User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 162

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelE.
    Aug 3, 2002
    0
    You know, Fred Durst makes me want to get a sniper rifle and... Oh! That's illegal...
  2. MikeH
    Jun 27, 2005
    0
    It's bad enough to consider making a chocolate starfish right on the disc. But that would be utterly disgusting, so I prefer to let my dogs do it instead.
  3. DylanP
    Jan 3, 2006
    0
    total garbage!!! But what do you expect from Limp Bizkit.
  4. JeremyA.
    Dec 10, 2001
    0
    One of the worst albums I have EVER heard. If I could give it a negative rating, I would.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Jan 18, 2002
    0
    This is a bad band with a bad singer.
  6. HandsomeB.Wonderful
    Jul 31, 2002
    0
    Just awful! Rip offs with big mouths
  7. mikes
    Aug 2, 2005
    0
    Complete garbage. If you listen to this cd you must have no sense of how music should be composed, the music and lyrics are cringe inducing. ugh!
  8. C.R.
    Nov 12, 2006
    0
    Holy fuck, this album sucks. To be honest, I only "like" (in the loosest possible sense) Limp Bizkit's first two albums. They're trashy, mindless fun. Their riffs are huge, and the lyrics are unintentionally hilarious. This is where they started sucking. Still, the "Boiler" video made me laugh.
  9. drewB
    Mar 8, 2006
    0
    ahr, she fucking blows, i don't have any idea how music could get worse
  10. Joe
    Aug 1, 2006
    2
    I can't believe I liked this band when I was in middle school. Okay, musically I suppose they're tolerable, and the guest appearances from the likes of Xzibit, Method Man, DMX, Redman, STP's Scott Weiland, and even Ben Stiller provide bright spots. The cameos save this album from the dreaded goose egg, which is VERY bad news for the band. Especially Fred Durst, whose lyrics I can't believe I liked this band when I was in middle school. Okay, musically I suppose they're tolerable, and the guest appearances from the likes of Xzibit, Method Man, DMX, Redman, STP's Scott Weiland, and even Ben Stiller provide bright spots. The cameos save this album from the dreaded goose egg, which is VERY bad news for the band. Especially Fred Durst, whose lyrics reach an all-time low here (and they were never that good to begin with). He doesn't like when people talk shit about him (several songs are centered around this concept), he really wants to live the rock-star lifestyle ("Livin' It Up"), women just don't seem to understand him ("It'll Be OK," "Boiler," possibly "The One"), and then there are some songs that don't seem to be about anything at all (both versions of "Rollin'," "My Generation"). I have this feeling that if Fred Durst were kicked out of the band and they just did a Santana-esque album of collaborations with actual competent MCs, they'd be much better. I'm so glad my copy of this record is a burned CD. Expand
  11. CharlesH.
    May 24, 2002
    2
    Fred Durst layers his music with the same macho WASP misogyny and homophobia as Eminem. But unlike Eminem, he doesn't have the talent, wit, sincerity, self-deprecation or respect for his band to back it up.
  12. MichaelR.
    Aug 23, 2002
    1
    It's not the worst thing I've ever heard, but considering that one of the worst things I've ever heard was a small dog being ran over by a large automobile, that's not saying much. The musicians themselves are talented, but Fred screws things up with his shoddy songwriting skills, and the horrid "rapping" he does. If I were Limp Bizkit, I'd kick Fred out, get Wes It's not the worst thing I've ever heard, but considering that one of the worst things I've ever heard was a small dog being ran over by a large automobile, that's not saying much. The musicians themselves are talented, but Fred screws things up with his shoddy songwriting skills, and the horrid "rapping" he does. If I were Limp Bizkit, I'd kick Fred out, get Wes back, and get a new frontman, and name. Expand
  13. ChrisH
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    I was actually wrote a music column at a paper when this record came out. I can't remember what I wrote then, but I'm sure it was something along the lines of "mindless" and "juvenile." I still have this album somehere; it may be the worst album I own.
  14. Jul 22, 2011
    0
    The only good thing I can say about this is that it's a little better than Results May Very. So go claim your freakin' door prize, guys. You're still an utterly awful band.
  15. Nov 23, 2012
    3
    This album is stupid to such an extend! Limp Bizkit have been so far away from intelligent lyrics as the earth from planet Neptun. The fact that Fred Durst said the f-word about 60 times (no exaggeration here!) in one single song (=Hot Dog) proves that. I don't absolutely deny that you can't make party to these music, I actually enjoyed 3 songs on here, but musically this album is suchThis album is stupid to such an extend! Limp Bizkit have been so far away from intelligent lyrics as the earth from planet Neptun. The fact that Fred Durst said the f-word about 60 times (no exaggeration here!) in one single song (=Hot Dog) proves that. I don't absolutely deny that you can't make party to these music, I actually enjoyed 3 songs on here, but musically this album is such rubbish, I really can't understand how professional critics could give this CD such good average ratings. Whatever, it's not the worst album ever and they've got some nice guitar and drum parts on here, which makes this release a 3, which is quite good for Limp Bizkit standards. Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Fred Durst may grab the headlines, but Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water really shows that all the power Limp Bizkit are known for comes from their bandmembers who, you know, actually play instruments. Durst's lyrics are wack when he raps and bad high school poetry when he sings.... Of course, there aren't many people looking for deep thoughts from Durst and Co. -- just lots of big, dumb, angry fun. And on that count, Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water delivers.
  2. Spin
    70
    The sound is now clearer than on either predecessor; the rapping likewise. And here come Jane's Addiction and the Smashing Pumpkins--this is a slicker, grander record than Significant Other. [Jan 2001, p.112]
  3. 20
    The very concept of Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water might be brilliant if it was a work of absurdist art. But this album is just absurd.