User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 107
  2. Negative: 27 out of 107

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dales.
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    I think this is a great album. Mostly because it brings back good memories when it came out 9 years ago. Im surprised the album never got the good reviews it deserved. There are some great songs on here.
  2. AndrewE.
    Jul 16, 2001
    9
    Don't listen to all the other reviews about this CD; it's fun to listen to and has catchy lyrics. Only old people with no general taste in a rap/rock band would say that it 'won dumbest title' This is by far the CD I have listened to the most of all three Limp Bizkit albums I own.
  3. Jasper
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    I think all of u suck. This is by far the best CD I've heard after LP's Hybrid Theory. It may not be the masterpiece u all want, but it definetevely it's a kickass CD.
  4. BernieG
    Feb 25, 2009
    10
    Their best work! High points: My Generation, My Way, Full Nelson, Rollin'(Rock and Rap versions), The One, MI2 Theme, It'll Be OK, Hold On. Low points: "Hot Dog" because Fred Durst went overboard on the cursing. 3 minutes of Ben Stiller laughing at the end was annoying too.
  5. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    I personally like nu metal alot. It is the only genre (as for as I'm concerned...) that combines rock with rap while not containing overly-distorted guitars (have you listened to Hollywood Undead?). But I speak for all my metalhead friends when I say this is an amazing album. DJ Lethal wants to make me shake my ass every time I listen to "My Generation." I also find it utterly impossibleI personally like nu metal alot. It is the only genre (as for as I'm concerned...) that combines rock with rap while not containing overly-distorted guitars (have you listened to Hollywood Undead?). But I speak for all my metalhead friends when I say this is an amazing album. DJ Lethal wants to make me shake my ass every time I listen to "My Generation." I also find it utterly impossible [for anyone that likes rap over metal] to listen to Fred's voice and label it "crap." You wanna hear crap? Listen to the chorus of "Thrown Away" by Papa Roach from "Infest." Crap. I love this album, I love Limp Bizkit, and I love nu metal.

    And FWI- I love Hollywood Undead, and I love the song "Thrown Away." Papa Roach's album "Infest" is amazing, Jacoby just didn't have a great voice at the time (but boy could he rap!).
    Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Amazing sound, limp bizkits best album. Why the critics dont like it is a total mystery. ive come to the conclusion they're either jealous or deaf.
  7. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Limp Bizkit is better than ever!! All of their songs are catchy and awesome!! Anyone who thinks that this album sucks, they are mistaken! This is the best nu-metal album from Limp Bizkit. Yes Fred Durst can be a douche, but aside from his personality, this album is awesome
  8. ChrisH
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    I was actually wrote a music column at a paper when this record came out. I can't remember what I wrote then, but I'm sure it was something along the lines of "mindless" and "juvenile." I still have this album somehere; it may be the worst album I own.
  9. MichaelE.
    Aug 3, 2002
    0
    You know, Fred Durst makes me want to get a sniper rifle and... Oh! That's illegal...
  10. MikeH
    Jun 27, 2005
    0
    It's bad enough to consider making a chocolate starfish right on the disc. But that would be utterly disgusting, so I prefer to let my dogs do it instead.
  11. DylanP
    Jan 3, 2006
    0
    total garbage!!! But what do you expect from Limp Bizkit.
  12. JeremyA.
    Dec 10, 2001
    0
    One of the worst albums I have EVER heard. If I could give it a negative rating, I would.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Jan 18, 2002
    0
    This is a bad band with a bad singer.
  14. SeymoreButtz
    Jun 3, 2002
    0
    Talk about crap. This is for kids who think they're cool for listening to "Heavy Metal/Punk". What a joke...
  15. strm_01
    Jul 10, 2002
    3
    Fred Durst and company deliver a dissapointing follow-up to Significant Other. If your idea of good music is someone squakin' the f-word about 200 times in the first 30 minutes, then this may be for you, but for those of us teens looking for something good from the Bizkit, we have been stabbed in the back. Freddy and co. need to give this tired act a rest! This, for the most part, is Fred Durst and company deliver a dissapointing follow-up to Significant Other. If your idea of good music is someone squakin' the f-word about 200 times in the first 30 minutes, then this may be for you, but for those of us teens looking for something good from the Bizkit, we have been stabbed in the back. Freddy and co. need to give this tired act a rest! This, for the most part, is uninspired trash! Expand
  16. HandsomeB.Wonderful
    Jul 31, 2002
    0
    Just awful! Rip offs with big mouths
  17. mikes
    Aug 2, 2005
    0
    Complete garbage. If you listen to this cd you must have no sense of how music should be composed, the music and lyrics are cringe inducing. ugh!
  18. C.R.
    Nov 12, 2006
    0
    Holy fuck, this album sucks. To be honest, I only "like" (in the loosest possible sense) Limp Bizkit's first two albums. They're trashy, mindless fun. Their riffs are huge, and the lyrics are unintentionally hilarious. This is where they started sucking. Still, the "Boiler" video made me laugh.
  19. BrunoP.
    Oct 22, 2002
    0
    This is really tragedy. I really understand to Trent Reznor that hates them. This is real shit.
  20. Matt
    May 11, 2003
    0
    I have no respect for Limp Bizkit. They have soiled the great name of Trent Reznor and Nine Inch Nails. Hot Dog is, pardon the language, 100 f*cks away from goodness. And Hot Dog is one of the highlights of the album. You know what that means? THE ALBUM SUCKS!
  21. drewB
    Mar 8, 2006
    0
    ahr, she fucking blows, i don't have any idea how music could get worse
  22. Joe
    Aug 1, 2006
    2
    I can't believe I liked this band when I was in middle school. Okay, musically I suppose they're tolerable, and the guest appearances from the likes of Xzibit, Method Man, DMX, Redman, STP's Scott Weiland, and even Ben Stiller provide bright spots. The cameos save this album from the dreaded goose egg, which is VERY bad news for the band. Especially Fred Durst, whose lyrics I can't believe I liked this band when I was in middle school. Okay, musically I suppose they're tolerable, and the guest appearances from the likes of Xzibit, Method Man, DMX, Redman, STP's Scott Weiland, and even Ben Stiller provide bright spots. The cameos save this album from the dreaded goose egg, which is VERY bad news for the band. Especially Fred Durst, whose lyrics reach an all-time low here (and they were never that good to begin with). He doesn't like when people talk shit about him (several songs are centered around this concept), he really wants to live the rock-star lifestyle ("Livin' It Up"), women just don't seem to understand him ("It'll Be OK," "Boiler," possibly "The One"), and then there are some songs that don't seem to be about anything at all (both versions of "Rollin'," "My Generation"). I have this feeling that if Fred Durst were kicked out of the band and they just did a Santana-esque album of collaborations with actual competent MCs, they'd be much better. I'm so glad my copy of this record is a burned CD. Expand
  23. shakermaker
    Aug 16, 2001
    0
    it's fuckin rubbish for braindead teenagers with bad taste
  24. TrevorS.
    Feb 17, 2002
    0
    The cover art hurts my eyes.
  25. CharlesH.
    May 24, 2002
    2
    Fred Durst layers his music with the same macho WASP misogyny and homophobia as Eminem. But unlike Eminem, he doesn't have the talent, wit, sincerity, self-deprecation or respect for his band to back it up.
  26. MichaelR.
    Aug 23, 2002
    1
    It's not the worst thing I've ever heard, but considering that one of the worst things I've ever heard was a small dog being ran over by a large automobile, that's not saying much. The musicians themselves are talented, but Fred screws things up with his shoddy songwriting skills, and the horrid "rapping" he does. If I were Limp Bizkit, I'd kick Fred out, get Wes It's not the worst thing I've ever heard, but considering that one of the worst things I've ever heard was a small dog being ran over by a large automobile, that's not saying much. The musicians themselves are talented, but Fred screws things up with his shoddy songwriting skills, and the horrid "rapping" he does. If I were Limp Bizkit, I'd kick Fred out, get Wes back, and get a new frontman, and name. Expand
  27. Jul 22, 2011
    0
    The only good thing I can say about this is that it's a little better than Results May Very. So go claim your freakin' door prize, guys. You're still an utterly awful band.
  28. Nov 23, 2012
    3
    This album is stupid to such an extend! Limp Bizkit have been so far away from intelligent lyrics as the earth from planet Neptun. The fact that Fred Durst said the f-word about 60 times (no exaggeration here!) in one single song (=Hot Dog) proves that. I don't absolutely deny that you can't make party to these music, I actually enjoyed 3 songs on here, but musically this album is suchThis album is stupid to such an extend! Limp Bizkit have been so far away from intelligent lyrics as the earth from planet Neptun. The fact that Fred Durst said the f-word about 60 times (no exaggeration here!) in one single song (=Hot Dog) proves that. I don't absolutely deny that you can't make party to these music, I actually enjoyed 3 songs on here, but musically this album is such rubbish, I really can't understand how professional critics could give this CD such good average ratings. Whatever, it's not the worst album ever and they've got some nice guitar and drum parts on here, which makes this release a 3, which is quite good for Limp Bizkit standards. Expand
  29. Nov 6, 2012
    4
    I could just use this review to trash Fred Durst calling him immature names, but I'm not going to be biased. However I will say that Fred Durst is the problem with this band. The musicians, particularly Wes Borland, are truly working hard to deliver good music. But Fred Durst whining saying he wants a girlfriend (on "The One") and with proud bombast how he wants to keep driving in fancyI could just use this review to trash Fred Durst calling him immature names, but I'm not going to be biased. However I will say that Fred Durst is the problem with this band. The musicians, particularly Wes Borland, are truly working hard to deliver good music. But Fred Durst whining saying he wants a girlfriend (on "The One") and with proud bombast how he wants to keep driving in fancy cars (on "Rollin'"). And the biggest shame of all is that Durst has the audacity to take the lyrics from Closer by Nine Inch Nails on the opening track. Truly one of the worst albums of 2000 along with Kid A by Radiohead! Expand
  30. JakeH
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Dude i fucking love Limp bizkit. Ever snice i heard it at my friends house i thought it kickedass. What makes me mad is that everybody hates them and that they got booed off stage at the Chicago show. And what happened to them i want them to make a new cd. Soon i will have enough money to buy all of there cd,s. So peace out everbody tell me if u like this stuff!
  31. JackP
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    It's really sad that the reviews do not focus on the quality of the music, but other issues. Frankly this is one of the best if not the best nu metal album I have ever heard. It's hard to describe, but I think it's a very refreshing and dynamic record which does not lack innovation. Simply the best from Limp Bizkit.
  32. ChrisB.
    Jan 13, 2002
    7
    good if u like rock music but there is better out there
  33. Si
    Jul 27, 2007
    7
    Better than Significant Other. Now that nu-metal is no longer mainstream there seems to be a lot of Limp appearing out of the cracks. Shows how many people jumped on the 'I Hate Fred Durst' bandwagon rather than the music.
  34. MattM
    Sep 6, 2008
    8
    It's the heretic, because people judge it by two or three songs. It will only be wanted when it's gone.
  35. JonathanF.
    Aug 11, 2001
    9
    Those critics just don't understand the purpose of Rap-Metal... This album is pure fun Catchy Lyrics, good guitar riffs, curses all over the place... I find this album great for a party...
  36. KimberlyF.
    Aug 15, 2001
    10
    This CD is the best. The critics are so wrong. They just dont have any appreciation for this music. I listen to this CD a lot and I love it
  37. KimberlyF.
    Aug 15, 2001
    10
    This CD is the best. The critics are so wrong. They just dont have any appreciation for this music. I listen to this CD a lot and I love it
  38. AaronE.
    Dec 6, 2002
    4
    This album might have been okay had it been made by some up and coming band who hadnt established themselves. The sad truth is is that Limp Bizkit use to be awesome...if you like hardcore or rapcore and you say you didnt like 3 dollar Bill ya'll you're and idiot. Anyways all the hype got to Fred's head and he ended up sticking in his chocolate starfish..what a shame.
  39. FabrizioG.
    Feb 8, 2002
    9
    All songs on this album are very cool, the great riffs and the drums makes the difference in comparision to other rap-metal bands in the world
  40. Bob
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    The Bizkit rules, Fred rules, everyone knows it, no one wants to admit it. This is the best cd ever created, along with the band and Fred. This deserves a 10 from everyone. Everyone thinks Durst is a poser, but he rocks and no one gives him credit. GO AND BUY THIS AWESOME CD, EVEN IF YOU HATE THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE THE KINGPINS OF ROCK
  41. BreannaR
    Jan 17, 2004
    9
    i got this cd for christmas and its pretty good but still limp bizkit is not my favorite, Korn and Satic-X are. i got results may vary before i got this and i thought this isnt that bad and that people shoudnt be dissing this cd so much but when i got this i thought "no wonder everyone is dissing them! this cd makes results may vary look like a piece of shit!" i wrote a review for results i got this cd for christmas and its pretty good but still limp bizkit is not my favorite, Korn and Satic-X are. i got results may vary before i got this and i thought this isnt that bad and that people shoudnt be dissing this cd so much but when i got this i thought "no wonder everyone is dissing them! this cd makes results may vary look like a piece of shit!" i wrote a review for results may vary and gave it a 8 but if i could i would change that rating to a 6 and i would say in the review that its a bit sickening how much theyve changed. if youre gonna get a limp bizkit cd DO NOT GET RESULTS MAY VARY! GET THIS ONE! ITS MUCH BETTER! Expand
  42. john
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    limp bizkit rules!!!!!
  43. Anono-M
    May 19, 2007
    8
    I think it's a competent record, with some downs, and some sky high ups. Maybe it's something to do with taste, that everyone who is in a position to write a review hates it and everyone on the ground who bought it love it, but has a near addictive sound that I guess people who consider themselves to have "good taste" can block out when they listen. It's not Red Hot Chilis I think it's a competent record, with some downs, and some sky high ups. Maybe it's something to do with taste, that everyone who is in a position to write a review hates it and everyone on the ground who bought it love it, but has a near addictive sound that I guess people who consider themselves to have "good taste" can block out when they listen. It's not Red Hot Chilis and it isn't trying to be, it does what it wants well. Expand
  44. James
    Jul 27, 2007
    8
    I like how most of the people who review this album focus more on Fred Durst rather than the band. Shame really.
  45. John
    Aug 11, 2007
    6
    It sucks how most of the reviews (from critics or music fans) are based solely on their hatred for Fred Durst. I have to agree that Durst is an egotistical jerk but this album doesn't suck as bad as most people want you to believe. Not as good as their first two albums but it's still far from crap. However, I feel that Durst went overboard with swearing on this album. I.E. "Hot It sucks how most of the reviews (from critics or music fans) are based solely on their hatred for Fred Durst. I have to agree that Durst is an egotistical jerk but this album doesn't suck as bad as most people want you to believe. Not as good as their first two albums but it's still far from crap. However, I feel that Durst went overboard with swearing on this album. I.E. "Hot Dog". Can't imagine how the clean version will sound like. Expand
  46. SimonB
    May 14, 2008
    6
    Frankly... It's alright. The album was much like a desperation cry from Limp Bizkit. It worked, if I recall correctly. L B got some appreciation back with this one, while losing some fanbase. Taking a turn toward pop while maintaining their rapcore edge, they dabbed into Nu Metal. Teenage angst imaged here a few times, along with the loss of a girlfriend. Some of the songs were very Frankly... It's alright. The album was much like a desperation cry from Limp Bizkit. It worked, if I recall correctly. L B got some appreciation back with this one, while losing some fanbase. Taking a turn toward pop while maintaining their rapcore edge, they dabbed into Nu Metal. Teenage angst imaged here a few times, along with the loss of a girlfriend. Some of the songs were very well played out. I like the drummer's groove, but Fred Durst's voice often becomes annoying in all its squealing mannerisms. It's not as bad as people tell you, believe me. I'm often hard on music but Limp Bizkit made something decent here. Some songs are definitely forgettable, the others are worth listens. You'll still wanna avoid letting people know you have this album. Collapse
  47. StevenR.
    Jan 19, 2009
    6
    Yes, its stupid rock. Yes, it is not a masterpiece. Yes, if we want to be truly critical, a 6/10 is too much. But for all its worth, this is just plainly the soundtrack to a frat party. The lyrics revolve mostly around typical "Nobody gets me, I dont like when you talk crap about me" (its Durst, what d'you expect?). Its narcissist, and VERY annoying. Still, if you can get past that, Yes, its stupid rock. Yes, it is not a masterpiece. Yes, if we want to be truly critical, a 6/10 is too much. But for all its worth, this is just plainly the soundtrack to a frat party. The lyrics revolve mostly around typical "Nobody gets me, I dont like when you talk crap about me" (its Durst, what d'you expect?). Its narcissist, and VERY annoying. Still, if you can get past that, it can be pretty fun- At times. See, most songs work, but others are just plain annoying (thanks again to Durst's terrible lyrics). And the album cusses too much. Regularly that would not be a problem, but seriously, the opening track says the "f-word" 46 times! At the end, the cuss words sound not like the words of an angry young man, but just like another "the" in a sentence. At times, it feels just like a way for Durst to vent out all his anger...unfortunately...that is not very fun. What does work especially well is "My Generation" which turns the table, and Durst acknowledges his rowdy fans. If it were like this, this would be the Soundtrack of a rebellious generation. But Durst has 0 lyrical focus. All in all, the band (excepting Durst) is competent, if not revolutionary [Wes Bourland is very good]. But Durst just hinders them. If only the guy would stop whining, this could have been a better (much better) album. Oh, and Durst sounds squeeky when he sings and idiotic when he raps, so its a lose-lose scenario. From all this, you probably gather that this albums sucks thanks to Durst, so why the 6/10? The reason is that they AT LEAST try to expand their sonic pallet, and even if they do fail, they at least try. They are trying to progress and add flourishes to their sound. So that is always worth an extra point or two. Truly critical score: 4/10 Expand
  48. JoshB.
    Aug 22, 2001
    10
    This album is of the hook. Don't listen to any critics Limps #1!!!
  49. timmyf
    Apr 28, 2004
    7
    this is an ok cd. but limp bizkit can get boring unless you see them live, cuz you cant feel the energy on the album. but it still gets you pumped.
  50. HamadA
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    The best album i've ever heard !... All of the reviews here are based on how you people hate FD. I've heard alot of creativity on this album, the weird sounds, Wes Borland's really cool riffs ... etc.. This album has all the elements to be something special. Hit songs..featured artists such as Xzibit, Scott Weiland and others.. Alot of fusion in styles and genres.. mood The best album i've ever heard !... All of the reviews here are based on how you people hate FD. I've heard alot of creativity on this album, the weird sounds, Wes Borland's really cool riffs ... etc.. This album has all the elements to be something special. Hit songs..featured artists such as Xzibit, Scott Weiland and others.. Alot of fusion in styles and genres.. mood changes.. great sound production.. A really cool album cover and booklet .. .. etc . And until this day we hear the tracks on this record in commercials and on the radio. Chocolate starfish is simply amazing ! Expand
  51. AlvaroS
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    Limp Bizkit is not just Fred Durst; on the whole, the album is quite average, but songs like "My Way", "The One", "It'll be ok" or "Boiler" just make it up for the rest of the album. It's just not fair to give it less than a 6...in my opinion. Oh, and the guitar is just GREAT.
  52. DME
    Mar 27, 2011
    8
    Way too much profanity. And most of it isn't even used in well-written context (eg: "Knock straight the f***k out" doesn't make any sense). If most of the cursing was substituted for better lyrics, this would be a great album. I really liked "Take a Look Around" and "Boiler". "Livin' it up" is pretty catchy and "Rollin" is an awesome rock song. But, again... Fred needs to lay off onWay too much profanity. And most of it isn't even used in well-written context (eg: "Knock straight the f***k out" doesn't make any sense). If most of the cursing was substituted for better lyrics, this would be a great album. I really liked "Take a Look Around" and "Boiler". "Livin' it up" is pretty catchy and "Rollin" is an awesome rock song. But, again... Fred needs to lay off on the swearing. I think the only song I hated from this album was "The One". Expand
  53. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    This is old school. With it's mixture of rap, rock, and metal, this album is way more fun than it has any right to be. Honestly it's not always the smartest album out there, but it does allow you to rock out in ways that few other bands can. I have to admit listening to this album definitely took me back to 2000, but in a good way. Some of the slower songs are throwaway, for instance "MyThis is old school. With it's mixture of rap, rock, and metal, this album is way more fun than it has any right to be. Honestly it's not always the smartest album out there, but it does allow you to rock out in ways that few other bands can. I have to admit listening to this album definitely took me back to 2000, but in a good way. Some of the slower songs are throwaway, for instance "My Way" and "The One," but overall this is just a perfect example of some fun and rocking nu-metal. It's not for everyone, but it will definitely please it's crowd. I give it a 9.1/10-Amazing. Expand
  54. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    I actually really like this album - I think like some listeners it might be because I was in my late teens when this came out and it was essentially the school soundtrack for a whole year. BUT the fact that it managed that appeal to such a massive audience is something to be commended. Ok it may be crass, lacking in any actual meaningfulness but it still sounds great and is a fun albumI actually really like this album - I think like some listeners it might be because I was in my late teens when this came out and it was essentially the school soundtrack for a whole year. BUT the fact that it managed that appeal to such a massive audience is something to be commended. Ok it may be crass, lacking in any actual meaningfulness but it still sounds great and is a fun album from start to finish that holds its own in the modern age. Expand
  55. Apr 22, 2013
    4
    Limp Bizkit are a vulgar, offensive group named after a game involving 4 men and a biscuit. The title of this album is also a reference to the lead singer; in other words an anus (for those too ignorant to know that and actually like this crap) and becomes the theme for almost every song on the album. You can tell this album is rushed (it was released less than a year after their previous)Limp Bizkit are a vulgar, offensive group named after a game involving 4 men and a biscuit. The title of this album is also a reference to the lead singer; in other words an anus (for those too ignorant to know that and actually like this crap) and becomes the theme for almost every song on the album. You can tell this album is rushed (it was released less than a year after their previous) since every song sounds the same both lyrically and musically. Fred Durst is THE worst front-man for a "rock" band ever and is annoying as hell, evidently he likes his dick jokes since he considers himself one. A few decent listenable tracks, but why bother? Expand
  56. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    the album is not so bad, the musical structure looks very good, just the sound itself, because the compositions are bad (even a 3 year old make up better than Fred Durst) however can be funny to hear a selfish middle-aged if finding a great singer of Rock n 'Roll wanting to pass for teenagers ("Rollin", "My Generation"), this is already done something for children and adolescents. If itthe album is not so bad, the musical structure looks very good, just the sound itself, because the compositions are bad (even a 3 year old make up better than Fred Durst) however can be funny to hear a selfish middle-aged if finding a great singer of Rock n 'Roll wanting to pass for teenagers ("Rollin", "My Generation"), this is already done something for children and adolescents. If it was instrumental, would be very great. His first album, sounds good, but repetitive, the second commercial but better. This is only another attempt by the band to make "music" with the most bizarre lyrics, seems to have fallen a mental age of Fred Durst. And to complete at the end of each song has a remix with DJ Lethal pickups, just to complement the album (Go Lethal, we are out of ideas, jokes a bit there at the end of songs just to chill out).
    Only Durst sounds as if it were the only one who did not care about the way the band, everyone did something to make it sound less annoying, but the singer isn't so terrible musically, has a very vivid imagination and a little creativity in letters (which should not be the main problem, because if a song has good lyrics and is Lower musically, does not convince the listener, everything has its two sides). It's very Funny
    Expand
  57. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This album is my childhood!! One of the best albums ive ever heard. Doesnt deserve any negative reviews. Itll be okay, the one, my generation, full nelson, my way, boiler, and take a look around are my favorite songs on the album!!!
  58. Apr 28, 2015
    7
    If you bought the album for some poetic rhymes and well-crafted subtle music, of course you'll be disappointed. But if you bought it for Limp Bizkit's signature angry sound, a shi*load of fun and heavy metal guitar riffs, you'll be more than satisfied.
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Fred Durst may grab the headlines, but Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water really shows that all the power Limp Bizkit are known for comes from their bandmembers who, you know, actually play instruments. Durst's lyrics are wack when he raps and bad high school poetry when he sings.... Of course, there aren't many people looking for deep thoughts from Durst and Co. -- just lots of big, dumb, angry fun. And on that count, Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water delivers.
  2. 70
    The sound is now clearer than on either predecessor; the rapping likewise. And here come Jane's Addiction and the Smashing Pumpkins--this is a slicker, grander record than Significant Other. [Jan 2001, p.112]
  3. 20
    The very concept of Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water might be brilliant if it was a work of absurdist art. But this album is just absurd.