008
    2
    2 marks for getting it out, but that's all. this isn't progressive, edgy or anything else - it's simply the pretensions of someone who barely managed to make some decent songs in the 90s thanks to coppin riffs and style from johnny thundres et al. methinks nostalgia is clouding some people's vision here - this is utter trite, over produced, souless pap from someone who 2 marks for getting it out, but that's all. this isn't progressive, edgy or anything else - it's simply the pretensions of someone who barely managed to make some decent songs in the 90s thanks to coppin riffs and style from johnny thundres et al. methinks nostalgia is clouding some people's vision here - this is utter trite, over produced, souless pap from someone who perhaps should have stayed hidden - at least then we'd have the hope that he may defy expectations. avoid at all costs. Expand
  8. TarquinO.
    Nov 24, 2008
    1
    Much worse than I was expecting - horrible production, silly guitar solos that feel totally out of context and daft lyrics. Give Slash a call Axl.
  9. JM.
    Nov 23, 2008
    2
    Streamed this steaming piece of overdue dogshit on Myspace. Couldn't make it past 5 or 6 tracks before I started to feel nauseous. Thanks for nothing Axl.
  10. Patrick
    Nov 27, 2008
    3
    The whole thing sounds like a grotesque rock-opera parody
  11. nathand
    Nov 27, 2008
    4
    Overproduced is gentle at best. While technically the piece is another example of Rose et. al. 's skills, the piece is musically incoherent at best. Several songs drift through disparate styles with reasoning that leaves the listener bewildered. Despite being a piece superior to much of the market's current releases the album is a throwback to Rose's heyday. Had this been Overproduced is gentle at best. While technically the piece is another example of Rose et. al. 's skills, the piece is musically incoherent at best. Several songs drift through disparate styles with reasoning that leaves the listener bewildered. Despite being a piece superior to much of the market's current releases the album is a throwback to Rose's heyday. Had this been released in one third the time, it might have been influential rather than derivative. Rose et. al. are following a trend rather than blazing their own trail and it shows. Expand
  12. SamJ
    Feb 22, 2009
    3
    There's only 2 songs on it which didn't make me consider breaking the radio, and they weren't all that good.
  13. LindsayJ
    Apr 11, 2009
    0
    I hated every song on this album. I was looking forward to its release, and was thoroughly disappointed.
  14. BigTime
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Great record from start to finish. Do yourself a favor and check it out.
  15. EvanT.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Not old guns. But this is still good music.
  16. JK
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Killer production value, great songs, uncompromised integrity, and most importantly, worth the wait!!!
  17. EricaJ.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    This is the best album I've heard in a long time. It gave me goosebumps. There Was a TIme...Madagascar...Prostitute...all unbelievable songs. The only one that is even "just okay" is Sorry. Still....it's better than a lot out there.
  18. PaulM.
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    I originally voted 9 because i did not want to look like a star struck fan. I used to be. but I was so cynical about this album I didnt think I could enjoy it whether it was good or not. It's unreal. It blew me away and I was dancing about the kitchen all night long. I can't recommend it. Negative reviews in my view are people trying to look like they have decent musical taste I originally voted 9 because i did not want to look like a star struck fan. I used to be. but I was so cynical about this album I didnt think I could enjoy it whether it was good or not. It's unreal. It blew me away and I was dancing about the kitchen all night long. I can't recommend it. Negative reviews in my view are people trying to look like they have decent musical taste and are too cool to like what should be a bad album. Buy it, it rocks. Expand
  19. PeterN.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    I've never been a huge GNR fan, but after hearing some of the songs on the radio and myspace I just had to get myself the best birthday present in years. It's massive.
  20. Mar 27, 2011
    0
    The Good: It's a Guns N Roses album that wasn't recorded in the 80s or 90s.
    The Bad: It's a Guns N Roses album that wasn't recorded in the 80s or 90s...
    The Ugly: The only member of the original band left is Axl. Slash's presence is sorely missed on Chinese Democracy. It's a bland album, uninspired, and sounds almost like a cover band for GNR that made a half-assed attempt to record their
    The Good: It's a Guns N Roses album that wasn't recorded in the 80s or 90s.
    The Bad: It's a Guns N Roses album that wasn't recorded in the 80s or 90s...
    The Ugly: The only member of the original band left is Axl. Slash's presence is sorely missed on Chinese Democracy. It's a bland album, uninspired, and sounds almost like a cover band for GNR that made a half-assed attempt to record their own original music. There will be no classics remembered from Chinese Democracy. It's a throw away album. If you buy it, it will probably get lost on purpose or be thrown away. Its 90% garbage. And I'm not biased by old GNR albums either, Nine Inch Nails is a band that keeps re-inventing itself a little bit every album and in my opinion one of very few rock bands to come out of the 80s and succeed through the 90s and 00s, still going strong into 2011. Axl could take a lesson or two from Trent Reznor, don't make fans wait for hours to see rock shows and don't spend a decade crafting such a terrible, terrible album, blaming everyone else along the way for the fifteen year delay, filing suit after suit over honestly fairly petty crap. Axl needs to grow up, call up Slash, bring back the old band, do the reunion tour, and then MAYBE record new material, or just let the GNR name die a less painful death and just go away.
    Expand
  21. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    I think this recording shines in utter atmospheric beauty. Apart from the ever present hate from mr rose he's a genius. He has really become a crime by not making music for all these years. This one's so craved for that it's doomed to fail but then i realise it's pearl of passion! Best album of 21 century to date.
  22. ShawnM
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    A perfect record, absolutely flawless.
  23. NeilP
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    I feel 13 again, as if I've just heard rock and roll for the first time.
  24. May 10, 2011
    4
    Reaks of ego. Axl's ego that it. Even if it was released back in the 1990's it still would have been the over produced, generic and rediculous record that it is now. Dull, tedious and very boring.
  25. Sep 10, 2011
    4
    This album should be titled THE WORST OF GUNS N' ROSES. Not to say that it's an overall bad album--it's just that we all waited for 15 whole years for this album (1993 saw the release of "THE SPAGHETTI INCIDENT?", and CHINESE DEMOCRACY was released in 2008), and now the only good songs here are "Shackler's Revenge", "Chinese Democracy", and "Better". In other words, Axl Rose and the bandThis album should be titled THE WORST OF GUNS N' ROSES. Not to say that it's an overall bad album--it's just that we all waited for 15 whole years for this album (1993 saw the release of "THE SPAGHETTI INCIDENT?", and CHINESE DEMOCRACY was released in 2008), and now the only good songs here are "Shackler's Revenge", "Chinese Democracy", and "Better". In other words, Axl Rose and the band had so long to construct something that would knock their fans' socks off, and they ended up using most of the fifteen years lying around while CLAIMING they were working on this album. Expand
  26. Jun 30, 2012
    0
    Very over rated, it had its moments. But I think at best it has a couple good songs. The reason my vote it so low, because when you take 15 yrs to make an album, better be one of the best damn albums ever, and this is barely average
  27. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    I'm an avid fan of Appetite for Destruction and the raw essence of GNR's original 80's lineup (lets face it...who isn't? So right away I openly concede Chinese Democracy (CD) is not of that revolutionary ilk... But well... Duh! Given Appetite is one of the world's all time top 5 albums ever, a once in a generation freak of a record and given the original line-up that so forcefully gave itI'm an avid fan of Appetite for Destruction and the raw essence of GNR's original 80's lineup (lets face it...who isn't? So right away I openly concede Chinese Democracy (CD) is not of that revolutionary ilk... But well... Duh! Given Appetite is one of the world's all time top 5 albums ever, a once in a generation freak of a record and given the original line-up that so forcefully gave it life are now, but for Axl, long gone... well... how could it ever be? Yet it is from that unrealistic expectation that most music industry elites (critics) have passed what seems, objectively at least, to be generally unfair collective judgment. Revealingly though, their view is not that of the great unwashed... nor is it mine!

    Chinese Democracy (CD) is a beautifully composed, fantastically diverse and powerfully mature rock album that successfully manages to rock your socks-off on one hand and gently caress the depths of your emotions on the other! In this sense, its Use Your Illusions lineage is clearly evident, as is Axl's significant contribution to that lineage. The quality of this album cannot objectively be denied or dismissed and the fact it often has been, says far more about the prejudices of industry elites than anything they've ever said about this Album. Chinese Democracy (CD) is a real gem with great rock tracks cut straight from the traditional GNR-mold (Chinese Democracy, Shackler's Revenge, Better, Scraped, Raid N' The Bedouins). But its true brilliance lies in its embrace of a far more deeply embedded purpose than mere appeasement of addicts hooked on that old-school GNR sugar hit! From soaring rock anthems (Street of Dreams, There Was a Time, Madagascar) to expressive rock ballads (Catcher in The Rye, This I Love, Prostitute) to deeply introspective musical reflections (If the World, Sorry, I.R.S.) Axl has finally revealed the true source of his genius vulnerability and insecurity in all its guises. This sophisticated concoction Axl's designer drug for a new century is far more complex, discerning, introspective, longer lasting on the palette and immensely satisfying on a much deeper level than anything he's done before. But only after it is played over and again, will the intricately cut angles and facets of this huge rock of an album reveal the fill depth of its brilliance and sparkle... All you need is just a little patience! So whilst GN’R was never just W. Axl Rose alone, what Chinese Democracy proves above all else, is that without the flamboyent presence, creative genius, and powerful life-force of this enigmatic front man, GNR is nothing. In short: Chinese Democracy is a must buy for all those Guns N' f?@#ing Roses fans who've stuck with em through all the f?@#ing s$!t... and for all those opposed... well...I give it 8/10... suck on that... Yeaaaaaah!
    Expand
  28. Don
    Jan 26, 2009
    5
    I find it very mediocre. I like one song, a few are almost okay, and the rest really suck. Over-produced and soulless really says it all, PM. I agree.
  29. RodrigoL.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    I agree it's not perfect, but goddamn it, Chinese Democracy gets closer than anything i've ever heard. I just love six tracks on it and there's only one I really don't like that much.
  30. JoeyD.
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    What ever happened to the quest to make the greatest album ever? Where's the next Led Zeppelin IV or the next Exile On Main St? I can't even begin to say how refreshing it is to hear someone trying again. To those who say that this is an Axl Rose solo album: Shut up. Tommy Stinson (As made famous by The Replacements), Robin Finck (As made famous by Nine Inch Nails), and What ever happened to the quest to make the greatest album ever? Where's the next Led Zeppelin IV or the next Exile On Main St? I can't even begin to say how refreshing it is to hear someone trying again. To those who say that this is an Axl Rose solo album: Shut up. Tommy Stinson (As made famous by The Replacements), Robin Finck (As made famous by Nine Inch Nails), and Buckethead (As made famous by Guitar Hero) all contribute fantastic amounts to this album. While this still sounds quite a bit like the old Guns N' Roses, that's because Axl Rose is still behind the wheel. The astonishing thing is that there are no stupid songs at all. Axl's lyrics are sarcastic, biting, and actually pretty damned smart. A few months ago, I reviewed the eleven leaks as an album and I gave them a C+. Boy, has my mind changed. All of these songs are worth listening to, and I've seen each listed as a favorite from one reviewer or another, but my favorites are the ones where Axl does what he sets out to do. There Was A Time, Street Of Dreams, and Catcher In The Rye all have that fantastic, grandiose sound to them that you know Axl was struggling to get over these fifteen years. Axl's vocals are better than they ever have been. He varies what he does and barks out every word in the most effective way possible. I've gotten goosebumps listening to Street Of Dreams near the end thanks to his passion that you can hear. Now, Slash was my favorite guitarist, and I miss him, so I need to address how the guitarists are doing. There are some great riffs in Chinese Democracy and Riad N' The Bedouins, but the solos are what I'm worried about. Some of the solos are unremarkable, and while there are some very good solos (Street Of Dreams, This I Love), the absolute best is Buckethead's in There Was A Time. Instead of trying to sound like Slash, which sometimes accidentally happens in this album, Buckethead just plays like Buckethead does at his best here. It's fucking fantastic, and it matches a lot of Slash's performances. Despite Axl's narcissism and the overblown sound, every song here is good and a lot of songs here are outstanding. The album has its faults, yes, but if I had to use one word to describe the album, it would be "satisfying." The album ends on a note the leaves you feeling like Axl finished what he set out to do, and after all this waiting, it was worth it. Considering that we've been waiting for fifteen years and I had already heard all but three of these songs, I think that's telling. A+ Definitely Listen To: Chinese Democracy Street Of Dreams There Was A Time Catcher In The Rye Riad N' The Bedouins Madagascar This I Love Prostitute. Expand
  31. JessicaD.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    This album is far so good i love it. its just as good as the other albums. my fave song though is Madagascar and this i love and Chinese democracy.
  32. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    One of the worst perfomances in rock'n'roll scene since the Guns n Roses appeared the first time. Guitars sound like the last breath of a broken radio many layers mixed together end as bad as would be expected. Axl Rose use to be the worst part of band. Buy something better. If you want to hear some great rock legends, buy AC/DC or Nirvana. Chinese Democracy is a pale ghost ofOne of the worst perfomances in rock'n'roll scene since the Guns n Roses appeared the first time. Guitars sound like the last breath of a broken radio many layers mixed together end as bad as would be expected. Axl Rose use to be the worst part of band. Buy something better. If you want to hear some great rock legends, buy AC/DC or Nirvana. Chinese Democracy is a pale ghost of repetitiveness made by people without new ideas. It's better to burn out than to fade away. Expand
  33. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    This is an incredible album. On this album, we find some of the most articulate music and masterful writing ever created by Axl Rose. In many ways, this album goes beyond anything that Guns N' Roses have done previously in their career, and it explores brand new territory that would not have been possible with the old lineup. I think that Axl and his new group of musicians have managed toThis is an incredible album. On this album, we find some of the most articulate music and masterful writing ever created by Axl Rose. In many ways, this album goes beyond anything that Guns N' Roses have done previously in their career, and it explores brand new territory that would not have been possible with the old lineup. I think that Axl and his new group of musicians have managed to create something brilliant in 'Chinese Democracy'; intelligent, diverse, well-constructed, well-produced, powerful, soulful music that rises above mediocrity and into the realms of pure brilliance. From the aggressive music of the title track, to the emotion of "There Was a Time", I love every moment and every aspect of this album.

    I now see why Axl took so long to create this album - he was perfecting it, and making it flawless. And this pays off with the final product - what I consider to be a masterpiece. It's just too bad that people allow this album's rough history to blind them from the actual quality of the music. And it's sad to see so many people resenting this album simply because it doesn't sound like "classic Guns." I strongly suggest all rock music listeners to open your ears and your minds to the exceptional music of 'Chinese Democracy'.
    Expand
  34. JamesH
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    At its lowest ("This I Love", "Scraped", the title track, and "Sorry"), "Chinese Democracy" is a narcissistic, overdone, overdue, and overbearing mess. But at its finest ("Better", "Street of Dreams", and "Prostitute"), the album suggests that, yes, the 15-year wait was worth it after all.
  35. W.AxlR.
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    A flawless album. Will be in my top 5 for ever.
  36. MantleL.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    I think the album is still a very nice one in the year-2008. this album have new record tech.I am very happy for Axl that he can still singing sonorous and the notes Slash played is a masterpiece because it combine the diffucult music theory in metal method but peformance in pop way. It would definitely the best living textbook for all the rocker who wants solo hard !! Hard rock is I think the album is still a very nice one in the year-2008. this album have new record tech.I am very happy for Axl that he can still singing sonorous and the notes Slash played is a masterpiece because it combine the diffucult music theory in metal method but peformance in pop way. It would definitely the best living textbook for all the rocker who wants solo hard !! Hard rock is arcually not so papular now.(because the musician is SOFT:-)) We can realize that GNR they are trying hard to let the rock'n'roll music have a new way to survive. Expand
  37. RonnieP
    Nov 30, 2008
    9
    The best album I've listened to in a while. A mish-mash at times but it works. As far as the critics go. You can't trust them to review big event albums, they loose the plot when they think their review will be scrutinized.
  38. RogerC.
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    Out of the shit I have leading up to this album I was expecting to be disappointed. I am completely amazed. Everyone that says negative things about this album, obviously is not hearing the music and focusing on other thing that have no relevancy. Axl did an extremely well job! All you other get a clue!
  39. BT
    May 7, 2009
    10
    sounds terrible after first few listens. Gets better after 5-10. Then becomes a absolute epic album afterwards. Close to all the tracks you'd never skip.
  40. StevenS.
    Nov 28, 2008
    9
    Is it overproduced? Yes! But who cares anyway? Suprise! After 15 years of waiting,the new Gn'R is finally out and even more surprising...its an excellent record. Even though the bombastic string arrangements and Axl's ridiculously overproduced voice may will scare away some listeners, in the end it doesn't even matter. The songwriting is still impressive and convincing. You Is it overproduced? Yes! But who cares anyway? Suprise! After 15 years of waiting,the new Gn'R is finally out and even more surprising...its an excellent record. Even though the bombastic string arrangements and Axl's ridiculously overproduced voice may will scare away some listeners, in the end it doesn't even matter. The songwriting is still impressive and convincing. You can say what you will about Rose, but he sure knows how to write great melodies. Between millions and millions of pro-tools effects and layers of strings and strings you will find some of the finest tunes heard in a decade. After a few listens overproduction, the initial weak point of the record, turns out to be one of its biggest strenghts. Never before have I heard a classic hardrock album which was that diversified. You'll find the typical Gn'R killer ballads (Street of Dreams/There was a Time), kick ass Rock n' Roll (Chinese Democracy/Riad n' the Bedouins/I.R.S.), as well as lots of clever experiments, such as the stunning funky If the World or the viciously grooving Better. While initially being disappinted,it took me five or six listens to understand the visionary force this record is driven by and appreciate the beautiful melodies,that are buried under a landslide of choires,echoes and samples. The most amazing thing about Chinese Democracy is that, besides all the artificiality and the sometimes bizarre songstructures it works pretty good. Somehow Rose managed this bulky ,mechanical beast to sound organic...and after all, a good song is a good song. Under any usual circumstances I would give this masterpiece a 10/10, but I gotta draw one point for the long waiting. Expand
  41. PaulJ
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    The album is melodic, even a bit progressive sounding in spots. Axl's vocals have definately improved and I couldn't believe that it was actually him at times. This is mature, well done rock that is catchy, memorable and well played. Those who still live in the past and want to slam a few brews and never let go of Appetite will surely loath this album. But the music lover who The album is melodic, even a bit progressive sounding in spots. Axl's vocals have definately improved and I couldn't believe that it was actually him at times. This is mature, well done rock that is catchy, memorable and well played. Those who still live in the past and want to slam a few brews and never let go of Appetite will surely loath this album. But the music lover who can appreciate great melodies, awsome guitar amd keyboard work as well as good orchestrated rock.. They will see this cd for what it is.. And that is a fine piece if musical expansion and history. Certainly Chinese Democracy is not the bloated, over produced piece of garbage some have called it.. But if you want to pass up a great album on the angry world and reviews of shallow fan boy types who hate any speck of change in an artists craft.. Them be my guest :- ) Expand
  42. PaytonB.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    I have been waiting for an album like this since 1993. There's simply been nothing. I've pacified myself with bands like Nickelback, but nothing, and I mean nothing, was a substitute for the greatest rock band not named "Beatles".
  43. PaulR.
    Dec 9, 2008
    9
    The first time i listened to it .. i thought it was total crap .. i kinda liked "better" .. but just skimming thru the songs .. i hated it... After listening thru the album a few times.. im hooked on several of the songs... its different.. but kool. I believe i was biased due to the fact i enjoyed the original GNR in 87 and was hoping for more of the same.
  44. SeanJ.
    Jan 3, 2009
    9
    If taken as an Axl Rose solo album, it's very enjoyable. Comparisons to the incomparable Appetite will only bring it down, as they would any album.
  45. BucketH.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    It's impossible for an album to live up to a 14 year old mythology. Taking into account the conflicts and reconstruction of the band along the way, I think it's a pretty remarkable album. The songs are intricate, some a tad over-processed, over-produced, whatever. Most of them FEEL like you would expect. Meaning, you don't watch the 'Lord of the Rings' movies It's impossible for an album to live up to a 14 year old mythology. Taking into account the conflicts and reconstruction of the band along the way, I think it's a pretty remarkable album. The songs are intricate, some a tad over-processed, over-produced, whatever. Most of them FEEL like you would expect. Meaning, you don't watch the 'Lord of the Rings' movies expecting a small family drama, you expect an epic. Same here. Vintage Axl vocals, walls of guitar sounds, ochestra, choir vocals; it's what I expected and what was delivered. Expand
  46. daveu
    Feb 2, 2009
    9
    Could have been better,,, but all in all a great offer by AXL and I wish him all the very best for future and hope to see them releasing one more soon.
  47. TequilaD.
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    Ich glaube das Problem ist einfach das man zuviel von Rose erwartet. Und er wahrscheinlich auch von sich selbst. Er ist kein Supersongwriter. War er nie. "Appetite For Destruction" ist nicht größer als "Raw Power" oder "Damaged". Auf diesen schmalen Schultern lastete dann die Ambition ein Album aufzunehmen das die Qualität eines "Daydream Nation", "OK Computer" oder Ich glaube das Problem ist einfach das man zuviel von Rose erwartet. Und er wahrscheinlich auch von sich selbst. Er ist kein Supersongwriter. War er nie. "Appetite For Destruction" ist nicht größer als "Raw Power" oder "Damaged". Auf diesen schmalen Schultern lastete dann die Ambition ein Album aufzunehmen das die Qualität eines "Daydream Nation", "OK Computer" oder "Revolver" bieten soll? Nur weil es eine 15 jährige (zugegeben mordsspaßige) Entstehungsgeschichte zu erzählen hat erwarten das die Leute so? Na dann. Je näher der Release rückte desto pessimistischer wurden die Previews obwohl die meisten Songs seit Äonen bekannt waren. Zu allem Überfluss flennt die Meute auch noch dem fetten Zylinderträger nach. Izzy war der Mann, Leute. Schaut euch die Credits an. Supertyp. Das auf was ich mich am meisten freute fehlt und somit die größte Enttäuschung: Eine Making Of DVD. Album ist ansonsten ne knappe 8/10. Grandioses Scheitern nennt man so etwas wohl. Und so etwas ist immerhin noch interessanter als der Stand By Safety Rock seiner alten Bandmitglieder. Albumhighlight Better 2:15-3:07. Expand
  48. PeterT.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Very good album composed and crafted by an artist as opposed to studio hacks. A lot of artistic integrity on display though it's probably not for everyone or even every GNR fan.
  49. LucasW.
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    Yea I agree with Steve R, People should just listen to the album for what it is and not be stuck in the mentality that its not as good because the original members arent there. Because it is a great album!
  50. RF
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Better than expected. A few overproduced tracks, but less filler than the Illusions. Superior to 99% of the crap that's come out in the past few years.
  51. AlanS.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Axl Rose still has it!! I was even one of the sceptics about this album but its rocks, simple as that. Hope to god a world tour is on the cards!
  52. JimmyT
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Fantastic album, well worth the wait! There is pretty much no filler on this album! All killer! Swirling like a storm Chinese Democracy blows your speakers out but ends on a peaceful fadeaway (Estranged-esque) on brilliant track "Prostitute". Pick this up now!
  53. SirkK.
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Not one bad song on this album,definetly worth the wait and much better then the Illusions albums.
  54. JacintoH
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic album and Axl does a great job of singing to us. Anyone who claims otherwise fits into the pool of Axl haters. Most of the new music CD's sound like the bands previous albums. This is different. Like UYI was to AFD. GNR evolves, and makes great music. The fans love Axl, and as someone once put, music just sounds better when it comes out of Axl's mouth!"
  55. TristanL
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    Actually a pretty amazing album. You can tell who does the solos and strangely this makes for a more wholesome album. Fabulous.
  56. shawnb.
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    This album, though highly anticipated and long awaited, can stand on the meritt of the music. Amazing is all I can say. Initially, I really tried to listen with an open mind and not be swayed by the release of this album finally coming. I was grabbed by the very first track and wasn't released until it was over.
  57. AndyP
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    It's an album that takes about three listens to fully appreciate. Although it isn't Appetite, not much will be. It's a great rock album and has some great songs. Even the weaker ones fit. I also appreciate that Axl isn't trying to remake the old stuff. Why some bands suck is there insistance not changing. That's what makes bands like Motley Crue and Aerosmith suck It's an album that takes about three listens to fully appreciate. Although it isn't Appetite, not much will be. It's a great rock album and has some great songs. Even the weaker ones fit. I also appreciate that Axl isn't trying to remake the old stuff. Why some bands suck is there insistance not changing. That's what makes bands like Motley Crue and Aerosmith suck and why GNR can still be relevant, even if it really isn't the same band. Any band that has T. Stinson in it can't be bad. Hearing Axl again makes me happy. Expand
  58. AndrewI.
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Don't get the dated comments about this album, it sound sounds like Axl, but then it is Axl. The most interesting things about this album is it sounds better on good hifi. I started listening to this on my iPhone and it sounds decent. I played it in the car and it sounds a little better, playing on my home system (Naim, Linn and B&W 805) and it aounds awesome. The extra detail and Don't get the dated comments about this album, it sound sounds like Axl, but then it is Axl. The most interesting things about this album is it sounds better on good hifi. I started listening to this on my iPhone and it sounds decent. I played it in the car and it sounds a little better, playing on my home system (Naim, Linn and B&W 805) and it aounds awesome. The extra detail and the overlays in the production are striking. There is so much production on this album that most people will never get to hear, but god is it good when you can. Expand
  59. RobD.
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    OK listen up, this CD does not have any hit
  60. ThomasB.
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    Very good album, better than I expected. The songs have good variety. Good vocals and exceptional guitar work help make this a great album that has a negative reputation simply because of what it is.
  61. ChrisL.
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    I really like the Vocals and Love the instrumentals on this album, I say great job to Axl and the Boys...Fuck all the critics, the music is for the fans.
  62. TomN
    Jan 13, 2009
    9
    4 or 5 songs blow me away. The others are simply good. Name another album out there that has 3 - 5 songs that blow people away....not many.
  63. BillR.
    Jan 30, 2009
    8
    Good Album. It took a little while to grow on me so listen to it a few times.
  64. BrockC.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    It's an amazing album compared with everything that had to happen in 14 years of writing and recording. A lot of people will complain that there is no Slash or Duff, but that's the thing, Slash and Duff left to do their thing while Axl had to recruit an entire band. Is it the greatest album ever? Well... no but it is an amazing album with various influences which can please a It's an amazing album compared with everything that had to happen in 14 years of writing and recording. A lot of people will complain that there is no Slash or Duff, but that's the thing, Slash and Duff left to do their thing while Axl had to recruit an entire band. Is it the greatest album ever? Well... no but it is an amazing album with various influences which can please a few people. So say it sucks just because it has almost none of the original members, but if you go with the mentality that it is not the GNR that we remember, you could enjoy a few, if not most, of the tracks. Expand
  65. RichardC.
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    The meat and potatoes: This is album is very good. The music is meticulous and inspired and bold. Some people think it sounds dated. Well, it's been recorded over the last 12+ years. What do you expect? But that's not to say I agree with those people. It's a bluesy rock, pop, epic. It's not like they're trying to sound like Aphex Twin or Dillinger Escape Plan or The meat and potatoes: This is album is very good. The music is meticulous and inspired and bold. Some people think it sounds dated. Well, it's been recorded over the last 12+ years. What do you expect? But that's not to say I agree with those people. It's a bluesy rock, pop, epic. It's not like they're trying to sound like Aphex Twin or Dillinger Escape Plan or some other experimentalish type of thing. It is what it is, but having said that, it's still very interesting. Buckethead, Robin Finck, and Bumblefoot's guitar playing is inspired and techically superior to anything previously done by Slash (Not to take anything away from Slash, his solos were always spot on and very beautiful and emotional). My favorite part of this album though, are the amazing vocal melodies and overall tone from Axl's voice. He sounds better than ever and his melodies are very cool. They grow on you with more listens. Mind you, i'm not a big G n' R fan, I've never even seen them live or bought either Use Your Illusions albums. So, I'm not some fanboy. Maybe that makes this review a little more important, I don't know. Anyways, the best tracks are Better, Street of Dreams, If the World, There Was a Time, and Catcher in the Rye. Congrats Axl, you pulled it off. Expand
  66. PaudieM
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    A stunning masterpiece of musical arrangements. Axl is on top form vocally and the guitars are amazing. Prostitute is possibly the most perfect song on the album.
  67. WillB
    Mar 28, 2009
    9
    All the songs are awesome. I knew GNR wouldn't disappoint with theis disk! My hat is off to Axl. Rock on.
  68. DuduC.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    It's very different from the past and one must accept this, however, great songs ar still present on this album with the best being "This I love", first time I heard it a tear came down.
  69. AbbasM
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Well...i was waiting to hate it when it came out but after listening to it it's butt kicking, face-melting,gigantic power-ballad rock n' roll at its best. And Axl still has THE voice.
  70. MarklarM
    Dec 11, 2008
    9
    I'm tempted to devote the rest of the day to whipping up an argument to persuade all naysayers that this album certainly is a bombshell release. Contrary to what many have said, I think the essence of GNR is definitely preserved, expanded upon and imbued into every nook and cranny of Chinese Democracy. Don't fall prey to a diminutive understanding of what truly makes a signature I'm tempted to devote the rest of the day to whipping up an argument to persuade all naysayers that this album certainly is a bombshell release. Contrary to what many have said, I think the essence of GNR is definitely preserved, expanded upon and imbued into every nook and cranny of Chinese Democracy. Don't fall prey to a diminutive understanding of what truly makes a signature sound. Obviously Axl has vision, and whether it was instantiated back in the day with the original bandmate-gods that were Guns N Roses, or with the new panoply of musicians, remember, it always was about the music, the expression, the passion of the creator. Not to slight Slash, or the others, but if it were their vision that made GNR, why didn't It's Five O'Clock Somewhere inspire, other than with the master guitarwork? One word, songcraft. And this is where Axl excels, in spades. For those who thought there were 2 or 3 good songs on this album, I'd urge you to remember those albums that are too overwhelming at first and your ears sort of lock up at all the audio candy. It won't be for another six months that each of these gems fully lodge themselves in listeners' awarenesses. And for the bloke who said Axl's voice was shredded -- if that wasn't a compliment -- I would point you to Axl's performance at the 2006 MTV Music Awards. If I remember it right, his voice was truly ass on that night; made me think he was done. But Chinese Democracy puts my doubts to bed as if Garrison Keillor were there by my bedside waxing folksy and soothing and theological, dipping into his bottomless bag of comforting stories. What? Ok, not that, but something more apropos perhaps. Anyway, as far as Axl, GNR and Chinese Democracy goes, count me in as sold. (And for the record [no pun intended], of course I'd love to see the original bandmates team back up for Album #2 in the 'New Era of Rock' aka 'N.E.R.', aka 'Any R', aka 'Ner!', to not coin a phrase. But I suspect they'd be a little daunted, having to match the sheer mass and intricacy of this album. Naw, of course they could do it!) Expand
  71. GarethW
    Dec 10, 2008
    8
    You can immediately see what this album lacks - the efforltess blues underpinnings of slash, the dry as dust stylings of Izzy, the variety, and the majesty of scale. What you then go back and realise is what a good musician Axl really is - the first two tracks grate as they are depserately trying to be NIN/Marilyn Manson before becoming good GnR tracks. By anyone elses standards (even Def You can immediately see what this album lacks - the efforltess blues underpinnings of slash, the dry as dust stylings of Izzy, the variety, and the majesty of scale. What you then go back and realise is what a good musician Axl really is - the first two tracks grate as they are depserately trying to be NIN/Marilyn Manson before becoming good GnR tracks. By anyone elses standards (even Def Leppard!) there would have been another 4+ albums between Illusion and this and it would have been a strong addition to the catalogue, brining that music up to date. As it stands, there is far too much water under the bridge for it ever to be a true GnR product or that ever to happen again, but I didn't want to buy it and was prepared to consign it to the bin after one listen - but I have not because it is a good record and a tribute to Axl's persistence. Congratulations sir, and I sincerely hope it's not another 14 years before we have it's follow up. Expand
  72. GregP
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    I give it a 10 because from the moment I bought it and listened to it, I still enjoy it so much.Certainly the criteria are absolutely personal (many might indeed hate it), but what I express here is my own opinion.I can't stand guys that critisize without even having listened to a song!Get a life! GNR is just a group (a great one in my opinion) that makes a musical statement.Some I give it a 10 because from the moment I bought it and listened to it, I still enjoy it so much.Certainly the criteria are absolutely personal (many might indeed hate it), but what I express here is my own opinion.I can't stand guys that critisize without even having listened to a song!Get a life! GNR is just a group (a great one in my opinion) that makes a musical statement.Some like it some not, but its unfair to judge without listening! Its not like soccer... My favorite team is Milan..FOREVER! And when it changes players I hate it just for becoming something new!If they play well I must applaude! So,... it gave me satisfaction and I give it a 10!! Expand
  73. RyanC
    Dec 17, 2008
    7
    Although i did like some songs on the album i was dissapointed in the deliverance. The former glory GNR once had was lost on this album, as well as going mainstream they've lost the balladry and flair they used to have. Sadly Axl has taken the band into a direction where they will be considered washed up.... Oh Slash where art thou?
  74. IannisL.
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    Everyone who says that this album is average, makes a mistake. Ok, It sounds a bit different and from the old classics of guns, it hasn't the greatest rifs but its worth listening and buying it! One of the bests albums of 2008. Attention:it contains tracks which will be classic such as ''this i love''.
  75. BOBNOXIOUSS
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    Simply the best produced, arranged, thought out music and lyrics I've heard in years. (And I used to fondly refer to Axl as "Screech" years ago.) Better than Use Your Illusion I & II. You gotta give it a couple listens to really feel it though. One listen is not enough. Buckethead & Bumblefoot kick ass in the guitar lead department. Is it self-indulging? Yes! Is it self-absorbed? Simply the best produced, arranged, thought out music and lyrics I've heard in years. (And I used to fondly refer to Axl as "Screech" years ago.) Better than Use Your Illusion I & II. You gotta give it a couple listens to really feel it though. One listen is not enough. Buckethead & Bumblefoot kick ass in the guitar lead department. Is it self-indulging? Yes! Is it self-absorbed? Absolutely! And so what??? It's lyrics are very relatable, and it's great to hear Axl's piss'n'vinegar attitude and pain in the mix again. I guess some people would rather hear the blandness of "Something in Your Mouth"??? Please...spare me! Listen...Enjoy! Expand
  76. JDC
    Jan 27, 2009
    8
    Not up to expectations but still very good. Grows on you the more you listen.
  77. GosB
    Jan 27, 2009
    8
    As a hardcore fan of Guns 'n' Roses, ever since I heard the very first riffs of "Welcome to the Jungle", I have to say I am both pleased and disappointed by this album. If I weren't such a hardcore fan, I would have given "Chinese Democracy" a 6. Here's a warning to those G 'n' R fans who think every G 'n' R record should sound like "Appetite for As a hardcore fan of Guns 'n' Roses, ever since I heard the very first riffs of "Welcome to the Jungle", I have to say I am both pleased and disappointed by this album. If I weren't such a hardcore fan, I would have given "Chinese Democracy" a 6. Here's a warning to those G 'n' R fans who think every G 'n' R record should sound like "Appetite for Destruction": DO NOT buy this album -- it will only disappoint you. However, for those of us who appreciate the fact that G 'n' R has evolved since the '80s (and how), this album has a lot of pleasant surprises. Axl's vocals have never sounded better, and he deftly explores new vocal territory without ever losing his trademark vocal style. The production quality is the best ever for a G 'n' R album -- a far cry from earsplitting recordings like "Appetite" and "Live @#$! Like a Suicide." The songs are diverse and laden with nuance, and fans of the "Use Your Illusion" albums will appreciate the fact that Axl has retained the musical integrity that made "Illusion" I and II such great albums. However, while "Use Your Illusion" I and II were great albums, this one is merely good, and while I like "Chinese Democracy", I have to say I don't love it. For one thing, to say that "Chinese Democracy" is a little overproduced would be like saying that Ike Turner is a little bit bad-tempered. I realize that Axl is a perfectionist, but he really should learn that too much perfectionism robs a recording of its sponteneity. One of the things that made "Appetite" such a great record is that it stood out against the backdrop of overproduced, overcommercialized hair band albums of the day -- mostly because the band had blown their advance on drugs and were forced to complete the album on a shoestring, resulting in an edgy, underproduced recording that resonated with an audience fatigued by overproduced pop-metal bands like Poison, Ratt, and Motley Crue. Several months before this album dropped, I managed to get my grubby paws on some bootlegs of songs from the recording sessions, several of which didn't make the final cut. When I bought the CD, I was disappointed that some of the edgier, harder-rocking tunes like "Silkworms" and "Oh My God" had been axed, in favor of the inclusion of lackluster songs like "If the World", "Sorry", and "Prostitute" which will probably end up wearing out the skip button on my CD player so that I can enjoy the good tunes on this album like "Better", "There Was a Time" and "I.R.S." (Better yet, maybe I'll take those bootlegs and make my own version of this album.) Bottom line: If you enjoyed "Use Your Illusion" as much as I did, then you won't regret the purchase of this album. However, if you're secretly hoping that Axl will record another "Appetite for Destruction", then you'd do well to keep your money in your pocket and simply think of this record as "The Linguini Incident". Expand
  78. dans
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    with this album, axl has really won my respect. its much easier to give the listeners exactly what they expect but instead he has chosen to take interesting chances and try experiments that surprisingly work out for the most part. the negative talk surrounding this album has nothing to do with the music which is powerful, moving and rocks really darn hard. not just that, it also has that with this album, axl has really won my respect. its much easier to give the listeners exactly what they expect but instead he has chosen to take interesting chances and try experiments that surprisingly work out for the most part. the negative talk surrounding this album has nothing to do with the music which is powerful, moving and rocks really darn hard. not just that, it also has that special quality you see so rarely in music today: intelligence. There Was a Time makes a strong claim to being the best Guns N Roses song ever made. Expand
  79. seanc
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    I love this Cd, i have listened to it almost every day since it came out . I think it is the most complete rock album since Pink Floyds "dark side of the moon" ; dont believe all the negative publicity the CD has received. Every song is unique and original and memorable. I also think that the guitar and keyboard playing as well as the mixing of the album is first rate and each song sounds I love this Cd, i have listened to it almost every day since it came out . I think it is the most complete rock album since Pink Floyds "dark side of the moon" ; dont believe all the negative publicity the CD has received. Every song is unique and original and memorable. I also think that the guitar and keyboard playing as well as the mixing of the album is first rate and each song sounds perfect. Congratulations GNR and best of luck in the future. Expand
  80. JohnsonH
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    This CD is so good i have listened to it so many times.
  81. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Don't believe the hate. If you can look past the dislike for Axl as being difficult to work with (or whatever the hell is popular to say about him) then it is an absolutely *phenomenal* album. He may not have softened with age but that's also what makes this album so great. It's not just anger, but rage, that defines this album and it's also what gives Axl more integrity than prettyDon't believe the hate. If you can look past the dislike for Axl as being difficult to work with (or whatever the hell is popular to say about him) then it is an absolutely *phenomenal* album. He may not have softened with age but that's also what makes this album so great. It's not just anger, but rage, that defines this album and it's also what gives Axl more integrity than pretty much anyone in recent rock history. I'm not one to say that 'rock is dead' or that 'there is no good new music' because the last decade has seen tons of good music from both veterans and newcomers; but if I had to choose my favorite album since 2000 then this would be it.

    It's not the same music but I love it as much as I did Appetite when I was 11 in 1988. Old timers may feel a bit of shock over the changes but the music is just as good. Just give it a few listens and you'll find yourself driving way faster than you should.
    Expand
  82. MusicM.
    Nov 23, 2008
    5
    Axl Rose may own the Guns N Roses name, but this album, assembled in the studio with a rotating cast of backing musicians is effectively his first solo album. Other than his distinctive vocals, there isn't much to connect this to the original band, nearly all of whom were fired over a decade ago. Anyone expecting the "classic" GNR sound, or a genre-defining album like "Appetite For Axl Rose may own the Guns N Roses name, but this album, assembled in the studio with a rotating cast of backing musicians is effectively his first solo album. Other than his distinctive vocals, there isn't much to connect this to the original band, nearly all of whom were fired over a decade ago. Anyone expecting the "classic" GNR sound, or a genre-defining album like "Appetite For Destruction", will be sadly disappointed. This is meticulously crafted, studio polished, pomp-rock/metal with none of the grit or swagger that made the original band superstars. Too many of the songs are focused on the self-doubts and paranoia of the reclusive singer, and ultimately the whole album gets tiresome. If you are a die-hard fan who believes that the Use You Illusion albums didn't have any filler and that "My World" is a great song then you probably have this album already. Everyone else can avoid this without missing anything of consequence. Expand
  83. BryanM.
    Nov 24, 2008
    6
    I was really stoked for this album - though, to be honest, I really never though it would be released even when I saw it's pre-release sale on itunes. What I thought was going to be a kick-A$$ album was not that at all. It was an album that should've been released in the 90's before most of their/his target audience grew up and moved on. I'm going to give it 2-3 more I was really stoked for this album - though, to be honest, I really never though it would be released even when I saw it's pre-release sale on itunes. What I thought was going to be a kick-A$$ album was not that at all. It was an album that should've been released in the 90's before most of their/his target audience grew up and moved on. I'm going to give it 2-3 more tries before I place it next to my old Limp Bizkit CD's! Expand
  84. PeteR
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Don't let the negative reviews fool you. Most of them don't cover the album AT ALL and instead focus on how Axl is a prick. That's not a review of the album, that's an Axl Rose review. It's so pathetic really. Truth is this album is epic. By epic I mean you'll be playing it 5 or 10 years from now. Too bad you can't say the same for all that manufactured Don't let the negative reviews fool you. Most of them don't cover the album AT ALL and instead focus on how Axl is a prick. That's not a review of the album, that's an Axl Rose review. It's so pathetic really. Truth is this album is epic. By epic I mean you'll be playing it 5 or 10 years from now. Too bad you can't say the same for all that manufactured junk that comes out today. The album grows on you after every listen. It's almost like you have to listen to it beginning to end to get the whole effect. Expand
  85. bennyk
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Slash fans and jaded cynics will try to tell you it's the worst thing ever. Fanboys will try to tell you that it's the best thing over and the magical elixir that cures cancer, however the truth is somewhere in the middle. There's some incredible stuff on this record: "Sorry"; the long winding Pink Floyd/Black Sabbath complete with a great solo, "Better"; a crossover Slash fans and jaded cynics will try to tell you it's the worst thing ever. Fanboys will try to tell you that it's the best thing over and the magical elixir that cures cancer, however the truth is somewhere in the middle. There's some incredible stuff on this record: "Sorry"; the long winding Pink Floyd/Black Sabbath complete with a great solo, "Better"; a crossover pop/rock hit to be, "This I Love"; where Axl is at his most honest, channeling Andrew Lloyd Webber, "Prostitute"; a great, powerful U2 meets GN'R track with some great drum work and the standout "There Was A Time"; hands down the best track on the album and very possibly in the Top 5 GN'R songs ever. In the end, it's just an CD, but it's a landmark event in rock history and one of the finest pieces of art ever released. There are a couple of missteps (the dull IRS, too technical Riad N' the Bedouins, and a couple of odd mixing choices). But like it or not, the material is stronger than the lies that they tell you. Recommended. Expand
  86. TUF
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    Forgetting the history, the time taken and the $$ spent, let's judge this as a stand alone album. That being the case Kudos to Axl for daring to be different, in these days where a band thinks they're stretching themselves if they add some reverb to an overdriven guitar! Here we have an album that stretches the imagination of what G&R could sound like. Hell, it's Forgetting the history, the time taken and the $$ spent, let's judge this as a stand alone album. That being the case Kudos to Axl for daring to be different, in these days where a band thinks they're stretching themselves if they add some reverb to an overdriven guitar! Here we have an album that stretches the imagination of what G&R could sound like. Hell, it's longwinded, over produced and overthought but you can't help but get caught up in the majesty of the effort, the hooks that are everywhere on this album and hey, lets not forget Axl's voice, a soaring, screeching lullaby of sounds that emotes all the hurt & pain a man could feel. A classic aural pleasure that will stand the test of time... welcome back to the jungle, you've been missed. Expand
  87. EvanW.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Album of the year, no doubt, the range of songs cannot be found anywhere else this year and is the most complete album this decade since Songs For The Deaf from Queens Of The Stone Age. Do yourself a favour and pick up this album, it's worth the 12.99 and then some.
  88. GeoffS.
    Nov 26, 2008
    8
    Rarely has it been so necessary to separate the mystique of an album from the actual music. Yes, 'Chinese Democracy' took an absurd length of time to produce; yes, influential former band members have long-since departed; yes, Axl Rose is certainly self-obsessed and melodramatic. But when one strips all this away, what we're left with is a surprisingly decent, well executed Rarely has it been so necessary to separate the mystique of an album from the actual music. Yes, 'Chinese Democracy' took an absurd length of time to produce; yes, influential former band members have long-since departed; yes, Axl Rose is certainly self-obsessed and melodramatic. But when one strips all this away, what we're left with is a surprisingly decent, well executed and exciting hard rock record. The sound is very dense, which makes 'Chinese Democracy' that rarest of hard rock creations: an album which requires multiple listens to fully appreciate the depth of the mix. It wears its multiple influences openly - Pink Floyd, late-period Zeppelin, wall-of-sound Beatles, Queen, Nine Inch Nails - but fuses these directions well enough not to sound derivative. Indeed, the range of styles may be its biggest weakness: whan a band couples frantic snarling rock with string-soaked ballads, and load each song with abrupt shifts in tone, tempo and effects they are taking risks - particularly with the fans who define GNR by the rolling blues-metal of 'Appetite for Destruction'. You either like GNR or you don't, and if you hated 'Use Your Illusion' then there's nothing to convice you of the band's merits here. But don't be deceived by the vitriol surrounding some of the reviews: what matters is the music. And the music is good. Expand
  89. AdamU.
    Nov 26, 2008
    9
    Half of the album is astonishingly good at first listen. The second half may not resonate with "Appetite Era" Guns fans right away but become down-right infectious after the second/third pass. No album (by any band) could ever live up to the hype that awaited Chinese Democracy upon it's release. Take away the expectations and let yourself hear this album for the great work that it is.
  90. GaryM.
    Nov 27, 2008
    8
    I was never a heavy metal fan, nor much of a G N' R follower either. When "alternative" arrived, I went running towards it full speed. Still, all the commotion this album had stirred over the years had me curious regarding what kind of album it would turn out to be. I was expecting it to be the greatest piece of garbage I had ever heard, still I wanted to experience it for myself. I I was never a heavy metal fan, nor much of a G N' R follower either. When "alternative" arrived, I went running towards it full speed. Still, all the commotion this album had stirred over the years had me curious regarding what kind of album it would turn out to be. I was expecting it to be the greatest piece of garbage I had ever heard, still I wanted to experience it for myself. I got it and I have to admit: It is good! I mean really good! It might not be a G N' R fan's, from the good ol' days, cup of tea, but I believe it's worth listening to. Still, I have to admit, if I formed a band this is not the kind of music I would play, but this does not mean it is a mediocre or bad album. It is actually an excellent album and I hope it does not get buried by all the hype it has developed over the years. Go purchase this album. In my opinion, you will not regret it. Hey, at least Axl is fighting for your right to drink a free Dr. Pepper. Expand
  91. RichB.
    Nov 27, 2008
    9
    As other listeners have said, listen to it 3 times before you make your mind up......the odd things that jump out on first listen, and put you off the cd, soon fall into place. I haven't heard a better rock album in the last 10 years, and I have listened to a lot. If Axl can make this album work "live" with a successful tour, then we are going to see something very special. As other listeners have said, listen to it 3 times before you make your mind up......the odd things that jump out on first listen, and put you off the cd, soon fall into place. I haven't heard a better rock album in the last 10 years, and I have listened to a lot. If Axl can make this album work "live" with a successful tour, then we are going to see something very special. Axl's vocals are stretched to all kinds of styles - mostly with great success, others a little testing on the ear especially 1st time of listening. He is always best when he is snapping and snarling, or quietly contemplative......not so on the "Eh yo's that start Scraped etc. The guitar work is superb from start to finish - most tracks have 2 guitar solos from Buckethead, Thal, Finck and co - again this is great to hear. No Slash, but still awesome guitars. 7 or 8 standout tracks, 3 or 4 above average and just 1 or 2 you might call filler - but even these have redeeming features like the guitar solo's. Altogether a substantially better album than I could have had any right to expect after all this time. I sincerely hope the haters give it more than one listen and rather than compare it to other G n R, look at this in isolation and see that it stands head and shoulders above nine tenths of what is out there today. A great record, from a guy striving for perfection that no-one can consistently achieve - but when Axl does get there or gets close to it, he sets himself apart. Expand
  92. BrianF.
    Nov 28, 2008
    9
    Roses voice is better than ever and the instrumentation of each song is great. The only thing lacking in some areas are the lyrics.
  93. GoranK.
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    What the music industry market got the audience used to, and that's exactly what the critics (!?!) are lookin for in this release, is the instant hit song that soon after the release falls into oblivion. Most of the albums sold today people buy just because of a one good song. And people that call themselves critics are under influence of a decade of such crappy music they had been What the music industry market got the audience used to, and that's exactly what the critics (!?!) are lookin for in this release, is the instant hit song that soon after the release falls into oblivion. Most of the albums sold today people buy just because of a one good song. And people that call themselves critics are under influence of a decade of such crappy music they had been listening to, that they cannot recognize a good album when they hear one. Expand
  94. davep
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    Great album. there was a time is pure class.
  95. bobt.
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    Simply an amazing work by Axl, and the other contributors. This song contains 4 of the greatest songs you'll ever hear: "Sorry," "Street of Dreams," "There Was a Time," and "Catcher in the Rye". Any album than can produce classics like these deserves at least and 8 out of 10. It's not straight-forward rock like Appetite for Destruction was - it's more complex and more Simply an amazing work by Axl, and the other contributors. This song contains 4 of the greatest songs you'll ever hear: "Sorry," "Street of Dreams," "There Was a Time," and "Catcher in the Rye". Any album than can produce classics like these deserves at least and 8 out of 10. It's not straight-forward rock like Appetite for Destruction was - it's more complex and more mature that that. Expand
  96. SteveR
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    This album probably won
  97. RobC.
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    Any critic who rates this album poorly either doesn't know anything about rock music or they have an egenda. This is not a perfect album, but it is damn good. The songs have a tendency to grow on you, and maybe some of these critics who are looking for instant hooks aren't capable of listening with forethought. It's sounding better as I listen to it more.
  98. GavinW.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Over produced as expected, but what a fantastic album. So much better than the Illusion albums and everything a proper rock album should be.
  99. AlexP
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    The problem with those less than steller critic reviews is that, if this were a debut album, they would give it a 100, but instead they must compare unfavorably to time that have past ( a long time ago ). Its only not perfect because ironically Axl's perfectionism. A great rock record.
  100. AdamA
    Nov 24, 2008
    5
    Eh. Not worth the wait. Nothing astonishing or memorable.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. The first Guns n' Roses album of new, original songs since the first Bush administration is a great, audacious, unhinged and uncompromising hard-rock record.
  2. 70
    An outrageously overblown pop-metal extravaganza, Chinese Democracy feels like a perfect epitaph for all the absurdity and nonsense of the George W. Bush era--one final blowout before Principal Obama takes our idiocy away.
  3. 40
    Soundwise, Chinese Democracy is all over the place.