User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 103
  2. Negative: 26 out of 103

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Limp Bizkit is better than ever!! All of their songs are catchy and awesome!! Anyone who thinks that this album sucks, they are mistaken! This is the best nu-metal album from Limp Bizkit. Yes Fred Durst can be a douche, but aside from his personality, this album is awesome
  2. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    I personally like nu metal alot. It is the only genre (as for as I'm concerned...) that combines rock with rap while not containing overly-distorted guitars (have you listened to Hollywood Undead?). But I speak for all my metalhead friends when I say this is an amazing album. DJ Lethal wants to make me shake my ass every time I listen to "My Generation." I also find it utterly impossible [for anyone that likes rap over metal] to listen to Fred's voice and label it "crap." You wanna hear crap? Listen to the chorus of "Thrown Away" by Papa Roach from "Infest." Crap. I love this album, I love Limp Bizkit, and I love nu metal.

    And FWI- I love Hollywood Undead, and I love the song "Thrown Away." Papa Roach's album "Infest" is amazing, Jacoby just didn't have a great voice at the time (but boy could he rap!).
    Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Amazing sound, limp bizkits best album. Why the critics dont like it is a total mystery. ive come to the conclusion they're either jealous or deaf.
  4. DME
    Mar 27, 2011
    8
    Way too much profanity. And most of it isn't even used in well-written context (eg: "Knock straight the f***k out" doesn't make any sense). If most of the cursing was substituted for better lyrics, this would be a great album. I really liked "Take a Look Around" and "Boiler". "Livin' it up" is pretty catchy and "Rollin" is an awesome rock song. But, again... Fred needs to lay off on the swearing. I think the only song I hated from this album was "The One". Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    I actually really like this album - I think like some listeners it might be because I was in my late teens when this came out and it was essentially the school soundtrack for a whole year. BUT the fact that it managed that appeal to such a massive audience is something to be commended. Ok it may be crass, lacking in any actual meaningfulness but it still sounds great and is a fun album from start to finish that holds its own in the modern age. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    0
    The only good thing I can say about this is that it's a little better than Results May Very. So go claim your freakin' door prize, guys. You're still an utterly awful band.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    4
    I could just use this review to trash Fred Durst calling him immature names, but I'm not going to be biased. However I will say that Fred Durst is the problem with this band. The musicians, particularly Wes Borland, are truly working hard to deliver good music. But Fred Durst whining saying he wants a girlfriend (on "The One") and with proud bombast how he wants to keep driving in fancy cars (on "Rollin'"). And the biggest shame of all is that Durst has the audacity to take the lyrics from Closer by Nine Inch Nails on the opening track. Truly one of the worst albums of 2000 along with Kid A by Radiohead! Expand
  8. Nov 23, 2012
    3
    This album is stupid to such an extend! Limp Bizkit have been so far away from intelligent lyrics as the earth from planet Neptun. The fact that Fred Durst said the f-word about 60 times (no exaggeration here!) in one single song (=Hot Dog) proves that. I don't absolutely deny that you can't make party to these music, I actually enjoyed 3 songs on here, but musically this album is such rubbish, I really can't understand how professional critics could give this CD such good average ratings. Whatever, it's not the worst album ever and they've got some nice guitar and drum parts on here, which makes this release a 3, which is quite good for Limp Bizkit standards. Expand
  9. Apr 22, 2013
    4
    Limp Bizkit are a vulgar, offensive group named after a game involving 4 men and a biscuit. The title of this album is also a reference to the lead singer; in other words an anus (for those too ignorant to know that and actually like this crap) and becomes the theme for almost every song on the album. You can tell this album is rushed (it was released less than a year after their previous) since every song sounds the same both lyrically and musically. Fred Durst is THE worst front-man for a "rock" band ever and is annoying as hell, evidently he likes his dick jokes since he considers himself one. A few decent listenable tracks, but why bother? Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This album is my childhood!! One of the best albums ive ever heard. Doesnt deserve any negative reviews. Itll be okay, the one, my generation, full nelson, my way, boiler, and take a look around are my favorite songs on the album!!!
  11. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    the album is not so bad, the musical structure looks very good, just the sound itself, because the compositions are bad (even a 3 year old make up better than Fred Durst) however can be funny to hear a selfish middle-aged if finding a great singer of Rock n 'Roll wanting to pass for teenagers ("Rollin", "My Generation"), this is already done something for children and adolescents. If it was instrumental, would be very great. His first album, sounds good, but repetitive, the second commercial but better. This is only another attempt by the band to make "music" with the most bizarre lyrics, seems to have fallen a mental age of Fred Durst. And to complete at the end of each song has a remix with DJ Lethal pickups, just to complement the album (Go Lethal, we are out of ideas, jokes a bit there at the end of songs just to chill out).
    Only Durst sounds as if it were the only one who did not care about the way the band, everyone did something to make it sound less annoying, but the singer isn't so terrible musically, has a very vivid imagination and a little creativity in letters (which should not be the main problem, because if a song has good lyrics and is Lower musically, does not convince the listener, everything has its two sides). It's very Funny
    Expand
  12. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    This is old school. With it's mixture of rap, rock, and metal, this album is way more fun than it has any right to be. Honestly it's not always the smartest album out there, but it does allow you to rock out in ways that few other bands can. I have to admit listening to this album definitely took me back to 2000, but in a good way. Some of the slower songs are throwaway, for instance "My Way" and "The One," but overall this is just a perfect example of some fun and rocking nu-metal. It's not for everyone, but it will definitely please it's crowd. I give it a 9.1/10-Amazing. Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Fred Durst may grab the headlines, but Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water really shows that all the power Limp Bizkit are known for comes from their bandmembers who, you know, actually play instruments. Durst's lyrics are wack when he raps and bad high school poetry when he sings.... Of course, there aren't many people looking for deep thoughts from Durst and Co. -- just lots of big, dumb, angry fun. And on that count, Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water delivers.
  2. 70
    The sound is now clearer than on either predecessor; the rapping likewise. And here come Jane's Addiction and the Smashing Pumpkins--this is a slicker, grander record than Significant Other. [Jan 2001, p.112]
  3. 20
    The very concept of Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water might be brilliant if it was a work of absurdist art. But this album is just absurd.